Skip to content

5 Reasons Emmys Might Be Worth Watching This Year

July 8, 2010

Friday Night Lights

I stopped letting Emmy nods and wins dictate my viewing habits about a year before Homicide: Life on the Street acting powerhouse Andre Braugher finally earned an Emmy for his pitch perfect portrayal of Detective Frank Pembleton, who in my opinion is only surpassed by Detective Nick Yamana for greatest TV cop of all time. When Braugher gave his acceptance speech, he was far more gracious than I probably would have been, which I suppose is one of many reasons why he’s famous and I’m not. I saw the telecast and my joy was tempered with weariness. FIVE YEARS I had prayed, waited and hoped. FIVE YEARS I had been mocked, ignored and disappointed by Emmy voters who apparently didn’t have much use for quality acting. However, this year, things might be a little different…

1. Andre Braugher is FREAKING NOMINATED
Braugher is nominated in the best supporting drama category for his wonderfully studied performance as Owen Thoreau Jr. on TNT’s Men of a Certain Age. I caught a couple of episodes of the show, which is actually decent, and found Braugher’s performance riveting. He’s not doing a variation on any of his previous screen personalities. He’s playing an average dude, who’s adorable, not particularly confident – I didn’t know Braugher could do awkward so convincingly.

2. Kyle Chandler
I have long found Chandler’s erasure from the Emmys for his EXCEPTIONAL work on Friday Night Lights incomprehensible. Chandler is a solid actor – often in mediocre project – doing the kind of role on the kind of show that Emmy voters typically love. Chandler is basically Peter Krause in a less whiny and overly smug package. Friday Night Lights is a really satisfying show, on par with great under appreciated shows like I’ll Fly Away (though not as tediously EARNEST) and Picket Fences. I find Chandler utterly irresistible as Coach Taylor. How odd, I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned my love of FNL!

3. Nurse Jackie
Oh yes, Nurse Jackie is setting the profession (nursing) back like two hundred years, but at least we’re actually talking about a nurse outside his/her relationships to doctors. Nursing is its own world and it’s been a long ass time since Christina Pickles made me care about a fakey TV nurse – you know, besides Linda Klein. I am slowly warming to the show and appreciate how it challenges me. It’s also amusing to see another HBO series vet, who seemed doomed to forever be associated with one alter ego, quickly adopt another one. (Like that cat Dexter, who will always be David Fisher to me!).

4. The Glee Backlash is ahead of schedule
Nothing says, “prepare for the backlash” like being nominated for way too many awards – 19 to be exact. Couldn’t happen to a more well deserving show. Let the cries of, “I never liked that overhyped show!” begin.

5. Dame Judi! Maggie Smith!
This seems fairly self explanatory. My ladies got some well deserved nods for their small screen performances. Even if they don’t win, their presence at the ceremony mitigate some of the cheese factor. That’s my hope. The Emmys are a terribly cheesy affair – the JV Awards Banquet of self congratulatory ceremonies.

You can check out all the nominations here.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. evmaroon permalink
    July 8, 2010 11:39 pm

    Excellent overview of what may be the most interesting Emmys in years. And I even like the choice of MC.

  2. July 9, 2010 12:30 am

    @evmaroon I have to disagree with you on the hosting chores. But I will reserve the right to be overtly critical of Fallon until I actually see what he does or hear who is writing the show.

    But as for the nominations: it’s a low down dirty shame Andre Braugher was never nominated in a lead, and I’ll leave that comment right where it is. Kyle Chandler really was the reason that ridiculous “Early Edition” show ran more than 5 episodes (and it ran for 90!) I should probably talk about that genre of entertainment at some point also… And it is funny how HBO’s former supporting cast are turning up on Showtime in their own shows. Maybe when Larry David runs out of steam, Jeff Garlin with do some sort of Crime Drama on Sho.

    The problem with the backlash for Glee is it won’t happen this year. They’ll likely win the bulk of the noms they got, it being TV’s most original show, so they’ll probably take all of the big prizes. But then, like “Lost,” they might not even make it to the ceremony the following year. I guess we’ll see.

    Culture, class and sophistication. These are not words you associate with prime time television. And with Jimmy Fallon as MC… oh, right. I really can’t say anything about that. Yet.

  3. July 9, 2010 1:33 am

    But what if we really never did like Glee? I mean I get the backlash thing and all, but there seems to be this total disbelief that anyone could actually dislike the show. It’s as if any dislike is perceived as willful contrariness. But it’s honestly just a little too saccharin for me.

    That being said, I have missed out on having normally functioning cable for the last year and I have not gotten to watch some of these other shows that I have heard so many good things about, like Nurse Jackie. Yay for TV on DVD though!

  4. July 9, 2010 6:24 am

    But what if we really never did like Glee? I mean I get the backlash thing and all, but there seems to be this total disbelief that anyone could actually dislike the show. It’s as if any dislike is perceived as willful contrariness. But it’s honestly just a little too saccharin for me.

    Hi, have we met? Besides that whole Brooklyn dude bidness, why weren’t we best friend like 10 years ago!!!

    Also, count me as another sans cable. The interwebz is my TV!

    But as for the nominations: it’s a low down dirty shame Andre Braugher was never nominated in a lead, and I’ll leave that comment right where it is. Kyle Chandler really was the reason that ridiculous “Early Edition” show ran more than 5 episodes (and it ran for 90!) I should probably talk about that genre of entertainment at some point also… And it is funny how HBO’s former supporting cast are turning up on Showtime in their own shows. Maybe when Larry David runs out of steam, Jeff Garlin with do some sort of Crime Drama on Sho.

    Chandler is one of those stalwart actors folks won’t realize is valuable until it’s much too late. He’s consistently good, engaging and technically proficient. I find him quite enjoyable to watch and like James Pickens Jr, Chandler’s involvement in a project means I’ll give it immediate serious consideration.

    Ev, are you surprised that Grey’s didn’t get any attention for its season finale or the fine work Wilson and Oh have done all year. I’m glad that Heigl is gone. Here’s hoping with the controversial cast members out of the pictures the remaining cast members will get some well deserved attention.

  5. evmaroon permalink
    July 9, 2010 8:38 am

    Let me start off by saying that I think Fallon’s late night show has finally started to get funny. But I acknowledge that I may just be reacting to the fly-infested pile of shit that Leno has become, and I’m very glad that Conan O’Brien got the nod from the Emmys. He may cherish that trophy, if he wins it, like nothing else—be prepared to see him wearing it like jewelry a la Flava Flav.

    I was surprised that Grey’s didn’t get any attention, yes, and I was pulling for folks like Sara Ramirez and especially James Pickens, Jr. What he did with alcoholism and strength this season was really incredible. And yes, I really am surprised that neither Oh or Wilson got a nomination. I wish Heigl well on her awful string of romantic comedies until she strategically decides to stop acting.

  6. July 9, 2010 9:38 am

    I don’t watch enough T.V. to really comment much, as I looked at the list and didn’t recognize 90% of it yesterday. However, I will just say that I was surprised that Parks and Recreation didn’t get many nods (outside of Amy Poehler who deserves it).

  7. July 9, 2010 10:43 am

    I’ve never been that interested in the Emmy noms, but this year might be the year that changes my opinion, since I’ve started watching more TV.

    I agree with Chriso about Glee. I just never got into it, and people get righteously offended when I say “Meh, it’s not for me.” SHOCK! HORROR! A MILLION SOULS SCREAMING, THEN SILENCED AT ONCE!

    I’m glad that Tony Shalhoub got nominated… I thought the final season of Monk was great… a little hokey at the end, but not the bad kind of hoke. And hooray for the Modern Family love!

    And God, I hope “The Man Your Man Could Smell Like” wins the Best Commercial award.

  8. July 9, 2010 10:51 am

    I’m so excited for Friday Night Lights getting nominated, I’m going to wear my Panthers football t-shirt I found on clearance at Target during the telecast!

  9. July 9, 2010 10:53 am

    Also, I appreciate how you spun the Glee nominations into something positive.

  10. July 9, 2010 3:34 pm

    I never watch award shows anymore. I get tired of watching people breaking their arms to pat themselves on the back. That said, it sounds like some decent people got nominated this year, so there’s that.

    Whatever happened to the cable ACE awards? Ha.

  11. July 9, 2010 4:23 pm

    @evmaroon Fallon has improved, but he had to improve. He just seems like a parody of a talk show, and not the way Letterman was parodying the form back when he was at the 12:30 timeslot. Really, we’re beyond “on the job training” when it comes to this. Thanks for making me remember another area I’ll have to discuss this fall, when Conan returns to Late Night. Now that Heigl is gone, maybe I can bring myself to watch Grey’s again…

    @poplife I really can’t stand P&R, and Poehler’s nom is proof of what she brings to a show that, at least to me… and maybe to the TV Academy also, really ain’t all that.

    @Tasha Fierce Award shows are totally backwards! It’s supposed to be about the nominees and their moment to thank everyone. Instead, they get 30 seconds to sum up, in some cases, a lifetime of acting to get to that point! Instead, we get the nonsensical pairings of unlikely people presenting categories they know nothing about, reading bad jokes from teleprompters and leaving no time for a proper speech! Just give me the list, youtube me the best moments and I’m outta there!

  12. July 9, 2010 6:30 pm

    Instead, we get the nonsensical pairings of unlikely people presenting categories they know nothing about, reading bad jokes from teleprompters and leaving no time for a proper speech! Just give me the list, youtube me the best moments and I’m outta there!

    I wish they could strike a balance between witticism and respectfulness. They usually go too far in one direction, resulting in some terribly painful viewing.

    I do not care for this Jimmy Fallon person. I do not find him funny at all. Are there any funny people on broadcast television anymore. Bring back, Lucille Bluth!

  13. July 10, 2010 4:29 am

    I’ve only seen Jimmy Fallon a few times back when he was an SNL regular, and I never liked him there. He just didn’t have the talent. His main assets were energy, enthusiasm, and a willingness to do anything. And like plenty of other SNL alums, he’s been able to build a career out of little more than that.

  14. tanyadiva permalink
    July 10, 2010 6:11 am

    Aaron Paul FTW!!

    like that will happen…..

Leave a Reply

