Skip to content

Snarky’s Old Timey Goth Club Mix Vol. 2: Everyday is Halloween!

August 2, 2010

If you missed Vol #1, check it out. Here’s another installment of Snarky’s Old Timey Goth Club Mix! Relive the late 80s/early 90s with a reluctant goth cheerleader and unabashed fan of the music.

  1. “Saltarello” by Dead Can Dance
    I tend to associate this song with Ren Faire stuffs and a pretentious goth girl who was usually the only person on the dance floor punishing the rest of us with some clearly choreographed routine specifically for this song.

  2. “Israel” by Siouxsie and the Banshees
    Two words: Siouxsie boots!

  3. “Join in the Chant” by Nitzer Ebb
    I am pretty sure this is the only Nitzer Ebb song I know.

  4. “I Sit on Acid” by Lords of Acid
    The other day when I mentioned to an old school goth friend how much fun this song was, he was like, “What are talking about? You freaking HATED this song and always retreated to the bathroom or some other gossip locale. I don’t think you ever actually danced to this song.” Well, that’s one opinion.

  5. “Rosegarden of funerals and sores” by Bauhaus
    Virgin Mary was tired…so tired. This song seemed to make its own gravy!

  6. “Incendiary Lover” by Gitane Demone
  7. “Sex Dwarf” by Soft Cell
    Ableism noted, I never understood the appeal of this song, but the kids sure did love it. I did think the beat was pretty fly and I do love the lyric, “Luring Disco Dollies to a life of vice…”

  8. “Closer” by Nine Inch Nails (NSFW)
    I think this is the best thing ever released by NIN. I used to jump the box and work it out to this phat jam. Slamming beat.

  9. “Frou Frou Foxes in Midsummer Fires” by The Cocteau Twins
    An under appreciated gem from CT. Usually, an early-in-the-evening warm up song.

  10. “In Between Days” by The Cure
    Personally, I love this song, but damn if it didn’t clear the dancefloor as though someone had eaten a beefy burrito and let one rip.

  11. “Love Will Tear Us Apart” by Joy Division
    I appreciate this song a lot more now than I did then. After hearing countless bands try to recreate the magic happening in this song, I’d rather listen to the original. I see you, Interpol.

  12. “The Killing Moon” by Echo and the Bunnymen
    Still one of my favorite songs. So perfect and sweet and very goth.

  13. “Free Your Mind” by En Vogue
    While not explicitly goth, I assume this was a personal fave of the DJ. People danced and didn’t seem to mind.

  14. “Moments in Love” by The Art of Noise
    I never really considered this song anything more than background music for scrolling weather forecasts, which was its purpose in Germany. Apparently in America it was goth dance music.

  15. “Everyday is Halloween” by Ministry
    A goth anthem hopeful, which like the goths it sought to represent, it took itself FAR too seriously. That said, it was often my outgoing message on Halloween and now it’s my once a year ringtone! Bop e bop bop, indeed.
11 Comments leave one →
  1. Octavia permalink
    August 2, 2010 4:20 am

    ‘Closer’ just sounds like sex to me, I love it. It’s still one of my favourite running songs for a Rocky-esque power workout feeling.

  2. August 2, 2010 4:29 am

    Octavia, so true! I use it “Closer” to powerwalk on a steep incline. When the song is over I feel as though I’ve accomplished something magnificent.

  3. badhedgehog permalink
    August 2, 2010 6:16 am

    What was wrong with all those people who didn’t dance to “In Between Days”? That’s classic hoppety-skippety goth.

  4. August 2, 2010 6:25 am

    What was wrong with all those people who didn’t dance to “In Between Days”? That’s classic hoppety-skippety goth.

    I know, right. I always assumed it was because the song was played right at the beginning of the evening while folks were still sober and testing their safety pinned outfits for stability.

  5. Octavia permalink
    August 2, 2010 11:11 am

    It makes me feel like I need my own montage.

  6. August 2, 2010 12:15 pm

    When I was in high school at the hippie, artsy Waldorf school we used to all have to contribute a page to this “Christmas Book” that would be made every year. People would create pastel renderings of the Nativity or a holly-bordered poem or that sort of thing. One year, when I was at the apex of my Siouxsie-loving ways (and walking around in a Siouxsie tee over a black mesh long-sleeve shirt and cut-off jeans with black long johns and combat boots) I did a page of the lyrics to “Israel” with some sort of gothy artwork around it. I truly wish I had snatched that page to keep when I graduated.

  7. eieioj permalink
    August 2, 2010 12:40 pm

    “In Between Days” is a faaaaaaabulous song. “Closer” makes me think of my high school fake-goth boyfriend (apparently liking The Crow movie is the only requirement) and him trying to convince me that it was a romantic song. Yep.

    Man, I foresee some music downloading in the near future to round out my collection.

  8. August 2, 2010 1:36 pm

    Eieioj, there are lots of songs fitting the “closer” category. Mostly anything by Rob Zombie. LOL I have never heard a Rob Zombie song in a goth club, but his music is always used for “goth” scenes in the movies, like he’s so undead.

  9. Alyx Vesey permalink
    August 2, 2010 1:37 pm

    Love it (esp CT and Siouxsie)! Also, while “Free Your Mind” isn’t necessarily goth, I could see the outfits En Vogue wear in the video standing in for some kind of watered-down goth couture.

  10. August 2, 2010 5:38 pm

    I totally rocked the FYM goth look in my goth heydays.

  11. August 2, 2010 7:50 pm

    “Free Your Mind” was like goth for people who actually had/wanted to have sex as opposed to just slink around in the corner looking sullen.

Leave a Reply

