Skip to content

Don’t Say We Never Gave You Anything: Nigella Lawson

September 16, 2010

Everett loves Top Chef and Redlami loves breakfast, but no one here at FryButter has yet to blog explicitly upon Nigella Lawson; but every day, people doing searches for her (and her body parts) land on our blog.

In case you missed her big burst of popularity a few years ago, Nigella Lawson does television shows, books, and columns about preparing food.  She is neither a formally trained chef or food expert, she just is a person who loves eating food, loves preparing it, loves writing about doing both, and then gets paid boatloads to do just that, in part because she has great hair and a more curves than all the strip malls in a metropolitan suburb.  I’m not hating on The Hon. Nigella Lawson, I’m just saying, while she is certainly smart and charismatic and savvy, her nearly lackadasical cooking prowess wouldn’t be pulling in so much bank if she was not also considered smoking hot.  I think she absolutely knows this.

I’m not above a little objectification (if you recall my Helen Mirren post) as long as the subject is in on the operation, and so while we are not explicitly a populist blog, don’t say we never gave you anything:  save yourself the googling and click here for some of the finest (work-safe) Nigella Lawson photos all in one post.

is it just me, or do I detect seething underneath the polite smile?

even at a book signing with no fancy hair, makeup, or lighting, she's probably out of your league.

Ok, now back to your regularly scheduled ButterFrying.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2010 12:15 pm

    Hello cleavage!

  2. September 16, 2010 12:37 pm

    Ugh I love Nigella Lawson! It was funny watching Top Chef last season when she guest judged and the Quickfire was serving her and Padma breakfast in bed. The Cheftestants were amazing pigs about it…but, then again, so was I while I was watching it.

    I love pretty women who love food as much as I do. I envy her her cleavage. And that smoking hot red polkadot dress. I totally need that in my closet. ….and Ms. Lawson in my kitchen..

  3. September 16, 2010 12:44 pm

    I’ve mentioned her in the comments a few times! She is my dream woman. Oh man.

  4. Citizen Taqueau permalink
    September 16, 2010 12:59 pm

    There is this great set of pictures of her in a blue dress in the back of a limo. Wish I could find them. Totally dishy.

  5. September 16, 2010 2:06 pm

    She’s nice to look at but doesn’t work well for me as a cooking show host. I’m too distracted to pay attention to what she’s doing because I get fixated on how she’s doing it.

  6. hsofia permalink
    September 16, 2010 4:41 pm

    It’s interesting that you have a photo of her with Rachel Ray because upon reading your description of Nigella (“She is neither a formally trained chef or food expert, she just is a person who loves eating food, loves preparing it, loves writing about doing both, and then gets paid boatloads to do just that”), I thought, “She sounds like Rachel Ray!” But then the rest of the paragraph doesn’t sound like Rachel Ray.

    I don’t know how Nigella Lawson got into the cooking biz, but Rachel Ray I think got in because of her incredible work ethic plus good luck.

  7. September 16, 2010 5:24 pm

    @poplife: I’m sorry I missed that! I thought I searched all of FryButt, but maybe that does the posts only, not the comments? That would explain those search hits!!!

    @Citizen Taqueau: That photo set you are referring to is probably what most people are searching for when they type “nigella lawson breast”. I didn’t feel comfortable posting it here though, since it was a candid shot with her dress slipping down to near nipple — not intentional. I mean, what people look at at other sites it totally their business, but I don’t want my name next to perpetuating it personally.

    @redlami: I can’t name one dish she’s made, I just sort of stare at her daydreamily and enjoy her talking and moving.

    @hsofia: Nigella was a journalist first, the food prep thing came after that. It’s probably why she’s popular, she’s very conversational and intimate in her writing, people are drawn to the familiar tone, like she’s letting you in on a secret.

  8. September 16, 2010 5:35 pm

    Run and tell that, Nigella.

    Who’s up for tackling Orson’s Beard?

  9. September 16, 2010 8:22 pm

    I will totally write about Orson’s beard too. New weekly column!

  10. September 16, 2010 8:24 pm

    I always check the search terms for “Nigella’s breast” and “Hugo Boss Rocky IV”.

  11. September 16, 2010 8:27 pm

    Nigella sounds like that early morning Food Network lady (can’t think of her name) who takes things like twinkies and Hostess cakes covers them in powdered sugar and calls them, “homemade desserts”.

  12. Lani permalink
    September 16, 2010 8:34 pm

    I stumbled onto Nigella’s cooking shows a few years ago while I was in college, and I watched because I love cooking shows. But she earned my eternal gratitude when I read an interview with her in which she said something along the lines of “I learned that I could either enjoy food or I could enjoy being thin. I chose food.” I think that line was the first time I ever felt like I’d been given “permission” to make the choice to enjoy food and not be thin.

    So, thanks Nigella! You were the first person who made me feel like it was okay to choose food over thin. Keep making lavender cupcakes, I’ll eat ’em.

  13. September 16, 2010 8:51 pm

    Snarky, she’s not quite as bad as that lady — I did learn from Nigella that pouring vinegar on sashimi salmon cooks it just enough to be delicious and undeadly, so at least she has some understanding of food science.

    Lani, that is an excellent quote!

  14. September 16, 2010 9:36 pm

    Whenever I think of Nigella, for some reason I think of Nutella. Besides the alliteration, its that every time I’ve seen one of her shows, she’s making something with chocolate. Which is not a bad thing!

  15. evmaroon permalink
    September 16, 2010 10:12 pm

    See, she’s not cooking food in those shoes. She’s clearly cooking something else!

  16. IrishUp permalink
    September 17, 2010 9:57 am

    I will say this, from a Christmas-time epp some years ago, she made a cranberry almond tart, and a london broil with a straight-up garlic, wine, olive oil, and basil marinade. I made those, and they were so good, they’ve become holiday time meal staples since. Easy, simple, tasty.

    Those shoes in the Ladder Photo are reminding me of HIM from the Powerpuff Girls, and giving me the willies http://powerpuff.wikia.com/wiki/HIM.

  17. September 17, 2010 11:05 am

    @IrishUp: I’m glad I’m not the only one who made that comparison with those shoes!

  18. September 17, 2010 10:55 pm

    @IrishUp, she is the same type of cook that both you and I am — someone who likes to eat good food, often, so you figure out how to make versions yourself, then pick up a few talents along the way. she’s more like a kitchen MacGyver….in Alexander McQueen shoes.

  19. December 31, 2010 3:24 pm

    ….and I just learned she loves playing charades AND singing karaoke !

Leave a Reply

