Skip to content

Moments of Gold and Flashes of Light: Hairbrush Anthems

August 10, 2010

A hairbrush anthem is fairly self-explanatory – it’s a song that people like to sing into a hairbrush (usually in the bathroom). Here are some of mine. Don’t front. Do you select a hairbrush based on how closely it approximates a microphone?

What are the songs you sing into a hairbrush. Hoping some Fry Butt contributors – *coughRaymondcough* weigh in with posts of their own!

In no particular order:

1. Karyn White – Superwoman

This hairbrush anthem was popular in my DoDDs high school with just about every single girl I knew. Publicly, I tended to shun the song as I didn’t want to appear to be a follower, but when it was just me and the hairbrush I put on the cassingle furtively and sang my heart out.

2. Jimmy Lee – Aretha Franklin

I still sing this into a hairbrush. Aretha’s cut off her 1985 self titled release has all the elements of a great hairbrush anthem; impossible range, call/response bridge and a big finish!

3. All Coming Back to Me – Celine Dion version and Meatloaf version

I try not to know people who don’t at least tolerate Celine Dion or Meatloaf. In my experience nothing good comes from people who snark on these two. I enjoy Celine because she has a beautiful voice, sings bombastic songs with her bombastic voice, puts on a fantastic show (according to La Mommie) and has a fantastic sense of humor. I enjoy Meatloaf for pretty much the same reasons. As with most hairbrush anthems, the selections will out pace your vocal capabilities. Doesn’t mean you can’t shut it down – if only for the arrangement of products on your bathroom counter.

4. And I Am Telling You – Jennifer Holliday

This one’s so good, I take my act onto the road – into the living room, hall closet and possibly the kitchen. No no no, I’m not waking up tomorrow morning (ha ha) and finding that there’s nobody there! Jazz hands to the sky!

5. Fancy – Reba!

I love singing this while I’m trying to make my hair behave. La Mommie never turned me out, but I still sing this song with gusto. I might have been born just chubby brown middle class, but Peaches was my name!

6. The Main Event – Babs!

There are a no words for this immortal classic. The film still holds up too! (It’s on Netflix Instant View)

7. Just One Victory – Todd Rundgren

(It starts at 4:02) Senior year in High School I went through a huge Todd Rundgren phase and A Wizard, A True Star was my favorite of his countless albums. And Just One Victory was (and still is) my favorite Rundgren track. I also made my sister sing the “Hold that line, baby, hold that line”.

8. Far From Over – Frank “Take Ya Back” Stallone

We had the soundtrack to Staying Alive and while I enjoyed all the cuts, this was my favorite. It’s also at the top of my Karaoke set.

9. Goodnight Tonight – P-Mac

Most days, I think this is P-Mac’s most perfect song. Like when I’m singing the laser sound effects into the hairbrush. More songs should have laser sound effects and robot vocal effect fade outs.

10. Gettin’ Jiggy Wit It – Will Smith

Will reclaims a word with a painful history in the AA community (google it) and makes it into the best rollerskating jam of the 90s. Met Ali, he told me I’m the Greatest!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 7:11 am

    My 30th birthday gift to myself was taking my hairbrush performance of “It’s All Coming Back To Me Now” to the karaoke stage and sharing it with the world.

    I have a couple classic ones I do too. This one is actually NONSTOP singing, which I love, almost no time to breathe:

    And I love this one for clapping and marching around the house while singing:

  2. August 10, 2010 7:22 am

    I was super late on this one, I think the first time I put together was when I caught a glimpse of Alicia winning a grammy, and I thought, oh THAT song I’ve heard a couple times, I think I like that song. The next week, I was in front of the mirror:

  3. August 10, 2010 7:28 am

    ok, last comment then I need to shower and sing one live, before I go babysit. i only like two Robbie Wiliams songs, but I REALLY REALLY like them.

    for the “i think i need to dump this clown” moment of clarity:

    and then for the getting-ready-to-going-out ego boosting dance number:

  4. August 10, 2010 8:29 am

    I tried one time to hang a microphone from my ceiling so I could rock it out boxing announcer style. It didn’t totally work right…

    For me, its any song that requires loud singing and (usually) some form of synth… so any Steve Perry/Journey and Boston are in. Meatloaf is a favorite. And showtunes.

  5. August 10, 2010 9:06 am

    Freddie Mercury’s cover of “The Great Pretender” is mine. (Embedding is disabled — grrr.) Any Queen song, actually, is a good hairbrush anthem.

  6. August 10, 2010 9:37 am

    Kathy: agreed about Queen! “Somebody To Love” is a great one, but I think of most Queen songs as “riding in the car with my best friends singing at the top of our lungs” anthems.

  7. August 10, 2010 10:31 am

    For me, its any song that requires loud singing and (usually) some form of synth… so any Steve Perry/Journey and Boston are in. Meatloaf is a favorite. And showtunes.

    Omg, I tear up some “Faithfully” and “Don’t Stop Believing

    and…

    I shut this down at Karaoke one night. It was amazing.

  8. August 10, 2010 10:38 am

    I tried one time to hang a microphone from my ceiling so I could rock it out boxing announcer style. It didn’t totally work right…

    this is amazing!! I want to go home and do that so I can sing LL Cool J’s “mama said knock you out”!!

  9. August 10, 2010 12:31 pm

    this is amazing!! I want to go home and do that so I can sing LL Cool J’s “mama said knock you out”!!

    This is why I love IFMiB!!!

    I used want the microphones they had on Solid Gold. They matched the columns. So classy.

    I do not try to step to Cyndi, but I totally sing this song in Vader voice.

  10. August 10, 2010 1:02 pm

    I don’t brush my hair but I do sing with the soap in the shower (though I’ve yet to buy soap-on-a-rope to enhance the experience). My favorite is probably Cat Steven’s beltiest (and rather naughty) number “Can’t Keep It In.”

  11. August 10, 2010 2:51 pm

    I’m all about belting out the breakup tunes. Even when not actively experiencing heartache!

    and this one has arm movements and dance steps when I sing it.

  12. August 10, 2010 9:53 pm

    this is another classic in my house:

  13. August 10, 2010 10:10 pm

    I want to wreck this at karaoke. It’s in my current hairbrush concert set list.

  14. August 11, 2010 1:27 am

    I. Love. This. Post. @raymond: I once saw a drag queen do a seriously amazing number to “Wuthering Heights” complete with a window and some crazy-ass facial expressions and dance moves.

    I actually can’t keep myself from singing along to this when it is on my iPod and I don’t care who hears me. I dream of doing it at karaoke something fierce.

    This is more of an air guitar than a hairbrush moment, but I cannot resist it regardless.

    I think this song was made entirely for hairbrush singing. One year for my bday we did private room karaoke and my very drunk self and my bandmate’s very drunk, tone deaf husband tore this up and hit crazy bad high notes.

    I am surprised Snarky didn’t post this!

  15. August 11, 2010 2:07 am

    @Chriso, hi. Are we the same person. I have HAIRBRUSHED all those songs. While I favor Dim All The Lights, I still give Last Dance a tumble.

    More hairbrush anthems:

    I go completely off the rails with this Taylor Dayne hit.

  16. August 12, 2010 12:22 am

    I actually don’t know if I could choose ONE Donna Summer song that I love the most. She’s one of those artists where I realize “Wow, you were a hit singles machine!”

Leave a Reply

