Skip to content

Your Friday Five #10: 5 song mini-mix “Blue Eyed Soul”

July 16, 2010

Turn on your record player, baby/Listen to my song.

I shall trade this windbreaker for a sweet beard.

  • Harry Nilsson – “Turn On Your Radio”
  • Pernice Brothers – “Water Ban”
  • The Bees – “Listening Man”
  • Dusty Springfield – “Spooky”
  • And of course, David Bowie – “Young Americans”
12 Comments leave one →
  1. evmaroon permalink
    July 16, 2010 1:43 pm

    I love all of these, what an awesome list. So I just added them to my iPod, except the Bowie, since I’m hip like that–already had it. There’s something about music in the summer that’s refreshing in a pink lemonade kind of way. Somehow these songs in any other season don’t sound the same.

  2. July 16, 2010 3:13 pm

    I see you, Luther! The Pernice Bros!!! You turned me on to that band. AMAZING STUFFS. Also, can I throw in Bowie’s “Can You Hear Me?” That is a glorious slow jam. Nice to see a list, which recognizes the contributions in the genre of those acts who aren’t named Hall & Oates.

    Dusty! Oh Dusty. I still get chills whenever I listen to the “What Have I Done to Deserve This” fadeout. This is Pet Shop Boys best song! Dusty shut this song down!

  3. July 16, 2010 3:17 pm

    Dave Koz is so freaking young in that Bowie video! Amazing.

  4. July 16, 2010 4:18 pm

    I need to work “Kozzing it up” into my lexicon. I’m thinking it could be quite useful. What with this 80’s revivalism that is captivating the kids these days. “Ain’t there one damn song that can make me break down and cry?” still gives me shivers!

    Dusty just kills me, and that outfit is making my day. I need to check any recent Dusty google alerts because there was some weird shiz a while ago about her family arguing over digging her body up to do a new autopsy or some cra-cra nonsence! And yes, great pick on the Pet Shop Boys! They have so many gems that get ignored by the other kids these days.

    @ev: I’m glad you liked them. “Water Ban” is my favorite type of summer song. It’s bittersweet. Like you said… just like pink lemonade!

  5. July 16, 2010 4:46 pm

    Dusty is so fierce in that video. I love her outfit too. She always had great style. One of my other favorite later in life songs is “Nothing Has Been Proved”. It’s totally got that 80s mid tempo R&B groove. It’s all Al B. Sure.

  6. July 16, 2010 9:13 pm

    When I hear the phrase “blue eyed soul,” sure there are names like The Righteous Bros. and even the Doobie Bros. or Hall & Oates, but the song that invariably comes into my mind is this one:

    Didn’t know that Dusty covered Classics IV! Thanks for pointing that out.

  7. andersonljb permalink
    July 17, 2010 7:32 am

    How do you guys know this wonderful stuff? Compliments to your parents ( and therefore to myself).
    La Mommie

  8. July 17, 2010 12:06 pm

    La Mommie! It was my Mommy who introduced me to Harry Nilsson and talked about how misunderstood he was and that he was in the shadow of John Lennon and what a shame it was that he was gone… She talked about him in this sort of tender way that really left an impression on me, and of course, the music is fabulous.

    My mom also introduced me to Jeffrey Osborne, The Doobie Brothers, and Al Jarreau because she had a special stack of cassettes that were separate from the rest. When asked why those were separate, she replied, “Oh, those are my sexy time tapes!” I still tease her about that!

  9. July 18, 2010 12:46 am

    My mom worked for a lawyer that worked for Harry Nilsson. I love his “Without You”. I played that over and over and cried to it a lot when I was a teenager. Yep, I was pathetic.

  10. July 19, 2010 2:00 am

    @snarky: “What Have I Done to Deserve This” is great! It’s the song that introduced me to Dusty Springfield. Her singing really moved me, both the solo lines and the parts where she interweaves her voice with Neil Tennant’s. Incidentally, it was also the song that made me start respecting the Pet Shop Boys as musical artists. Before that, I just thought of them as a couple of guys who made cool videos.

  11. July 26, 2010 12:28 pm

    I read the Dusty Springfield “authorized biography” even though it was pretty terribly written, but I wanted every little bit of information about her lesbianism, which of course was only hinted at, as the book was written by her childhood friend who wanted to keep everything polite and proprietous. However, she did capture Dusty’s back and forth battle with her sadness pretty well.

    Thanks for reminding me of that cover of Spooky. And that dress! Love it.

    I was trying to find a clip of her version of Easy Evil and no luck….but I did find this:

Trackbacks

  1. jimmy smits » Blog Archive » Don't Say We Never Gave You Anything: Beards « I Fry Mine In Butter

Leave a Reply

