Skip to content

More Videos: A Place in my Heart

August 21, 2010

You guessed it: songs about places.

“The Night That Lights Went Out in Georgia” – Vicki Lawrence

This is my jam. I’m too nervous to sing it at karaoke. I spent the better part of my last semester in college playing this song on loop and doing no-no fingers to the line, “Don’t trust your soul to no backwoods Southern lawyer!” check! Yes, this is definitely a hairbrush anthem! I still say, “Oh snap!” when the plot twist is revealed at the end of the song.

“This Place Hotel” – The Jacksons

The bridge is off the chain!

“To Live and Die in La” – 2Pac

I think this was what Dr. Laura was talking about.

“Walking in Memphis” – Cher

I prefer Cher’s version cause I’m an X-Files fan. Y’all feel me. Also she shuts this damn song down!

“Tennessee Homesick Blues” – Dolly!

Eating green apples and waiting for the fish to bite!!!

“Church” – Lyle Lovett

Preach, Lyle! He done been to a Black gospel church. He nailed it.

“Africa” – Toto

Now, this I’ve rocked at karaoke. I bless the rains down in Africa (I bless the rains). Don’t act like you don’t know!

“Free Falling” – Tom Petty

I am not ashamed to admit that not only did I constantly take mini “Free Falling” tours of the San Fernando Valley, I also would ride up and down the escalator at the West Side Pavillon singing the song. Valley pride! Petty did our fair locale proud.

“Miami” – Will Smith

Because I don’t listen to the radio (other than talk/news stations) I didn’t get sick of Big Willie Style the way other folks did. I love this CD. I’ve been playing at the gym for years.

“America” – Neil Diamond

I will forever associate this song with the Dallas Cowboy cheerleaders who were kind enough to make Iraklion Air Station on Crete one of their USO stops in 1983. Thank you, La Mommie for taking us to the theater to have this experience. Quite possibly the single most cheesy moment of youth, which was filled with incredible moments of cheese.

“Rocky Mountain Way – Joe Walsh

If I ever listen to the radio, which I’ll admit is rarely (music stations, anyway) it’s either an old school R&B/Quiet Storm station or a classic rock station. Within an hour of turning on a classic rock station I’m sure to hear this ditty from Joe Walsh. That train is never late. It also plays over the Spy Game credits, and when I saw it in the theater with La Mommie we clapped along!

“Texarkana” – REM

This is my favorite REM song. It’s all about the pause right before that nasty bass lick at the end of the chorus.

“Funkytown” –

I used to think the lyric, “Won’t you take me to…” was “Won’t you take Mit to Funkytown.” and wondered why Mit was the only person who got to go there.

“Hotel California” – The Eagles

The Dude and I agree on a great many things. However, on the subject of The Eagles we part company. I love The Eagles. La Mommie and I used to rock the greatest hits constantly. I loved hearing her talk about the songs, particularly this one, which involved her telling me about the different instruments and when they came in during the intro. Wow I forgot Don Henley played drums! It’s not my favorite Eagles’ track (The Long Run holds that title) but it’s near the top.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2010 4:42 pm

    Valley Pride indeed! Petty rules so much. And Dolly, and this list. Here’s a few of my faves:


    Neko Case – “Thrice All American” A heartfelt and earnest ode to Tacoma, WA.


    Duh.


    Blondie – “Union City Blue”


    the Boss “Atlantic City”. Damn, I could probably make a whole list just of Bruce songs, but this is my fave. It’s so melodramatic.


    Prince – “Alphabet Street”. We should all go to Alphabet Street. Any damn time we can. Oh Prince. “I’m gonna drive/ My daddy’s Thunderbird/ So Fine/It’s Absurd/Gonna put her in the backseat/ and drive her/ to Tennessee.”

  2. August 21, 2010 6:01 pm

    Omg, I love your list! I freaking love Alphabet Street!!!

  3. August 21, 2010 6:02 pm

    Oh, man. I was gonna use Atlantic City, but I’m gonna have to go with The Band’s version.

    Or Up On Cripple Creek

    And how about a Tiny Toon Adventures throwback with Istanbul by They Might Be Giants!

  4. August 22, 2010 7:40 am

    I love this game because even with my lousy memory it’s easy to play the home version!

    City of New Orleans is really about a train but I’m using it here anyway. I used to love to sing it as a lullaby when my kids were little.

    Brooklyn Roads is an older one from Neil Diamond. Yes he’s always been cheesy. Yes I’ve always liked him. Shut up.

    The 18th Avenue Cat Stevens is singing about may be in Kansas City, but I’ve thought of this song thousands of times as I walked the Brooklyn version. It’s got a gorgeous instrumental break.

    One of my favorite folkie moments has been hearing a whole hillside singing the chorus to Dar Williams’ Iowa:

  5. August 22, 2010 2:46 pm

    you may part ways with The Dude, but with Jeff Bridges himself, he loves The Eagles — which is why I crack up hard at that movie line.

    let me get warmed up with Barry:

    This checks two places I like:

    and my favorite song about home:

  6. August 22, 2010 2:50 pm

  7. August 22, 2010 4:53 pm

    @raymond… LOLs for Suffragette City

  8. August 22, 2010 4:56 pm

    !!! Suffragette City.

  9. August 22, 2010 5:02 pm

    Well if we’re using make-believe places, we must include Over the Rainbow. The Mandy Patinkin version, for Snarky’s:

  10. August 22, 2010 5:05 pm

    Mandy!!!!

  11. August 22, 2010 5:07 pm

  12. August 22, 2010 5:32 pm

    I totally sang “Magic” at karaoke last night!

  13. August 22, 2010 5:37 pm

    Is the Karaoke version in the right key. I nearly got chased off the stage because it was in some weird key that didn’t work with my vocal range.

  14. August 22, 2010 7:09 pm

    that might explain why I did a pretty good job! I failed hard at Gloria Estefan’s 123 though.

Leave a Reply

