Skip to content

Who is that actor: April Grace

August 18, 2010

April Grace got my attention with her measured turn as a sharp reporter who matches wits with Tom Cruise’s love guru T.J. Mackey in Magnolia. It is the kind of minor, but pivotal role, which could have easily gone to waste on a less capable thespian. I next noticed her in the ensemble drama Playing by Heart where she played a mysterious woman following Dennis Quaid’s character around Los Angeles, giving him a mournful smile and soulful eyes.

Treekies might remember Grace from her work on Star Trek: The Next Generation where she did a multi-episode stint. In addition, Grace has appeared on Empty Nest, Joan of Arcadia , Grey’s Anatomy and the soaplicious Pretty Little Liars. With a considerable IMDB resume boasting countless film and television appearances, here’s hoping Ms. Grace’s talents and screen presence – reminiscent of CCH Pounder – will lead to wider range of acting opportunities or perhaps a role in a fantastic ensemble drama. Maybe Grey’s Anatomy???

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Hsofia permalink
    August 18, 2010 7:01 pm

    Hey, she was in Lost – she played a lieutenant type in The Others. She was memorable, but then she got killed off. I was disappointed, as the show desperately needed a recurring black female character who wasn’t Rose. Well, now I know her name.

  2. August 19, 2010 12:56 am

    that’s right! she was in Lost. I remember her from TNG and of course Magnolia, where she is the recipient of my favorite Tom Cruise line ever: “I’m quietly judging you.”

  3. August 19, 2010 8:47 am

    She’s so versatile! Thanks for these posts, I didn’t realize I’d seen her so much until you pointed her out!

  4. August 19, 2010 1:12 pm

    @raymond – hahahah. “I’m quietly judging you.” is the best line in Magnolia, other than Julianne Moore’s freakout at the pharmacy.

  5. Mary Alice permalink
    August 20, 2010 12:06 am

    🙂 I love Playing By Heart. I saw it, of course, for Gillian 😛

  6. August 20, 2010 12:47 am

    I saw it for Angelina 🙂

  7. August 20, 2010 7:27 am

    “and then you call me ‘Lady’….!”

  8. August 20, 2010 12:25 pm

    Oh my god, Julianne Moore is buckets of AWESOME. She rocks nice white lady pathos like no other. Love the Julianne!

  9. August 20, 2010 12:26 pm

    I give these things to you…

Leave a Reply

