Skip to content

Rock Stars and their Music Video Mini-Mes

September 17, 2010

It’s Friday, so how about some fun randomness to get you through the last few hours before the weekend? Here’s a look at music video featuring rock stars and their tyke-sized doppelgangers.

Queen’s “The Miracle”

Having kids play you in a video is a great way to avoid the boredom of lip-syncing through yet another clip. So props to Queen for appearing alongside the kids and having a great time doing so. Especially love how Lil Freddie embodies the different incarnations of Freddie Mercury (leather, mustache, yellow jacket, jumpsuit) and has down his microphone strut. Maybe Sacha Baron Cohen should watch this video for pointers on how to play Mercury in the recently announced biopic.

Notorious B.I.G.’s “Sky’s The Limit”

It’s not just Mini-Mes, it’s a Mini World. Spike Jonze recreated a pitch-perfect Biggie Smalls video with children playing the late rapper, Puff Daddy, Faith Evans, Busta Rhymes, Snoop Dogg and assorted entourage and hangers-on. And of course, a special appearance from every 90s director’s favorite gimmick, the fish-eyed lens. I have reservations about the young girls who seem to be groupies, but otherwise a fitting and bittersweet tribute.

Van Halen’s “Hot For Teacher”

The kids may not look much like Van Halen, but they definitely have their attitude. (Although Brian May’s doppelganger mimes better guitar playing than Eddie Van Halen’s.) What’s actually more entertaining is how poorly the peach-suited band, expect for David Lee Roth, perform the choreography. Even poor Waldo could have done a better job.

Are these are the only videos with Mini-mes? Please let me know if I missed any!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Alyx Vesey permalink
    September 17, 2010 2:02 am

    I take it the scary Aphex Twin children in “Come to Daddy” do not count. I’m kind of surprised — though relieved — that the Spice Girls didn’t tap into this.

  2. September 17, 2010 9:07 am

    omg, Alyx, that Aphex Twin video gave me nightmares. Thanks for sending me back to therapy for a session.

    This is a great post, I totally know all these videos, but didn’t think about putting them together! That drum solo in Hot for Teacher is still killer.

  3. September 17, 2010 9:40 am

    I don’t know what this says about me, but the first thing I thought of was Paula Abdul’s “Forever Your Girl” video, which aped several of the videos that were in heavy rotation on MTV at the time, with kids.

  4. September 17, 2010 11:03 am

    Hmm… I can’t think of any off the top of my head, but these are great! I think that there was a lot of concern of “child exploitation” that limited more of these. I know that there were child welfare workers on the set of the “Hot For Teacher” video making sure that nothing untoward happened with the kids. Everything I know about music videos, I learned from VH1s Pop-Up Video.

  5. September 17, 2010 11:06 am

    I was going to post that video, Dean! Great minds! I love this post. Hot for Teacher was one of my favorite videos. Though I wasn’t supposed to watch it.

  6. September 17, 2010 11:47 am

    @Alyx Vesey Now that you mention the Spice Girls, I’m surprised they didnt’ do a video like this!

    @eieioj re: Pop-Up Videos, me too! Sad to say, I think I’ve seen every single episode.

    @nycpenpusher Totally spaced about Forever Your Girl. Thanks for the reminder! The above clip isn’t working 😦 but click here for the link.

  7. September 17, 2010 11:56 am

    Oh my, that Queen video is adorable! Love this post’s theme.

  8. evmaroon permalink
    September 17, 2010 11:57 am

    I really never even thought of this as a genre! I’m much more uh…edified? now. Great post!

  9. September 17, 2010 12:06 pm

    Damn, they auto-tuned the heck out of Paula Abdul. She sounds like Antoine D.

  10. September 18, 2010 9:06 am

    Hey, this trend is still happening!

  11. September 18, 2010 11:33 am

    Man, I love Cee-Lo so much.

Leave a Reply

