Skip to content

Your Friday Five #13: Lucky you.

August 6, 2010

"Oh, Stephen, you rougish cad...." via Today's Inspiration

  • There really aren’t enough dudes in brown suits these days… are there?Just because Today’s Inspiration is aimed at illustrators and designers doesn’t mean we all can’t enjoy it… The last few weeks, Today’s Inspiration has invited guest writer, David Roach, to offer a few thoughts on a new book that he wrote the text for, Lifestyle Illustration of the 60’s. Some nice observations along with a fabulous gallery of those intensely moody, sexy, and lusciously textural lifestyle illustrations of the 60’s that feature lots of cigarettes and come-hither-glances.
  • Long live sans serif.. amiright? picture via Matchstic Blog

    Speaking of design. I’ve always loved the logo for Lucky Strike cigarettes. And not just because I used to smoke ’em. (I’m smoke-free for over 5 years now, thankyouverymuch). It’s simple and bold and pretty much perfect. So while I can’t condone smoking, I highly recommend you look at this gallery of Lucky Strike magazine ads!

  • Classic Petty! My god, I love the intro to this video. Actually, I love the whole thing. This is my fave Tom video. I really dig the whole Mad Max meets gay cowboy meets Star Trek sets vibe. They don’t make ’em like this anymore… Also, I see you Vasquez Rocks!
  • That's right, #13. picture via Collector Not Completist

    Tremendously fun to waste an hour or so perusing, Collector Not Completist reviews the label art on records. How cool is that? Plus how awesome is the blog name? Plus, how badly do you want a copy of the “Harper Valley PTA” 45? So, so, so, so, so badly.

  • Feather for your thoughts? Jolie Holland kills it at Pickathon 08'. picture via myself.

    So, lucky me… I will be going to Pickathon for the 3rd year in a row. Takin’ pictures and jotting down notes for a feature I will be writing for new Portland music bloggy thing, Outsider Music. If you can get to Oregon for a few days in the Summer, and you like a little twang in yr tunes, then you should come! This is pretty much the only festival I will go to anymore. The vibe is mellow and the folks who throw it are fantastic. Not a lot of douchebaggery goes on, the site it’s held on is beautiful, and the line up is always stellar. There hasn’t been a time I’ve gone and not seen at last two completely amazing sets. Jolie Holland, John Doe (of X) and the Sadies, Justin Townes Earl, Samantha Crain and the Midnight Shivers, The Everybodyfields, and The Old Believers have all tore shit down in the past few years. This year, I’m really looking forward to the Heartless Bastards, Dr. Dog (who I missed last year due to a little unfortunate over-indulgence in a few beers), Richmond Fontaine, and Michael Hurley. There’s going to be lots of patchouli, lots of naked toddlers runnin’ around, white people dancing, and sunburns. It’s gonna rule.

    Another Jolie shot. This one from the magical late-night barn set. 2008

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Alyx Vesey permalink
    August 6, 2010 9:17 am

    Yay, Jolie Holland. Jealous for you.

  2. August 6, 2010 1:31 pm

    This is an ace entry, Poplife. That Petty tune is killer! And I’ve always enjoyed his music videos, especially the Alice in Wonderland one for “Don’t Come Around Here No More”. He’s always been on the cutting edge of music videos, and he’s not often given credit for that. Nice to see him spotlighted here.

  3. August 6, 2010 4:59 pm

    Hooray for more Tom Petty love! His videos were always some of my favorites.

    I love the 60’s illustration you posted. More brown suits! That said, I think that if someone can pull off a brown suit, they’re something special.

  4. August 6, 2010 11:06 pm

    Somehow, I had never seen that particular Tom Petty video. I know, because I would have remembered it if I had! But to me anyway, the vehicle was more reminiscent of “Lost In Space” and the Jupiter 2, than anything Star Trek related!

    I agree about the Lucky Strike logo; it was marketing genius. It’s also interesting to examine just how commonplace smoking was considered to be back in the day… like everyone who was well-to-do did it as they sailed their yachts or vacationed on the beach. It was a part of a whole lifestyle.

    I dare not go to that collector/completist site. I know that will expand to fit the weekend! But I very much look forward to your reports from Pickathon.

Leave a Reply

