Skip to content

The Massive Music Battle

June 28, 2010

Tonight my SO and I decided to attack each other with music. Some of it is good, some of it is bad, and most of it made me giggle with the hairstyles. Midway through the 2.5 hour long barrage o’ sound, I thought “HEY! This could be a fun post on FRY BUTT!!!!”

Then I played the video for “Against All Odds” and my computer crashed. I’m not sure if it was the Phil Collins, the young The Dude, or the combination of it that was too much for my poor Adrienne Barbeaubot. But here are some highlights.

Top Gun Anthem by Harold Faltermeyer and Steve Stevens

This is the song that started the whole evening. My comment was “…it’s the same 12 notes played in different keys….” while his was “His hair looked like that on purpose…did he graverob Louis XIV for that hair?!”

Irgendwie, Irgendwo, Irgendwann by Nena

I can’t remember ever not loving Nena, and this song makes me do my “happy head bounce” and give singing in German my best shot (which, even though I’ve sung classical/art songs in German, really involves me making gross sounds in the back of my throat).

Mouth by Merril Bainbridge

Oh, I remember feeling so delightfully naughty whenever I listened to this song.

Crush by Jennifer Paige

His comment: “Wow…I forgot this song even existed, yet I know all the words. What the hell is wrong with me.”

When The Lights Go Out by 5ive

God, I loved this song… but not as much as I loved….

Back For Good by Take That

I remember this song came out when I had a huuuuuge thing for a guy in one of my classes, and I’d listen to my taped-off-the-radio cassette copy of this over and over and over. I was channelling my inner Olivia Newton John “Hopelessly Devoted To You” with this song. Minus the wandering around in a nightgown, dissolving a letter in a water feature thing. 

The night ended with me playing “Wind Beneath My Wings” and doing my best FauxQueen Bette Midler impersonation. And then I was RickRolled. Such is life (which reminds me, “C’est La Vie” by B*Witched was on my list of songs…good stuff). Also, I will be going on a much needed vacation with my best girlfriends in about a week, and I’m fairly certain a karaoke bar will come into the equation, so I am now armed with suitable grooves.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2010 7:52 am

    Forget buzzing that tower, Maverick. Someone needs to buzz Stevens’ hair!

  2. tanyadiva permalink
    June 29, 2010 8:16 am

    I am ashamed….to liking that Take That song. Robbie Williams, you were “the bad dancer.” Bring it back!

  3. Alyx Vesey permalink
    June 29, 2010 10:24 am

    Oh, Take That and Jennifer Paige. Those take me back. Hadn’t heard any other Nena song besides “the hit,” though, so I appreciated that.

  4. June 29, 2010 11:52 am

    I love that Jennifer Paige song! This was so great. A few of these tunes I haven’t heard of or heard in years. Thank you for this post!!!

  5. July 1, 2010 6:39 pm

    I guess this is where I come out of the closet of loving that Jennifer Paige song. Ain’t no shame in my game!

  6. July 1, 2010 9:31 pm

    I’ve discovered more people who love that Jennifer Paige song… it’s amazing! Tons of “WHOA! THIS SONG!”

    I love Take That…. between Robbie Williams’ bad dancing and the dude with the big fuzzy hat, it’s music video gold!

  7. July 6, 2010 5:00 pm

    I forgot to say, but my friend Randy and I used to do battling ipods, all evening over a bottle (or two) of wine and I LOVED it. I feel a bit like that game is also what is happening in my post today, everyone is posting such great songs!

Leave a Reply

