Skip to content

Your Friday Five: #8

July 2, 2010

Paintings with dark colors

Oh snap, time to rethink that painting of blue cows eating fried chicken.

  • There’s an App for that! Coinciding with his current retrospective at LACMA, John Baldessari has released a new iPhone/iPad app that allows  you to rearrange and toy with the classic still life, Banquet Still Life, to create your own work of art. Baldessari sez, “It’s not mine. It’s theirs. Still lifes are about the fleeting things in life. Each object has a symbolic meaning.”
  • Image via Flavorwire

    I like that John has always been about jamming the culture of “art” and allowing users to futz with a stone cold classic is pretty damn awesome in my opinion. I’ve always felt that the art world’s major flaw was that most museum art is stationary and rarely travels, unlike music or films which can be viewed/heard over and over and over almost instantly and anywhere. This makes the experience of most art unavailable to the general population. While Baldessari’s app still doesn’t compare to seeing art face to face, I LOVE that you can interact with a painting and think about it’s construction, it’s symbolism. It’s fun and it brings art to a larger audience. Well, sort of. In the end, not everyone can afford an iPhone or an iPad, and while you can make your own on the official site, this is not something that is readily available to all. I don’t have the answer to what kind of art that will ever be, but it’s something to think about.

  • A few weeks back, Rick Moody wrote a very nice piece about a song by the wonderful Jolie Holland.

    Old cars, backlighting, and redheads.

    An earnest and heartfelt essay on how he fell in love with her song, “Mexican Blue”. Cool and all, but the best part is, that a fab little conversation about music, music criticism, and “genre” has popped up in the comments between Jolie herself and Rick. Wanna hear the song? Check out the fan video below: 

  • Speaking of fan videos, my old pal Mike from the Bay Area made this awesomely cheesetastic fan video for the new Ariel Pink and Haunted Graffitti song, “Round and Round”. Awesome use of the amazingly bad Travolta/Lee-Curtis film about doing Aerobics, Perfect. May be NSFW if your place of business frowns upon lots of sweaty hard-bodies and excessive thrusting movements.
  • I spent the better part of the evening earlier this week blowing over 20 bucks in quarters on pinball. Not a single penny was wasted. My hand-eye coordination was put to the test, and I got to peruse an entire floor of bitchin’ machines with great backboard art.

    Is this what Canonball Run on piles of cocaine is like?

    Almost all of the games that Doug Watson has designed boards for were on this floor! I love his rendering of a suave, shiny Alec Baldwin as The Shadow. Look at his work here.

  • From the “This is Why I Love the Internet” department: Dolly Parton has her own Youtube channel/Video diary.

    Insert your favorite Steel Magnolias quote here.

    The first thing out of her mouth is, “It’s the Fourth of Joooleye!” I’m sorry, but, DOLLY PARTON HAS HER OWN VIDEO DIARY. I didn’t know it, but I’ve been waiting for this my whole life. Dolly is an American Treasure (I am not doing some ironic hipster bullshit here, I am dead serious.) She is one of the greatest American songwriters and she is a champion for equality. This is the best thing that could happen to me on the 4th. Dolly is what I want America to be like in my heart. I will be throwing lots of Dolly on the platter this weekend. Amen.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2010 1:22 pm

    1) Dolly is my hero. Love the Dolly.
    2) I like that John has always been about jamming the culture of “art” and allowing users to futz with a stone cold classic is pretty damn awesome in my opinion. I’ve always felt that the art world’s major flaw was that most museum art is stationary and rarely travels, unlike music or films which can be viewed/heard over and over and over almost instantly and anywhere. This makes the experience of most art unavailable to the general population.

    Is about the coolest thing I’ve read about art stuffs in a while. One thing I do miss about living in Los Angeles is the access to art that doesn’t involve Wyeth-esque scenes of Vermont redundancy. I like Wyeth, and I even occasionally like Vermont redundancy, but variety would be lovely as well.

    3) Rick Moody! That was awesome.

    4) The redhead/old car thing made me think of the photographs “Clair Fisher” used to take of HERSELF and submit in class on Six Feet Under.

    5) As always, this is post is a work of art. Friday Five is always worth the wait.

  2. July 2, 2010 1:30 pm

    omg, I JUST discovered the movie Perfect this week when a friend on facebook shared an original clip:

    I like the sexier version you posted though.

    And that Dolly Parton video blog…..I feel the same way. I didn’t know how much I needed and wanted it until I hit play.

  3. July 2, 2010 1:35 pm

    Oh. My. Goodness. And folks wonder how rumors get started. I can’t begin to process this clip from Perfect. Did Travolta’s crotch get its own billing?

  4. July 2, 2010 1:36 pm

    @Snarky: Oh my god, it does look like a Clair Fisher self-portrait! I really do need to re-watch 6FU. It’s been too long.

    L.A. really did have amazing art access. I miss that too.

    @raymond: Are you doing head-rolls and leg-lifts now? I know I am. Damn, get a cup Travolta! Hopefully this video becomes viral and hipsters start wearing cut-off turqouise t-shirts and unit-revealing short-shorts.

  5. July 2, 2010 1:41 pm

    um, come to Chicago next week and I will take you to a show where I can guarantee some queer hipsters will be wearing that exact outfit.

  6. July 2, 2010 1:44 pm

    Here is the Baldessari Still Life I made:
    my Banquet Still Life

    @Raymond. Oh dear…. I suspected this had already happened. I suppose I should blame American Apparel.

  7. July 2, 2010 1:59 pm

    @raymond: Are you doing head-rolls and leg-lifts now? I know I am. Damn, get a cup Travolta! Hopefully this video becomes viral and hipsters start wearing cut-off turqouise t-shirts and unit-revealing short-shorts.

    Ha. Seriously.

  8. evmaroon permalink
    July 2, 2010 6:36 pm

    Ah, whenever I think of Dolly I think of her roping up Dabney Coleman in 9 to 5.

  9. July 6, 2010 8:48 am

    I just want to say, I had a really great fourth of july weekend in the woods of Wisconsin, and I directly credit listening to Dolly’s video blog right before leaving town.

Leave a Reply

