Skip to content

Your Friday Five: Under the Radar

September 17, 2010

A place, where nobody dared to go…

What would Electric Light Orchestra have been without strings? Pretty great, yeah. But not nearly as over-the-top awesome. Holy crap, what about Xanadu? What about my brain? “Don’t Bring Me Down” is playing on repeat in my brain half the time I’m at work.

  • “10538 Overture”
  • “Xanadu”
  • “Fire On High”

It came to my attention this week, that Mike Edwards, the cellist for ELO, had died. I felt a little ashamed that this had flown under my radar. So here are some more musicians that have passed on to that giant Guitar Center in the sky. Most likely, they helped make your iPods a better place to live.

  • Garry's sunglasses alone can shut this thing down.

    Garry Shider. Also known as “Diaper Man” and “Starchild”, Shider was the guitarist and musical director of Parliament. This is pretty much cooler and way more awesome than anything I and 95% of the world can ever accomplish. The dude played on “Can You Get to That?”, “Cosmic Slop”, “Flash Light”, “One Nation Under a Groove”, and so many more that I almost hyperventilated reciting them to my cat. “Can You Get to That” “Cosmic Slop”

  • He can rock sitting down.

    Ben Keith. Ben Keith was not only a session man on Patsy Cline’s “I Fall to Pieces” (and a mess of other country greats), he has also worked with Todd Rundgren, and was a long time session player and member of almost all of Neil Young’s touring bands. “Heart of Gold

  • Hank Cochran. Speaking of “I Fall to Pieces”, Hank wrote it! He was a prolific songwriter for lots of Country greats, like Eddy Arnold and Burl Ives. He hung with Willie Nelson and Eddie Cochran (no relation). “Same Old Hurt” Patsy doing “I Fall To Pieces”
  • Winner: Best Mustache in Rock Music Managers who Manage Rock Musicians Who Wear Makeup and Breathe Fire

    Bill Aucoin. This dude discovered and managed Kiss. Like them or not, it’s hard dispute how fun “Rock n’ Roll All Night” and “Detroit Rock City” are. Dude also managed Billy Idol. What can I say, he liked ’em a little on the ridiculous side. But then, so do I…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2010 11:59 am

    ELO rocks so very hard. Xanadu just never stops sounding great. That Funkadelic “Cosmic Stop” brought back MEMORIES. I love that song. This was a fantastic edition of the program. A+++ content. Would definitely read again. You always get it done, PopLife!

    Hated to see them all go, though.

    I didn’t realize Ben Keith worked with Rundgren!

  2. September 17, 2010 1:39 pm

    Oh Mike! There would be no O in ELO without those beautiful strings! RIP.

  3. September 17, 2010 1:46 pm

    This is fantastic! Sad about Mike Edwards; those strings make ELO. Hank Cochran is one of my favorite country music guys, so I’m glad to see him getting some love, too!

Leave a Reply

