Skip to content

Unpacking Sean Young

August 6, 2010

Hollywood seems to reserve a special hell for female actors who do not play nice, and the most enduring example–for me anyway–is Sean Young. Young’s performance in the 1982 Ridley Scott sci-fi classic Blade Runner left an indelible impression on me as a teenager and even more so when I saw the first of many “director’s cuts” theatrically…

read the rest of this entry at Bitch Media

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2010 1:06 am

    This is a great post. I do think Sean Young is sometimes Sean Young’s own worst enemy: liquor is clearly not a good choice for her, her eccentricities have often overshadowed her work, etc. But I totally agree that the level of acceptability for female misbehavior in Hollywood is far lower than it is for men. When I think of Charlie Sheen, who you referenced, and all of his bullshit or of Tom Cruise’s couch-hopping antics or how Roman Polanski can be indicted on rape charges and still have people touting his work, it blows my mind that people have acted like Young is just completely unhinged and impossible to work with.

  2. hsofia permalink
    August 6, 2010 1:21 am

    Sean Young always puzzled me when I was an adolescent. I never put my finger on it. Her name threw me off, too, and it just felt that she was a “different” kind of feminine than I was used to seeing. She reminded me a lot of Sigourney Weaver, actually, but with more humor, and it always felt to me like underneath it all, she really didn’t give a shit. (And I mean that in a good way.)

    I definitely think she’s due for a comeback. And did I mention she is flipping gorgeous?

    And goodness … I remember the James Woods crap. That guy is a piece of a work. He is one of the few actors that I just find too distasteful to watch in ANYTHING.

  3. August 6, 2010 7:32 am

    Yeah, James Woods is a batterer and there are no shortage of projects available for him. He always gives me the creeps.

    @Chriso – I agree about Young being her own worst enemy. Very great point.

  4. August 6, 2010 9:06 am

    I love Sean Young not only for her acting, but also because of all of her quirks. But (like someone mentioned in the comments on Bitch Media) I would like to see her have a Robert Downey Jr type comeback. She deserves it.

    I always hate it when actors I enjoy the work of are complete wastes of skin in their personal life. I mean, I’m always gonna have a warm fuzzy for Ricky “Wild Thing” Vaughn, but I hope Charlie Sheen rots.

    Also, thinking about the Catwoman incident makes me think of the male actors who do odd things in public for the sake of a film role (or just because they can); Joaquin Phoenix and his “rap” career, anyone? Or Jim Carrey’s “Crazy Jim Morrison” phase a while back?

  5. August 6, 2010 11:50 am

    Oh, James Woods just grosses me out. I find his repeated inclusion in Family Guy to be a sign of my pet theory that Seth McFarlane is rather misogynist.

Leave a Reply

