Skip to content

Thursday Thunder Road

June 17, 2010

And for my 19th birthday/ I got a Union Card and a wedding coat

This has been a sorta crappy week for me. I’m done with it. Send it back. Can I get a do-over? Anyhow, I’m feeling pretty melodramatic, so I wanted some melodramatic Bruce to fit my mood. In the grand tradition of the shotgun-wedding or getting-kicked-out-the-house-for-loving-the-bad-boy/getting-kicked-out-the-house-for-loving-the-bad-boy-AND-getting preggers-by-him song(see “I Can Never Go Home Anymore” by the Shangri-La’s, “They Don’t Know” by the late, great Kirsty MacColl, “Why Don’t They Let Us Fall In Love?” by the Ronettes, and “He’s A Rebel” by the Crystals) the Boss presents “The River” in which our protagonist get’s his lady friend in the family way and can’t just screw around anymore. Time to grow up and buy things for the baby, but oh crap, the economy is in the toilet and I can’t get a job. OH THE DRAMA. Love it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2010 12:56 pm

    You know if you mention Kirsty MacColl (the great and fabulous and much missed) what happens next…

    I fix the cable!

    I think the fourth season opening of SATC is one of my faves because of its use of this song, which I LOVE.

  2. June 18, 2010 3:26 pm

    Yes! They actually used it really well. I usually get all pissed and miffed when tv/movies use songs I like (even if I like that movie/tv show) because so many times the song gets treated like an afterthought or a music video advertisement. But SATC used it really effectively.

    There is still scandal surrounding her death too!

  3. June 18, 2010 4:29 pm

    I know. Why won’t those folks PAY UP! She’s a supermom. What a rare treasure. I can’t believe the fail on the part of all those people. Seriously, the fall guy got paid to take the fall. I followed this story for a long time and I have waited for something GOOD to come of this – widespread acclaim for her tremendous talent, justice for her loved ones and someone to do a fantastic biopic of her.

Leave a Reply

