Skip to content

Pop Quiz: Name That Voice!

September 17, 2010
There’s been a recent upswing in celebrities doing commercial voice-over work that I find interesting and kind of fun. I like hearing those voices and going “Hey! I know that voice!” Unfortunately, most of the time I just..can’t..place..that voice, and so I send myself into a pit of frustration trying to figure it out.
Ok, maybe I exaggerate a little bit, but it annoys me.
So here’s your brain-teaser for today: I’m presenting 7 commercials with celebrity voice-overs. If you can get all 7 without researching it, you’re a better man than I. Here’s one to get you started; the other 6 are behind the tag.  No cheating!
1) Honda Crosstour
2) Lowes
3) Pedigree Dog Food (Get the hankies out for this one…it’s an adoption drive commercial)
4) Duracell Battery
5) Mastercard
6) Campbell’s Soup
And now, here’s one you should all get:
7) Visa

You can find the answers at my personal blog, Elephants, Ideology, and Orange Juice.

Thanks for playing, kids!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2010 1:45 pm

    Donald Sutherland is always my answer. Or the Hidden Valley Ranch lady, but I’m gonna go back and listen to see if I can guess.

  2. September 17, 2010 1:46 pm

    omg, is the last one M******????

  3. September 17, 2010 1:47 pm

    3 = D****. God, he’s not even trying to trick us.

  4. September 17, 2010 1:56 pm

    3. David Duchovny!!
    4. Jeff Bridges??
    7. Mr. Freeman, if you’re nasty?

    the rest stumped me. It also took me ten times before I realized it was John Corbett in the Applebee’s commercials though!

  5. September 17, 2010 1:59 pm

    *copies Raymond’s paper* 3 & 7 were obvious, but those others. Yeah, I want to look at the answers, but not until I come up with guesses first.

    1. Sounds like Spacey, but I just can’t picture doing that. One of them sounds like an actor from Sleepers Jason Patrick or that Crudup dude. I can’t tell.

  6. September 17, 2010 2:03 pm

    Fabulous quiz! I didn’t get a single one of them but I sure enjoyed listening to them again once I knew the answers.

  7. September 17, 2010 2:09 pm

    I hear you, Popeye Doyle!

  8. September 17, 2010 2:11 pm

    Mastercard is a Sleepers actor. God, I can’t decide which one!!!! Darn it.

    Durcell is J***** he has a tell. He says “batteries” the same way he said, “railroad” in his most iconic role. Damn that took me forever.

  9. September 17, 2010 2:21 pm

    ok, I had to look. I would have never guessed #5, but I’m so mad at myself about #2! I knew I knew him, but couldn’t place it. And sadly, I probably could have guessed #6 if I tried harder!

  10. September 17, 2010 2:24 pm

    @raymondj – “together” and “items” were the key for #2. Very crisp and specific delivery. I had to listen a bunch of times and replay films in my head until I got a match. Like those CSI finger print computers.

  11. September 17, 2010 2:37 pm

    I think my brain had the same problem you had with Spacey.

  12. September 17, 2010 3:26 pm

    I only got #3 and #7 too! They should make this a category on Jeopardy.

    Also, kind of weird to hear Morgan Freeman say “who isn’t a little freaky?” in light of the rumors about him and his step-granddaughter.

  13. September 17, 2010 8:33 pm

    Geniuses, every one!

    #6 was the one I’ve had a hard time with, and actually the one that inspired this post. I knew that I knew that voice, but I just couldn’t place it!

  14. September 18, 2010 11:15 am

    Man, I sucked at this. My girlfriend kicked my ass and nailed all but 2 of them. I’ll stick to guessing grape varietals blind I guess…

  15. Scotty permalink
    October 19, 2013 11:33 pm

    I seem to have some uncanny ability with these; I immediately see a face in my mind when I hear voices, whether Ive heard them or not. If I have, I almost always see the person’s face. Be that as it may, number 1. Honda, is killing me. I KNOW I know it, killing me. As for the rest:
    2. LOWES=Gene Hackman. 3. Pedigree=David Duchovney 4. Duracell=Jeff Bridges 5. MASTERCARD=Also Killing Me 6. Campbell’s=Tim Allen(I think) 7. VISA=Morgan Freeman

Leave a Reply

