Skip to content

Dog Days of Summer: Poplife

July 8, 2010

#1.  Perfect Summer Song #34


Jeans, boots, scruffy dudes, hot chicks. Check.

Oakley Hall – “Having Fun Again” (click to listen)

O.K…. This song is a little bit brooding. But it broods in that lazy, “goddamn-it’s-too-hot-to-not-sit-around-stewing-in-the-shade-with-a-cheap-beer” sort of way.

The song starts with a fuzzed out guitar slacking it’s way alongside a clip/clop beat. It pokes it’s head out to give us a little lazy riffage. Guitarist and singer Patrick Sullivan starts the song off with a mellow, almost pissy drawl. “Look out your window/look out at the clouds/look in your mirror/how you likey now?” It’s a weird lyric, but I like it because it’s so conversational. I’m also not looking for a lot out of the lyrics for my summer listening. They just need to sound good with the music and maybe make me nod my head in agreement with something goofy or slightly nostalgic. Heck, even downright stupid works for me if the hook is good enough.

The next verse lets you in on a little more of the conversation, “What’s up with Sadie?/Every time I’m lovin’ her/She wants to be First Lady/Expects me to be Govenor.” and then it falls into the rollicking chorus. “Having fun again/Yeaaaaaaaaaahhhhhh!/Having fun again/Clean fun again”. This song has the kind of chorus that lends itself well to lots of your pals singing along with a good buzz that you probably got from spiked lemonade.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. evmaroon permalink
    July 8, 2010 4:01 pm

    Just added it to my iPod — thanks, Poplife! You have an amazing ear.

  2. July 8, 2010 4:34 pm

    This is fantastic summery goodness. Something to make this heatwave more tolerable. Thank you, Spoon.

  3. July 8, 2010 8:08 pm

    Wow. To me, this song has a sort of end-of-jam-session vibe, where folks are getting ready to pack up and go, and then someone says, “Hey, wait, let’s mess around a bit more,” and everyone sits back down and cooks up a spontaneous little gem that leaves a nice afterglow for the ride home. Very cool choice, poplife!

  4. July 9, 2010 12:48 am

    @poplife Your picks are usually worth downloading and are always worth a listen!

  5. July 9, 2010 9:40 am

    Thanks guys! I highly reccommend checking out any and/or all of the Oakley Hall albums. Real quality tunes over 4 albums is no small feat these days. I am quite fond of these guys and gals. Haven’t been this excited about a guy/girl lead singer combo since Buckingham/Nicks and Exene/John.

  6. July 9, 2010 10:46 am

    This has been a more cranky heat wave for me this week, so I appreciate a bit of malaise in my lyrics too.

    And I LOVE those vocal combos too, they are rare (at least great ones!).

  7. July 9, 2010 3:30 pm

    You make me want to listen to things other than early 90s to early aughts hip hop and r&b. That’s an accomplishment, girl!

  8. July 10, 2010 8:57 pm

    Chicago has a bizmillion street festivals now, and the only ones I will visit in the heat are if The 1900s are playing — they are my favorite Chicago, Fleetwood Mac-inspired band….cause you know there are a bunch now.

  9. July 11, 2010 9:13 pm

    You had me at Fleetwood, Ray.

Leave a Reply

