Skip to content

Your Friday Five: Happy Birthday, Boss

September 24, 2010

Thanks, Boss…

The cape bit was already taken... via Spruce Bingsteen

Yesterday, Bruce Springsteen turned the tender age of 61. Happy Birthday, Boss. Let’s all celebrate by checking out some sweet Bruce-related items:

  • Drive all night...

    I already have a pretty consuming obsession with hand drawn maps, but add some Bruce into the mix and you’ve got one of the best uses for that dough you found in the pocket of your winter coat. The Springstreets Map! Designer Dan Cassaro of Young Jerks created this sweet, sweet map of Jersey using lyrics from Bruce songs. You know you’re just going to spend that money on Kraft dinner and hot sauce, this has far more nutrition. Soul food, if you will.

  • You were pretty great too, Joe.

    The late, great Joe Strummer shows his love.

  • A few years ago (oh, let’s be honest… it was over 10 years ago), while all my friends went and saw Mike Watt, I went to the oposite side of the Sunset Junction Street Fair, and saw Darlene Love perform. It was amazing. One of my Top Ten show moments. I think I may have passed out if I would have seen this:
  • And because I am CHOMPING AT THE BIT for the Darkness on the Edge of Town box set…

via Fuckyeahtheboss

Thanks again, Boss.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2010 1:21 pm

    I’ve been waiting for this post all week! Happy birthday, BOSS!!! This was an awesome way to unwind before a brief afternoon siesta. Thank you, Poplife.

  2. September 24, 2010 1:47 pm

    That map is incredible! It’s amazing what obsessive devotion can accomplish.

  3. IrishUp permalink
    September 24, 2010 1:51 pm

    BRUUUUUUUUUUUCE!!!!!!
    Happy Birthday to one of the cornerstones of the soundtrack of my misspent youth.

    TrooFax: 60/24/7/365, at least one radio station in the NYNJ area is playing either Bruce Springsteen or Billy Joel. It’s how I can tell I’ve left Boston/Aerosmith territory on my southbound drive.

  4. September 24, 2010 2:21 pm

    I almost mentioned his birthday in yesterday’s post, but then I realized, naw, p0plife will be all over it on Friday.

    Happy birthday, Boss!

  5. September 24, 2010 3:27 pm

    61. Wow. I remember days when my college hallmates would put on the “Born To Run” album and just play it all afternoon on Saturday, and then go to some of the frats where they’d have singalong parties to it those nights! Poet, social observer, rebel, and of course rocker. Springsteen is most certainly a voice (both figuratively and literally) that has something important to say.

    And as a fitting tribute from one NJ native portraying another NJ native I offer up this classic tid bit.

  6. September 24, 2010 4:07 pm

    I want to curl up with that map, quite possibly for the rest of my life. Mapping is one of my not so secret nerdlinesses and that map in particular is a thing of beauty and a joy forever.

  7. September 24, 2010 6:19 pm

    Awesome post, Spoon! I love your Friday posts. Especially when I’m at home and can listen to all the songs/videos. I usually learn something new each week!

  8. September 24, 2010 6:35 pm

    Bruce is so intimidating to me. I get worked up just thinking about writing about him because,
    a) Soooo many people have already spilled soooo much ink on him
    and
    b) As time goes on, Bruce gets more and more important to me. I can still listen to Darkness and something new sticks out at me and it just keeps getting better and better.

    I was thinking of attempting a series of posts that would be on the theme of “I might poop my pants if I write about this person”, but then I thought I might poop my pants just thinking about it.

    That map is a wonderful thing! I wish he would make a Prince one for Minneapolis. It would be pretty tough though!

    @penpusher The Joe Piscopo era of SNL was pretty rough, but I always loved his Frank! Maybe even more than Phil Hartman’s! (I think Phil just stuck with drunk Frank)

    @irish up… It’s a known fact! Yes! And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

  9. evmaroon permalink
    September 24, 2010 6:39 pm

    AHHHHHHH! BRUCE is in the Butter House! This was terrific, Spoon!

    I worked with a guy who paid $5,000 for another coworker’s high school yearbook, because she was in Bruce’s graduating class in Freehold, NJ. And my sister was one of his first groupies–we got Christmas cards from him for years. The coworker wanted to buy those, too, but my sister is a shrewd businesswoman, and she still hasn’t sold them. Besides, I think they mean something to her other than investment.

    Anyway, what I’m saying is, there are no fans on the planet like Bruce fans. Seriously.

  10. September 24, 2010 7:27 pm

    That map is a wonderful thing! I wish he would make a Prince one for Minneapolis. It would be pretty tough though!

    This is awesome idea, but agreed, it’s pretty tough. Though I would liked to know exact at what part of the lake Apollonia jumped in.

Leave a Reply

