Skip to content

Happy Birthday, Sir Cute One

June 18, 2010

Sir Paul McCartney – a.k.a P-Mac – celebrates a birthday today. He’s not my favorite Beatle – George is – but he sure is adorable!

Jet
Oh this is my jam. I do this often at karaoke. I thought the only lonely place was on the moon… I’m not saying Wings are better than The Beatles – though I have certainly made that fatuous claim in the past – but I am saying I like their songs way more!

My Brave Face from Flowers in the Dirt
P-Mac sounding like Elvis Costello (Costello) produced Flowers in the Dirt) is not a bad thing at all. Ironically, the video’s plot bares an uncanny resemblance to the Stigwood cheesefest Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band: The Movie!.

Momma Miss America from McCartney
This is probably at the top or at least number two. It’s all funky, but it’s no…

Daytime Nighttime Suffering
P-Mac pumping the booty shaker. Going disco is another favorite musical genre of mine!

Goodnight Tonight
This track always makes me so happy. It’s the bassline. Funky! Also, it’s one of his best songs. It also has bitchin’ laser noises.

No More Lonely Nights
Ahhh, the brilliant track from the much maligned 80s Xanadu wannabe film Give My Regards to Broad Street. I can’t remember if it was Dave Barry or someone else, but I often quote, “You don’t need to play that record backwards to know that Paul’s career is dead.” Oh. Snap. Still the song is wonderful.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2010 7:54 pm

    …On Ice!

  2. June 19, 2010 12:16 am

    I love Give My Regards to Broad Street, which I may be the only person who’s ever seen it. Other than my Beatles BFF Britney, from the 7th grade, that is. I think my favorite Paul songs are “Uncle Albert/Admiral Halsey”:

    And any song in which he screams (Oh Darling! and Maybe I’m Amazed come to mind immediately).

  3. June 19, 2010 7:58 am

    Sir Paul is definitely a wine that got more interesting with age. Wonderful post, Snarky’s!

  4. tanyadiva permalink
    June 20, 2010 11:28 am

    Coming up! If you can’t sing along to that in the car, you’re dead inside.

Leave a Reply

