Skip to content

Mo’ Music Vidyas! Cheesy good movie themes.

August 10, 2010

I’m a sucker for music movies (which is why I love  FryButt’s own Alyx Vesey’s Music Movie Mondays, so GO READ THEM ALL NOW. I’ll wait.). Ok..are you back? Awesome.

I’m also a sucker for movie themes of the cheesy pop variety that really have little to do with the movie itself. They make me happy inside. Some of my favorites include:

Kiss From A Rose- Seal (Batman Forever)

I’m probably a fan of this song because of the oboe in it. And it came out during my huge crush on both Nicole Kidman and Val Kilmer. And the breakdown of a million Seals singing the chorus at 2:22 is awesome. I still don’t approve of nipples on the Batsuit, though.

All For Love-Bryan Adams, Sting, Rod Stewart (Three Musketeers)

A trio of rather bombastic male singers just hanging around in a studio? What an idea for a video! See, they’re like the best of friends. I love that Sting (who is probably the best singer of the group) gets to show his power on one syllable: AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH. But he sings it so well. But, Sting, you can’t hear your bass in the mix, so your posturing during the chorus is a tad ridiculous. And what is up with Bryan’s hair? This is one of my favorite songs to stick on mix CDs… everyone forgets about it, except me. MUAH HA HA!!! In fact, should I get married, this will pop up randomly during the reception. Also worth noting: this video has nothing to do with the Keifer/Charlie Sheen/Oliver Platt movie. But it’s the theme…

Everything I Do(I Do It For You)-Bryan Adams (Robin Hood:Prince Of Thieves)

The first piece of sheet music I ever bought was for this song. I can still play part of it, lo these many years later. Unlike the previous video, this one was such a part of the movie that it actually plays during the end credits of the VHS (I assume it does the same on the DVD.. I don’t know for sure, because I haven’t seen this movie since before the advent of DVDS.. maybe I should watch it something, see how it is. Although I know Alan Rickman will be brilliant.).

I can’t embed it, but here’s the link in case you wanna watch it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZGoWtY_h4xo

Because You Loved Me/My Heart Will Go On-Celine Dion (Up Close and Personal/Titanic)

I’m including these two together because, honestly, I always think of them together. Both of these follow the “Singer singing intercut with clips from the movie” rule of music videos. “Because You Loved Me” has become a Mother’s Day song, I’ve noticed (and it does make me think of my mom…hmm). I can’t listen to “My Heart Will Go On” without having flashbacks to playing it in band the year it came out, and most of the flutes had to play recorder. It was rough, man. Also, does anyone else think that Celine looks better with the short hair from the “Because You Loved Me” video?

Arthur’s Theme-Christopher Cross (Arthur)

I get this song stuck in my head all the effin’ time. There’s no music video as such, but it still gets to go on this list. Here’s the end credits to <i>Arthur</i>.

Also, this video is just…amazing…

Remember Me This Way- Jordan Hill  (Casper)

I will freely admit that I still tear up at the end of Casper. And this song makes me get a bit misty, because it’s used expertly in the movie. Or at least it is if you’re a young girl with easily manipulated tear ducts. Oh, Devon Sawa, what happened to you? This video makes some interesting (and cheesetastic!) moves, like have Jordan Hill interact with Casper. So, yeah, there you go.

There are a ton more out there, of course. And I probably have them all on my iPod. And I’m not ashamed.

29 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 9:03 pm

    everyone forgets about it, except me.

    damn, you’re right, I did forget about that deep cut!!

    if i had to chose only one though, it might be this:

  2. August 10, 2010 9:08 pm

    DAVID GATES FTW!!!

  3. August 10, 2010 9:09 pm

    My movie theme is of course:

  4. August 10, 2010 9:13 pm

    omg, I thought it was David Gates for YEARS and so I never could find it at karaoke. turns out it’s Stephen Bishop. I fcking rocked that isht at karaoke finally!!

    you may remember mr. bishop from other smooth jams like:

  5. August 10, 2010 9:18 pm

    Oh snap! I conflate those mofos all the time.

  6. August 10, 2010 9:27 pm

    I think they’re the same person. Anyone ever seen them in the same room? Or dueting? Hmmm? Hhhhhmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm?

  7. August 10, 2010 9:42 pm

    I totally agree, Eieioj!!! Also, this was such a great entry. We are throwing rocks tonight!!!

  8. August 10, 2010 9:56 pm

    agreed, I’m probably going to wake up in the middle of the night with more tracks to add!!

  9. August 10, 2010 10:03 pm

    this is a crossover post with Love Jones!

    i see you, randy jackson, designer of fine eyewear.

  10. August 11, 2010 9:22 am

    While I was in the shower, I found myself singing that damnable song from The Three Musketeers.

    Then I turned on the TV, and Armageddon was on, which meant I got treated to “The Aerosmith Song.”

  11. August 11, 2010 9:52 am

    I don’t think it gets much cheesier than this:

  12. August 11, 2010 10:10 am

    Since David Gates got a mention…

  13. August 11, 2010 10:13 am

    redlami: Every time I hear that song, I think of the succubus episode of South Park. But yes, that is definately an amazing movie theme.

    How about “One Tin Soldier–The Legend of Billy Jack”?

    Oh yeah…that’s the good stuff.

  14. August 11, 2010 10:30 am

    We sang One Tin Soldier in church camp all the time! wow, I had no idea there was a movie connection.

  15. IrishUp permalink
    August 11, 2010 10:49 am

    Squee on “One Tin Soldier’& Billy Jack. Linked with them in my mind is “O-oh Child” as the closing song for “Over the Edge”

    As for movie themes with lasting impact, “Tubular Bells” gives me the SHIVERS every every time
    http://www.bing.com/videos/watch/video/the-exorcist-soundtrack-tubular-bells/7ae8cdde085a0005bacb7ae8cdde085a0005bacb-165792776672?q=bells%20the%20excorcist&FROM=LKVR5&GT1=LKVR5&FORM=LKVR1

  16. August 11, 2010 4:19 pm

    Go ahead and hate your neighbor go ahead and cheat a friend. LOL. I think we sang this in elementary school.

  17. August 11, 2010 4:24 pm

    Wait, what?

    From the dude who made “Volcano!”

    Omg, I saw this movie like 200 times in theater.

  18. August 11, 2010 4:28 pm

    Oh Snap!

    Y’all betta ask somebody!

  19. August 11, 2010 4:41 pm

    Put your hand in my hand, baby, and don’t ever look back!

    McDreamy alert!

    I think I was the only person to see Phenomena in the theater. Babyface + Clapton = giving anything by Dianne Warren or Marvin Hamlisch a run for its money.

    Oh where’s Tim Rice when you need him! La Mommie and I would howl at the emphasis the singer places on the word “One” – Oneee-nah!

  20. August 11, 2010 4:45 pm

    Kenny Loggins was the soundtrack king, before Bryan Adam took over. And I’m singing Meet Me Halfway as my warm up song at karaoke next.

    Where’s Babs in all this? Oh, right here.

  21. August 11, 2010 4:49 pm

    oh, and @snarkysmachine, I saw Phenomenon in the theater! On a date! We both loved it.

  22. August 11, 2010 8:02 pm

    I saw Phenomenon in the theatre, too! With my mom!

    How about some Free Willy action?

    …I should probably be careful about who I utter that sentence in front of…

  23. evmaroon permalink
    August 11, 2010 9:13 pm

    Because I was such a nerd as a child:

  24. Citizen Taqueau permalink
    August 11, 2010 11:23 pm

    I think this is probably cheesy, but I love it so:

    I was surprised when I listened to it later and heard the actual chorus lyrics. I associated it with Mulder & Scully and so when I saw the credits to “Fight the Future” I always thought D-Grohl was singing “I’ve got your back”, which was just the perfect partnermance lyric ever. I insist that’s still the correct way to hear it.

  25. Citizen Taqueau permalink
    August 11, 2010 11:24 pm

    Darn it, I messed up the embed. Halp!!

  26. August 12, 2010 9:47 am

    Do you like the things that life is showing you?

  27. Q.V. permalink
    August 13, 2010 9:47 am

    Is this a music video? I guess it’s more like they had all this footage and no script and this song that couldn’t really be cut up. Probably the first piece of sheet music I bought, or maybe my cousin bought it and I never returned it. My mom breaks horses so this clip in particular is a cheesy reminder that I wasn’t a horse kid at all despite unlimited access.

  28. Q.V. permalink
    August 13, 2010 9:50 am

    Dammit, anyway, that was The Man from Snowy River, “Jessica’s Theme/Breaking the Colt”. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d_erOWnqc8g

  29. August 13, 2010 4:35 pm

    Awesome! I think my fave Madonna movie tune is “This Used to Be My Playground”. It’s mega-cheese.

Leave a Reply

