Skip to content

Friday Fashion Flash: Fall Trends You Can Work

September 24, 2010

It’s almost fall, my favorite fashion season. I’m a layers type of girl and what with the wig wearing, hot weather is the enemy. I live in L.A., which means fall weather until spring, and I love it. Following trends is not necessarily my thing, but when trends tilt towards what I wear anyway, it’s a boon for shopping and stocking up. Here’s a couple of the trends I’d rock.

All featured at Dolce & Gabbana.

Animal prints have long been a staple in my wardrobe. My love of leopard in particular dates back practically to the womb. So whenever designers make more clothes in leopard, I get geeked. Of course, I can’t afford the Dolce & Gabbana pieces you see above and I’m assuming you’d rather not hock a kidney to buy one either. Check out these killer pieces at a lower price point:

Clockwise from top: Topshop leopard top, UNEARTHED stingray zebra striped cuff, UNEARTHED stingray bangle, UNEARTHED snakeskin cuff, Topshop leopard print coat, ASOS Curve 2-in-1 leopard dress.

In case you can’t tell, I love UNEARTHED on Etsy. Their tag line is “Where Style is Unapologetically Luxurious”. Word to that. Oh, and to my fellow fatshionistas, Evans has a sweet leopard coat if you were giving that Topshop coat the side eye.

Next up:

Left to right: Dolce & Gabbana, Emilio Pucci, Alexander Wang

I like to pair leather and lace and even throw in a little zebra or something. Black leather and black lace, of course. The combo of say, a leather moto jacket over a black lace dress screams hardcore sexy. I particularly like the dress below by Evans, they have a perfect PU biker jacket that would look amazing with it.

Clockwise from top: Topshop embellished lace shell, Free People lace dress, Evans lace dress, UNEARTHED leather and lace cuff.

I’ll be reviewing some more trends I’m excited about next week. Remember, style knows no size, which is why I’m trying to offer selections for my fatshionistas as well as y’all thin people. It’s okay, I still love you.

Stay classy!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. evmaroon permalink
    September 24, 2010 8:34 pm

    I keep hearing lace is in style this year! Is it the new black?

    As for animal prints, I can’t wear them without risking looking like the animal itself, so my hat’s off to anyone who can rock a cat or zebra print.

    Thanks for keeping me up to date on fashion without filling your critique with sizeism. So tired of having to parse that out just to see what’s on the runway.

  2. September 24, 2010 10:08 pm

    Fashion and pricing always intrigue me, because there is the element of a “label” that means prestige, but there’s also the cut of the cloth, which is why the name on that label is so valued.

    Spring 2011 Fashion week was last week here in NYC, and that’s important because the designers both inspire the off the rack manufacturers, but also inspire each other as it seems they seem to tap into that astral plane of clothing, and oftentimes trend a specific you might not have expected, and this is what you’re pointing out with a piece like this.

    Animal Print definitely catches your attention. It’s bold. it makes a statement. You have to have confidence to wear it! Lace makes a different kind of statement. It’s more subtle and suggests delicacy. The mix of the two would suggest a bit of both as well!

  3. September 24, 2010 11:48 pm

    What does it say about me that I was more into the polka-dots than the animal print?

    Seriously, I can’t wear big chunks of animal print, but I will rock a zebra print bracelet or headband. I think that animal print, in any piece of clothing or accessory, is a good thing. It’s TADOW! and I like it.

    I’m a fan of lace, and I love love love that dress from Free People!

    AHHH THESE POSTS ARE KILLING ME!!! I WANT! I WANT!

  4. September 25, 2010 12:30 am

    I wonder if La Mommie saved any of my costumes from middle school!

  5. September 25, 2010 1:31 pm

    I can ALWAYS get behind animal prints. I think I have an aversion to lace because of my high school prom dress, but that’s just, like, my opinion, man.

  6. Kia permalink
    September 25, 2010 3:51 pm

    Animal print is a staple in my wardrobe so I’m always amused when it’s in again. Like poplife I have a lot of lace related memories of high school so it’ll have to really jump out at me to incorporate at this point in my life.

    I’m on the hunt for a military inspired coat but am not sure if I’ll be able to wear it w/o having rhythm nation flashbacks. This having lived thru a trend the first time around is hard : )

  7. September 25, 2010 4:41 pm

    @Spoon I like lace if it’s not super girly. Only black lace, though.

    @Kia I can’t rock the military look, I just look silly. And I hear you on the Rhythm Nation.

    @Penpusher Yeah, mixing black lace with leopard print is one of my favorite combos.

    @Ev for me, black is always the new black.

    @eieioj I’m sorry! I want all this ish too!

    @Snarky Did you play some kind of animal?

  8. September 25, 2010 5:04 pm

    I haven’t really explored animal prints at all, and this post may inspire me to take the plunge!

  9. September 26, 2010 9:37 pm

    I go back and forth with animal print but I love the middle look from the catwalk and the bracelets and jacket from the pics of clothes are way cute! And I like the middle and right lace looks from the catwalk a ton and the stuff pictured beneath it is all pretty damn foxy.

  10. September 27, 2010 10:24 am

    I really like the oversize leopard print, it’s a nice variation on the theme.

Leave a Reply

