Skip to content

Duet to Me One More Time…

September 9, 2010

Being raised on Adult Contemporary – or soft rock, I find the charms of a sweeping duet irresistible. Even when they don’t involve the queen of sweeping duets: Jennifer Warnes.

Here are some of my favorite duets…

“Cruisin” by Huey Lewis & Gwyneth Paltrow

I have never seen the movie that brought this rendition of a Smokey Robinson classic into my life! But I will never forget where I was – Emporia, North Carolina – when I heard this song on the radio. I immediately recognized Mr. Lewis, but couldn’t figure out who the female vocalist was. I was tossing around names like Jennifer Lopez or even Sarah Jessica Parker. Turns out it was Gwyneth Paltrow. I love her vocal effort here. I don’t care if Babyface had to Auto-Tune away any semblance of her own vocal talent. Huey Lewis is more than able to pick up the slack! Ha. Once I ended a friendship over a bad word said against Huey Lewis. You can step on Superman’s cape or spit in the wind, but don’t say Huey Lewis has no talent or “a shitty voice” or I’ll kick your ass to the curb. I likes me some Huey Lewis.

“Especially for You” by Kylie Minogue & Jason Donovan

You can have your bum shaking, fabulous, non awkward Kylie! I prefer the high waisted, paper bag jeans wearing incarnation. I prefer the Neighbours incarnation of Kylie. I was so addicted to that Aussie soap during my years in Germany. I also was addicted to the Aussie answer to Jack Wagner – Jason Donovan, who like soap stars before him, lent his meager vocal talents to an overwrought, cheesy love song, which I’m sure was played at every 80s wedding in Australia!

“Saturday Love” by Cherrelle & Alexander O’Neal

Oh you young folks don’t know nothing about no “Saturday Love” which was the jam for the B-girl set. People don’t half remember that like Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis, O’Neal was also once a member of a band called Flyte Tyme, but you probably know them better as these guys.

“Suddenly” by Olivia Newton John & Cliff Richards

Ahhh Xanadu! Miss Olivia and Cliff “Mistletoe & Wine” Richards (ugh, that song dogged me for several holidays during my childhood) combine their combustive vocal talents to bring you this love jam on roller skates.

“I Just Can’t Stop Loving You” by Michael Jackson & Siedah Garrett

Probably my favorite of all MJ’s duets. I love Siedah Garrett and it’s a shame this song, which is totally underrated, doesn’t get more props. It’s one of his better songs.

“What Kind of Fool”, “No More Tears” by Babs & Donna/ “Guilty” – Babs & Barry

When you talk about duets, basically you’re talking about Babs and Barry. Guilty to be exact. Guilty is my personal holy karaoke song, which I will be singing in front of a live, drunken audience with Raymond by my side. “What Kind of Fool” was the first song I ever heard from this album. I’m pretty sure this was one of the tunes in La Mommie’s stable of Babs songs. I also remember she used to get cheesed whenever my sister and I would shake ourselves while singing to imitate Barry Gibbs. In other news, I seem to recall La Mommie owning that same outfit Babs is wearing. Ten bucks says Babs got hers from White House/Black Market too.

“There’s Nothing Better Than Love” – Luther & Gregory

When we lost these two, the world was less musically gifted place. One of my absolute favorite songs, by two of my favorite performers. I will take any opportunity to post this song. Okay, so oddly the acting’s real bad in this video. Not sure what Gregory’s excuse is here.

“Boogie Wonderland” EWF & The Emotions

I love it when two super groups get together to make one awesome song! Nobody’s looking; get your chair dance on!

“I Knew You Were Waiting For Me” by Aretha & George

It takes a brave soul to jump into the recording studio with the Queen of Soul, but George has always had the pipes and the video proves even folks who can “sang” still fanboy/girl out when in the presence of Miss Aretha! Damn, sometimes I forget just how amazing George Michael’s voice is!

32 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2010 10:09 am

    Someone has to mention this one, it might as well be me. I think my mom had this on repeat for an entire summer. Babs and Neil:

    And how about Kenny and Dolly? I love them both, and they seem to be having so much fun together.

  2. eieioj permalink
    September 9, 2010 12:11 pm

    Islands In The Stream! YESSSSSS!

    I’ve always been a fan of this (but I love me some Reba):

    I also love the MJ/P-Mac duets, especially “Say Say Say.”

    Also, Re: Huey Lewis:

    No one puts Huey in a corner. I will fight anyone who insults Mr. Lewis. My boyfriend got to see him in Chicago on Broadway a few years ago, and got his autograph for me on a cast poster; it’s one of the things I would run back into a burning building for. Also, should I ever get married, I will likely walk down the aisle to “Power of Love.”

  3. September 9, 2010 1:03 pm

    I would run back into a burning building for. Also, should I ever get married, I will likely walk down the aisle to “Power of Love.”

    !!! Oooh that would be a great song to march down the aisle to! I love that song.

  4. eieioj permalink
    September 9, 2010 4:41 pm

    @Snarky: I actually found a cover version of it by some emo/wanna-be-punk band on a “Before you Were Punk” CD. It’s a slowed down acoustic guitar only rendition that’s actually quite pretty. Doesn’t hold a candle to the original, though, but then again, what does?

  5. September 9, 2010 6:06 pm

  6. September 9, 2010 6:40 pm

    A few all-boy favorite duets:

  7. September 9, 2010 7:01 pm

  8. September 9, 2010 7:25 pm

    When you talk about duets, basically you’re talking about Babs and Barry.

    AMEN.

    oh man, I can’t like this post enough.

    Babs is the only person who can also pull off a duet with herself!!!!!

  9. September 9, 2010 7:28 pm

  10. September 9, 2010 7:37 pm

    Robbie Williams does two guilty pleasure duets for me:

  11. September 9, 2010 8:13 pm

    Oh gosh, that Bowie/Crosby thing is one of my favorite Christmas songs EVAR.

  12. September 10, 2010 11:56 am

    Babs is the only person who can also pull off a duet with herself!!!!!

    Respectfully, I offer the following for your consideration:

  13. September 10, 2010 12:06 pm

    When I think of Babs and her multitude of duets, I think of this:

  14. September 10, 2010 12:06 pm

    This song gets a lot of shit from critics when they are dissecting Sign O’ The Times, and I really don’t understand how even fanboys with their heads up their butts can miss what a wonderful bite of candy this song is:

    There are rumors that Shelia E. did her side of the vocals over the phone… but I can not confirm this.

  15. September 10, 2010 12:08 pm

    Also, this post shuts it down.
    I don’t think karaoke would exist without these songs!

  16. September 10, 2010 12:38 pm

    I don’t know why they diss “U got the Look” when there’s a perfect whipping boy in Housequake!

  17. September 10, 2010 12:51 pm

    SHUT UP ALREADY! DAMN!

    I love his “Camille” voice and Housequake is truly funky, but yeah… it’s a bit clunky for him. Not slinky. I think people like it because he swears.

  18. September 10, 2010 12:51 pm

    Some Kenny Loggins!

    I’ve never seen such a beautiful sight!

    and of course…

    and the moneyshot:

  19. September 10, 2010 12:52 pm

    Not slinky. I think people like it because he swears.

    BULLSHIT!

  20. September 10, 2010 12:56 pm

    I think this counts as a duet as well. Sheena is clearly channeling Prince and dueting with him.

  21. September 10, 2010 1:10 pm

    I love Sheena: The Prince Years. She did some fantastic work. It’s even better than Sheena: The Miami Vice Years.

  22. September 10, 2010 1:11 pm

    And you can’t go wrong with Sheena and Kenny!

  23. September 10, 2010 1:21 pm

    Oh, don’t worry… I have that amazingness on vinyl!

  24. September 10, 2010 1:56 pm

    Kenny’s such a pimp. I ain’t mad!

  25. IrishUp permalink
    September 10, 2010 2:25 pm

    That was one happy lunch (half) hour! Thank you all so much.

    Some of my personal faves:
    Tom and Stevie – after all these years, still gets me.

    Iggy aaaaaand KATE!

    And Iggy and Deborah doing Cole Porter:

    And pass the puffs for Natalie and Nat:

  26. September 11, 2010 4:55 pm

    Jamie and John!!!

  27. September 11, 2010 5:00 pm

    Omigawd! I haven’t heard “Candy” in years!!!

  28. La Mommie permalink
    September 11, 2010 7:28 pm

    Loved every entry. Bravo Fry Buttians !!!!
    LaMommie

  29. hsofia permalink
    September 12, 2010 4:27 am

    I can’t believe no one mentioned James and Dolly!

    And the one (and ONLY) time I sang a duet in Karaoke, it was to this song (again with the Ingram):

  30. Lauren permalink
    September 13, 2010 7:19 am

    Neneh Cherry and The The!

    Thanks Snarky for “Easy Lover.” I forget how catchy that is.

  31. September 13, 2010 8:20 am

    Neneh Cherry!!!! Yes!

  32. September 13, 2010 8:54 am

    hSofia: “Somewhere Out There” makes me cry every time I hear it!

Leave a Reply

