Skip to content

Emma Watson’s smart haircut.

August 6, 2010
by

Emma Watson hexes away Hermione.

As many of you know, Emma Watson – the actress famous for portraying Hermione Granger in the Harry Potter franchise – has gone and chopped off all of her hair. Or, rather, she paid a professional to chop it all off and said professional did a fantastic job of it! It’s a adorable and chic at the same time and totally smart. And not just smart in the way one says “that’s a smart suit” – although it does fit that particular bill as well. But it’s a totally smart pop culture power move as well.

One look at Watson’s IMDB page and you see that the bulk of her experience and acting credits come from the Harry Potter films. And while that’s an impressive franchise to be a part of for your first foray into major movies and she has gained a great deal of fame and success as a result, it’s also a really dangerous position to be in when it comes to typecasting. And this is a demon that seems to plague a number of women in Hollywood. Lynda Carter has lived in the shadow of Wonder Woman for decades. Gillian Anderson will forever be Dana Scully in the minds of so many. And Sarah Michelle Gellar hasn’t had much of a career since Buffy ended. And it would be easy to see Ms. Watson exiled to Hermione purgatory for the rest of her life. So what better move could she make than to radically change her appearance and leave nothing of Hermione behind?

Hermione is known for her “bushy hair” – as described in the books. And while the filmmakers stopped making Emma’s hair look bushy for the role after the first two films, she look hasn’t changed much throughout the run of the HP films save in the ways that can’t be helped due to maturity. But all you have to do is to look at the photo posted above to see that Hermione has left the building. The two part finale to the Harry Potter films is done and dusted and Watson’s not letting herself rest on Hermione’s laurels. She’s declaring her independence from the character and showing that she’s bold and unafraid to completely overhaul her image so Hermione is totally erased when people look at her. It fits really, as she’s always struck me as intelligent, savvy and rather classy, especially in the Burberry campaign she’s been a part of. And it just goes to show you how powerful a haircut can be. And seriously, she looks so effing good with that short pixie! Congratulations on resisting the Rapunzel hair, Emma! May your career be long and free of typecasting.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2010 11:58 am

    It’s almost as though Emma read your post about Celebrity hair!!

    Really, it was a perfect choice for all sorts of reasons, to escape the Hermione character, to play up her look, to just be different and daring!

    Watson is an actor. She has some good talents and abilities and that will definitely help her. The fame of the Potter series got her on the map, now, she’s ready to step out and try everything!

  2. August 6, 2010 12:24 pm

    Very Rosemary’s Baby! But in a good way. I love it and I think I’m gonna copy her for my next ‘Do.

  3. August 6, 2010 12:26 pm

    I love the haircut and this post. I would love to see Watson on a television series. Something similar to a Claire Fisher (six feet under) type role. I think her next project should be something with legs and completely different, but not merely for different’s sake. It doesn’t have to be nekkid or sexy, which is usually what female actors opt for whenever they want to jettison their sweet image.

    A good role model for Watson would be Hope Davis, who could have been stuck playing “next stop: wonderland” or “the daytrippers” type roles forever, but finds quirky parts, which often require her to go completely unrecognizable (like in American Splendor).

    Naomi Watts might be a good role model too. In fact, she might be wise to go after the roles that Watts and Kidman have “aged” out of as she has that same spark they have.

  4. hsofia permalink
    August 6, 2010 12:39 pm

    I just hope she doesn’t end up like Gretchen Mol! I’m hoping for something along the lines of Samantha Morton’s career, but more of a household name.

  5. August 6, 2010 1:25 pm

    @hsofia! Yes, Samantha Morton is a good career trajectory too. I have grown to love her work, particularly in Minority Report.

  6. Kia permalink
    August 6, 2010 3:29 pm

    I haven’t seen any of the HP movies & don’t feel one way or the other about Watson but agree that this cut is ultra cute and a smart move career wise.

    I admit to watching The Wendy Williams Show and live in a land of women who have a similar aesthetic so Watson looks particularly refreshing to me.

  7. August 6, 2010 4:53 pm

    I think the hair cut is a brilliant move. It doesn’t quite make her unrecognizable, but it does make me do a double take. I really hope it helps keep her from only ever being Hermione.

    On a Hermione related hair note, am I the only person who was bothered when they made her hair non-bushy a few movies before it should have been? Or am I just too big a dork?

  8. Hsofia permalink
    August 6, 2010 7:14 pm

    Eieioj – no, you weren’t! In the movies, they really try to emphasize Hermione turning from ugly duckling to swan, but I don’t recall her turning to a swan in the books. She wasn’t an ugly duckling, either. She was just … Hermione. What’s wrong with bushy hair anyway?

  9. August 6, 2010 8:11 pm

    @Snarky’s: I am TOTALLY on board with your ideas about Watson’s career path. I would love to see her do a TV series or something a little more meaty. As a bit of an HP nerd, I’ve watched some of the DVD extras and she seems serious about her craft and really intelligent, so I don’t imagine her resting on her laurels.

    @Hsofia & eieioj: I am in agreement about the bushy hair thing too. Especially because I think there’s a point in the book where she does a glamour or a spell of some sort to look more pretty and have cute hair and what not for the dance and it causes a stir when Ron doesn’t recognize her at first. But I’m sure they wanted her to be able to be as teen-heartthrob-y as the guys in the film so they wanted to make her hair “pretty”. I have noticed that since she landed the Burberry campaign she looks far more stylish in the films, but still age appropriate. I wonder how much the two are related.

  10. August 6, 2010 8:38 pm

    Omg, I love the use of “glamour”. Makes me think of The Craft.

  11. August 6, 2010 9:21 pm

    “Manon heal my scars. Manon heal my scars…”

  12. evmaroon permalink
    August 7, 2010 5:31 pm

    I keep thinking this cut makes her look quite a bit like Natalie Portman, and heck, that’s not a bad career to model. Portman has a lot of irons in the fire.

  13. August 7, 2010 11:13 pm

    I agree, Ev. She does look like Nat Portman!!!

  14. Q.V. permalink
    August 8, 2010 12:36 am

    This Natalie Portman connection reminds me of the hazard that came with Natalie Portman’s short haircut: lesbionic hotness. I went to see a movie in Manhattan with a friend, and held a door open for a hot brunette dyke-like person as the occasion warranted. I accidentally winked out loud and received just a wince in response. Afterwards, my friend had to explain, not just that I had held the door open for Natalie Portman, but who exactly Natalie Portman was. In my defense, I had been in music school and was rarely exposed to the outside world.

  15. Octavia permalink
    August 9, 2010 1:01 am

    Holy crap that’s a fantastic cut on her. Definitely DON’T type cast me.

  16. evmaroon permalink
    August 9, 2010 1:41 am

    @QV: that’s an awesome story! so sorry it didn’t work out with you and Nat.

    And generally, I’m noticing she also had some work on her eyebrows that really help the hair cut sing.

Trackbacks

  1. Emma Watson’s smart haircut. « Love is the Slug

Leave a Reply

