Skip to content

Your Friday Five #7: Art-tastic

June 25, 2010
by

“Paint me something that looters will hold hostage.”


  • Beard vs. Crystal Gayle Hair: Round 1 (photo from NYT online)

    The New York Times published an article a few weeks back about the author’s experience at a performance art piece held inside the MoMA as part of a retrospective on Marina Abramovic. The article also pondered a bit on the notion of performance art’s place within a museum and the challenges it faces (“Oh shit, we can’t hang this on a wall.”). Which is all fine and well, but to me the writing is a bit… er… boring. I understand. Writing about art, especially from the point of view of one’s own experience, is hard. Really hard. Just like tattoos, frapuccinos, and underwear, personal experiences of art is varied. And well, personal. It can be easy to let your ego take control of the ship and then that boat is way out to sea. The author, Arthur C. Danto does a pretty good job of balancing his experience with the hard facts and observation, but it just left me a little cold. The best part is the comments. They predictably fall into the “What Is Art?” hole. However I feel pretty good knowing that people still get really fired up about this stuff (see the quote in italics at the top. Passionately melodramatic and overstated.) Go to a damn museum. Go to a gallery. Get into heated arguments and then go eat a sandwich. It’s a good way to spend an afternoon.

  • I am dying to see Radiant Child, the documentary on Jean-Michel Basquiat. And just like it’s subject, it’s a little mysterious and hard to pin down. Where the hell is this screening? Why can’t I watch it right now?
  • Want. So bad.

    Check out this totally bitchin’ gallery of vintage art supplies and crayons on Flickr. Thank you, Mr. Christian Montone for sharing this wonderful bit of nostalgia, art/design pr0n. He’s got a bunch of other fabulous galleries and collections to peruse as well. (The Vintage Times Square and NY ones are pretty fab as well)

  • Dang, doesn’t that make you want to MAKE SOME STUFF? It doesn’t have to be “art” (as you can see from the comments on the NYTs article). How about your own BBQ? Or a tennis ball can opener? Or a chair? Maybe these sites can help: Instructables. Ready Made. Craftzine. Makezine.
  • Nah, I can’t not do a music post in the Friday Five. Here’s some Crocodiles videos because I just recently stumbled onto these guys and fell in love. I can’t get “I Wanna Kill Tonight” out of my head. It’s like that worm that Khan puts in Chekov’s ear.  Here’s an acoustic version too. I am sorta obsessed and I think I’m gonna go drink cheap beer and see them tomorrow night.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2010 11:43 am

    I find Marina Abramovic to be pretty fascinating. Apparently (I read this in the New Yorker so I know it’s accurate reporting) she is planning her funeral as her final performance piece, to be held simultaneously in Belgrade, Amsterdam and New York. With three coffins, only one of which will actually contain her remains. That’ll keep people talking.

  2. June 25, 2010 12:03 pm

    I like her. She always presents her works in ways that are quite straightforward and not overly involved or too much about process. The pieces are balanced. She gives away enough to be a responsible artist and communicator, but not so much that she’s preaching or guiding the viewer. She opens the door and the rest is up to you.

  3. June 25, 2010 2:10 pm

    I am dying to see, Radiant Child, the documentary on Jean-Michel Basquiat. And just like it’s subject, it’s a little mysterious and hard to pin down. Where the hell is this screening? Why can’t I watch it right now?

    I totally want to see this too. The movie, despite Jeffrey Wright’s sublime performance, left me wanting more information.

  4. June 25, 2010 3:01 pm

    Jeffrey Wright was amazing in Basquiat. I actually like that movie a lot even though it’s a little 2 dimensional. I really thought Schnabel would fuck it up. I mean, he does have Oldman portraying him (Schnable) as a bit of a white knight and that’s hard to take knowing who is behind the camera, but it’s a good movie. It’s dangerous territory to make a movie about an artist who is a junkie. I like that he was portrayed as a flawed human instead of a drugged-up-angsty-asshole-artist. Actually, all of the performances are pretty great. Bowie as Warhol and Michael Wincot as Rene Ricard. Hopper! DaFoe!

  5. June 25, 2010 3:14 pm

    Michael Wincot

    He’s the go to actor for bringing gravitas to artist/musician bio-pics. He did some fine work in The Doors too.

    I hear you on Julian S. I was nervous about the film because I don’t tend to like Julian as a person, but I do find his aesthetic choices to be quite inspired. That’s really annoying.

  6. June 27, 2010 11:53 pm

    The design of those vintage art supplies is excellent. I love how they’re all retro (because they are actually old). I don’t paint but I’d buy that box at a yard sale if I saw it.

Leave a Reply

