Skip to content

Who is that Actor: Glenn Plummer

July 27, 2010

Glenn Plummer in the infamous Showgirls

Actor Glenn Plummer‘s agent must regret the day Harold Perrineau passed on Showgirls! This twist of fate – as imaginary as it probably is – most likely resulted in Perrineau scoring great parts in Romeo and Juliet and Lost, while Plummer found his comparable talents showcased in projects such as the unforgettable Ice Cube penned cinematic classic The Janky Promoters

Like Perrineau, everything about Plummer’s screen presence screams, “Black Acting School!”, which is to say, Hollywood can’t smoke out the “classical training” no matter how many street thugs, gangsta rappers or other stereotypical characters he portrays in films. Currently, Plummer is filming Monsters in the Woods so clearly his career is on the up and up. FFS, please give this dude a decent role worthy of his talents. He was the only remotely watchable thing about Showgirls, which was anything but watchable.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. chiefbroad permalink
    July 27, 2010 7:33 pm

    LOL, “Black Acting School”! I was just talking about Hollywood Shuffle the other day with a co-worker, urging him to see it. I need to see it again–it’s been years. I remember my dad took my sister and I to see it when it came out. He saw it reviewed on Siskel and Ebert, and we went the same day. It was the first time I heard the word “ho”. The “ho cakes” thing cracked my dad up!

    I recognize Plummer from The Day After Tomorrow, which I have watched way too many times.

  2. July 27, 2010 7:42 pm

    I love Hollywood Shuffle. I find it eerily accurate in terms of how race is treated on film and I have been known to say, “There’s always work at the Post Office.” when this artsy fartsy shit gets to be too trifling.

  3. July 27, 2010 8:39 pm

    I do love the scene when he teaches her to dance, it’s so improbable, yet enjoyable to watch.

    But also, what about the “thrust, thrust, THRUST!” scene?

  4. July 27, 2010 8:44 pm

    Showgirls is a hot, glittery mess!

  5. July 27, 2010 8:54 pm

    There’s always someone younger behind you on the stairs.

  6. July 27, 2010 9:07 pm

    Ver-Sace.

  7. jdittmer81 permalink
    July 27, 2010 11:03 pm

    Excellent post. I’ve always admired this actor for his role in the brilliant disaster that is “Showgirls.” Not knowing Plummer by name, I have always referred to him as “Tune Man” for his brief role opposite Keanu Reeves in “Speed” as the guy driving a Porsche with eponymous vanity plates. He’ll always be Tune Man.

  8. July 28, 2010 3:14 am

    Happy 15th Anniversary, “Showgirls!” I love that in this picture, even an innocent audio cassette can look like a condom. That’s the magic of “Showgirls!”

    But this is a big component of how Hollywood works. Once you are “pigeonholed” into “who you are” and “what you can do,” that’s pretty well where you stay. It’s a bit like the real estate game where casting agents and directors are the people who don’t even let you look at that hot property because you came from the slums of a train wreck film.

    It takes a lot to overcome that kind of taint, and some have either produced their own work or moved to the stage to either improve their craft or be seen by a new audience. Sometimes it’s like starting your career over again. Sometimes it’s more difficult than that.

    Here’s hoping that Plummer finds some projects that truly showcase his abilities! He definitely deserves better than, say, Pia Zadora!

  9. July 28, 2010 8:24 am

    Wasn’t he the comic relief cabbie in Total Recall? I totally agree with your assessment, Dean. It is definitely a herculean task to get casting agents to rethink their opinion of you once they’ve put you in a box.

  10. July 28, 2010 1:35 pm

    Whenever you need someone to play a crazy black dude, you can count on Glenn Plummer.

  11. July 28, 2010 1:36 pm

    But no, he wasn’t the cabbie. I know because I watched Total Recall AGAIN like 2 weeks ago.

  12. July 28, 2010 4:42 pm

    Haha. You’re right about Plummer. Was he even in Total Recall? For some reason I picture him as some disreputable individual who joins forces with Arnold.

  13. July 28, 2010 6:55 pm

    He delivers one of the best lines in Showgirls, something along the lines of: You’ve got more natural talent when you dance than anyone I’ve ever seen.
    When I see someone dancing with jerky movements, I hear Glen Plummer.

  14. July 29, 2010 11:26 am

    “You ate Puppy Chow? Honey, I ate Puppy Chow too…” is probably my favorite line in Showgirls. Mostly for the “Honey…” My favorite scene is anytime that Noni devours a cheeseburger.

    I think Glen would be awesome in an HBO Original Series too. Maybe Alan Ball will stop mucking around with vampires and create something new…

  15. July 29, 2010 4:50 pm

    Gina Gershon!

Leave a Reply

