Skip to content

Your Friday Five #9: Free (Legal) Music Edition

July 9, 2010

Can I see your receipt please?

OK, OK, Prince.... We get it. We all read the interview.

  • Striking fear into the hearts of modern radio programmers and well, Prince, The Free Music Archive is the Holy Grail of free music sites. Conceived, created, fed and watered daily by the TOTALLY BITCHIN’ radio station, WFMU,  from New York.  Curators from all over the net help add content on an almost daily basis. Other curators include the roots-oriented KBOO from Portland, KEXP from Seattle, dublab, and the Excavated Shellac blog. It has been around about 2 years now and the library is already pretty vast. So to help you get started, here are some of the gems I’ve found on FMA:  Two fantastic live shows from my most favoritest band guys! Thee Oh Sees rock out right HERE. Some high school kid in Florida is making smart, catchy, hip hop and giving it away for free. He goes by Black Ant. Dope beats HERE. Bloodshot Records (home to Kelly Hogan, Alejandro Escovedo, The Handsome Family, The Sadies, and Neko Case) has a wealth of early, insurgent, true blue Country music. Dig in to their virtual crates HERE.
  • The Mix Tape Club is, as advertised, a bunch of folks making mixes. Short and sweet mixes that you can stream as you keep up with your tumblr or twitter or whatever it is you damn kids are doing these days.
  • Dom, may I recommend a tip jar?

    The fabulous Dominique Leone, musician, writer, and all around swell guy, has whipped up an offbeat, slightly spicy summer mix, if you are so inclined to do a little adventurous listening.  If you like the cut of his musical jib, he has 2 fantastic albums that you can snatch up from Lindstrom imprint Strømland Records.

  • Phoning It In is a cute little radio show where the host has musicians call in and play songs over the phone. The effect can be eerie and haunting (see the two Jolie Holland sessions) or gleefully lo-fi and loose (see the Medication and Bird sessions). Looky, they also have a FMA HERE.
  • Ok, it’s not totally legal, but Raven Sings the Blues has been my favorite mp3 blog for a few years now. He doesn’t post full albums (See, Prince?! They aren’t all bad.), he actually writes about the bands from his point of view (instead of just posting an AMG or Pitchfork blurb), and it’s really well curated.

Bonus! Because it’s summer, and because I missed Thursday Thunder Road for the 2nd week in a row, here is a lovely photo of the Boss playing softball. Love the shorts, Bruce! Via fuckyeahtheboss.

I bet he smells like cole slaw and coppertone!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2010 2:06 pm

    Between the Bruce shot and the Richard shot earlier this week, I need to go shorts shopping STAT.

    Thanks for the archive links — I’m excited for the Bloodshot records tunes!!

  2. July 9, 2010 2:23 pm

    @ray: Thanks!

    Isn’t that Bruce shot dreamy? It sorta makes me wish I was more butch and had curly hair. I’m struggling with shorts right now. I love them so, but there are so many weird ones on the market. I think I’ll stick with the 70’s style (ala Bruce) for the moment…

  3. July 9, 2010 3:36 pm

    Thanks for this, Spoon! I’m all about free music.

  4. July 9, 2010 3:41 pm

    When people ask me what kind of music I like, I always tell them “good music,” and really, if you bother to listen, there is good music of every genre. It’s stuff like this that can help expose all the Gaga Monsters out there that maybe there’s something beyond the pop sensations the labels are force feeding you and if you bother to listen, maybe you’ll understand that element and possibly use some proper source material for inspiration, not some copy of a copy of a really bad copy of a crappy song! These are awesome links that I have now bookmarked!

  5. July 9, 2010 9:36 pm

    When I was in my heavy folk phase I’d listen to WFMU online because that’s where my favorites were always being played. I hadn’t heard about the FMA so I just took a look there… I think I’ve figured out where most of my free time is going to go.

  6. July 10, 2010 4:08 am

    The Mix Tape Club? Oh my gawd. I’ll have to wait until I have a lot of free time before I check that out, because that’s the kind of place I could get sucked right into. I browsed a few of the track listings, and I didn’t recognize most of the artists, and those I did recognize set off my “awesomeness!” bell. That’s a very winning formula in my book.

Leave a Reply

