Skip to content

Friday Fashion Flash: First Edition

September 17, 2010

MAC Palace Pedigreed Collection

This is the first in what will hopefully be a weekly column dedicated to fashion news, beauty, things to covet, etc. Let’s jump in, shall we?

    MAC Palace Pedigreed Collection lipstick in Aristo-Cat

  • MAC has several feline-inspired makeup collections out right now, but my favorite is the Palace Pedigreed Collection, which features the lip color to the right, Aristo-Cat. I tried to get my hands on it at the local MAC store but they were sold out. It’s a kind of metallic purpley silver/bronze color and it is amazing. I tried to find a duplicate of it among the collections at Sephora but was unsuccessful. It’s really unique.
  • Speaking of Sephora, Urban Decay’s “Naked” palette is definitely on the “must buy” list. It features neutral shades that are hardly boring. There’s lots of glitter and shimmer, as most UD eye shadows have. It’s a tossup for me which eye shadow brand I love more, MAC or UD. MAC definitely has more selection, but UD has dope colors and I love the glitz.
  • Beth Ditto for Evans Polka Dot Dress

  • Beth Ditto’s new collection at UK plus-size retailer Evans is available for purchase now! There’s several hot pieces I’m dying to get my hands on, including this polka dot dress. Not all of the items are available yet, there’s still an amazing studded parka with a big collar and a cute red zig-zag pattern a-line dress on their way, among other things.
  • Worth mentioning: venerable plus size institution Lane Bryant is now featuring a DKNY Jeans collection. It still has a Lane Bryant-y feel to it, although there’s a couple tops that I could kind of get behind.
  • If you’re ever in need of style inspiration, check out Style Like U. It features videos of stylish people talking about how they achieve their look and what their inspirations are. I’ve spent hours poring over the site. It’s mesmerizing.
  • I leave you with this video from Michelle Phan, who was just featured in the October issue of Marie Claire as “The Next Kevyn Aucoin”.
  • Stay classy!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2010 8:09 pm

    OH MY GOD EVANS. I DID NOT KNOW IT EXISTED UNTIL YESTERDAY AND I AM SO SAD I AM BROKE RIGHT NOW.

  2. September 17, 2010 8:39 pm

    Tash….. you’re killing me with this post. Seriously. That Beth Ditto collection is awesome. As is that new MAC collection. I’ll have to stop by the local MAC counter and see what they’ve got.

  3. sophia permalink
    September 17, 2010 8:50 pm

    yay! loved the first edition and i am gonna check out the UD eyeshadow you mentioned. beth dittos line def has some cute sfuff, but ive not yet reconciled my feelings about the horrible photo shoot she she did about a year and a half. the cultural appropriation and racism/classism portrayed in the photos were upsetting. all the best!

  4. September 17, 2010 9:00 pm

    I like this Ditto collection MUCH better than the last one, which was too trendy (in a bad way) and didn’t feel cohesive. This is really nice.

  5. Lani permalink
    September 17, 2010 9:05 pm

    That lipstick is gorgeous! I’ll need to go check it out. And I love, love, love the Style Like U website.

  6. September 17, 2010 9:24 pm

    Michelle Phan is all over the place! I just saw her in the Times Style section or somesuch. And I think MAC is onto my spending patterns; they have begun inundating me with HEY FREE SHIPPING emails because they know I am cheap and don’t like to leave the house. I love their “dare to wear” hypercolor eyeshadow series, which I am mostly too chicken to attempt in daily life, but secretly aspire to.

  7. September 17, 2010 11:37 pm

    You definitely need that polka dot dress!

  8. September 18, 2010 11:12 am

    Added bonus, Urban Decay doesn’t test on animals!

    This was awesome, that polka dot dress is so damned cute, I can’t even take it.

  9. September 18, 2010 6:54 pm

    @RMJ I know!! I need that dress but I’m broke as a joke.

    @eieioj Definitely check out the MAC counter, they’ve got a couple other cute collections too.

    @sophia I’m not really a big Beth Ditto fan, but some of the clothes she comes up with for the Evans collection have been hits.

    @Snarky Some of this new stuff is crap too, though. Ha.

    @Lani it is a really pretty color. I’m probably just going to suck it up and order it online.

    @MsPeel You get free shipping emails? I just get snail mail from them.

    @ray You know I do!

    @spoon I know, I love UD for that. And their packaging is so cute.

Leave a Reply

