Skip to content

Your Friday Five #14: High Drama and Fringe

August 13, 2010

The night was so exciting/ Your smile was so inviting

  • Ruth Brown – “Mama, He Treats Your Daughter Mean”
  • The Phantom – “Love Me”
  • Little Richard – “Without Love”
  • Kitty Wells – “I Don’t Claim to Be an Angel”
  • The Louvin Brothers – “My Baby’s Gone”
  • BONUS TUNES:
  • Loretta Lynn – “Fist City”
  • Those Darlins – “The Whole Damn Thing”
  • Jackie Wilson – “No Pity (In the Naked City)”
  • The Shangri-Las – “Remember (Walkin’ in the Sand)”
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Alice permalink
    August 13, 2010 7:27 pm

    I enjoyed all of those! Jackie Wilson is amazing, and I’d never heard the ate the chicken song before.

  2. August 14, 2010 10:46 am

    Great choices. I fell in love with “Fist City” the first time I heard it, and I wouldn’t put it past Loretta to have it be a true to life tale! Now I want to find that VHS tape of “Coal Miner’s Daughter!”

    The one I hadn’t heard was that Kitty Wells song which was hilarious… I would love to make an animated video to go with that tune, and of course it would be completely NC-17 as we get to witness the things our angelic singer did to get her rep, even as she pleads to her lover, face to face!

  3. August 14, 2010 12:10 pm

    thanks for the great weekend playlist, spoon. and this will hopefully inspire me to finally write up a little post about visiting loretta lynn’s home in butcher hollow!

  4. August 14, 2010 4:56 pm

    Great choices. I fell in love with “Fist City” the first time I heard it, and I wouldn’t put it past Loretta to have it be a true to life tale! Now I want to find that VHS tape of “Coal Miner’s Daughter!”

    Yes! I really dig on “Fist City” too. Also, that Kitty Wells is shutting it down.

  5. August 15, 2010 9:07 pm

    My favorite thing about the video for “Fist City” is how damn happy Loretta looks while she’s singing it. Love it!

Leave a Reply

