Skip to content
14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2010 11:48 am

    My favorites are anything by a boy band, who try desperately to evoke good old-school stuff; specifically, “I’ll Never Break Your Heart” by the Backstreet Boys. Ahhh, I love a good bit o’ queso dripped all over my music.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ekL1HzsX99Y (it won’t let me embed it)

  2. raymondj permalink
    June 15, 2010 11:51 am

    yes!! another good category!

  3. raymondj permalink
    June 15, 2010 11:52 am

    omg, I can’t believe I left out this, in the category of “Talking Before the Bridge”:

    “Girl, I’ve been watching you.”

    I will walk into karaoke bar in any corner of the world and sing this song cold.

  4. unscrambled1 permalink
    June 15, 2010 11:56 am

    This post is enough to force me to figure out how to get all of my music on my current computer. Because, as you know, I can discuss Bobby Womack at length. My personal choice for Bobby’s talking is his rendition of “Close To You,” because not only is it some massive crap talking about the record industry, and being commercial, and and and, but it is a lovely rendition of a song that many might deride as corny. That makes a cover great, I think–the ability to make you appreciate something you didn’t really think that you liked. (see also: The Delfonics covering “Scarborough Fair”)

    Anyhow: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MAo2WJT-r1s

  5. raymondj permalink
    June 15, 2010 12:05 pm

    thank you, thank you — I know that Delfonics cover, but hadn’t heard Bobby’s version of Close To You! it is, in a word, powerful.

  6. June 15, 2010 1:08 pm

    You read my mind, Ray, I wanna shake you down.

  7. June 15, 2010 2:27 pm

    Um, you had me at, “Because, as you know, I can discuss Bobby Womack at length.”

    hello.

    My favorite “song with talking in it:

  8. June 15, 2010 2:50 pm

    My favorite in this genre will always be General Norman Johnson’s “Patches” (recorded by the Chairmen of the Board). Here’s a live version:

    “Then one day the rains came, and washed all the crops away…”

  9. irishup permalink
    June 15, 2010 3:15 pm

    If it’s really the good old days, I gotta go with Big Bopper doing “Chantilly Lace”:

    My crush on Robbie Robertson is now in it’s third decade, so a little “… Crazy River ” is in order:

  10. June 15, 2010 3:35 pm

    @Snarky, Barry White might need his own practicum. Same with Womack.

    @redlami, I only knew of the Clarence Carter version!

    @irishup, I also had “Leader of the Pack” in my notes for this lecture, but they got cut. I love 60s talking songs too! That’s another lecture.

  11. June 15, 2010 5:01 pm

    My favorite talking during the song song is “You Can Never Go Home Anymore” by The Shangri-La’s. It’s soooooo DRAMA. I love how she starts howling “MOMMMMA!” at the end.

    Other great talkies from The Shangri-La’s: “Leader of the Pack”, “Sophisticated Boom Boom”, “Remember (Walking in the Sand)”, and of course, “Give Him A Great Big Kiss” which includes the best words ever uttered to start a song, “When I say I’m in love, you best believe I’m in love, L-U-V.”

  12. unscrambled1 permalink
    June 15, 2010 5:07 pm

    @Snarky’s, you definitely can’t overlook the classics. Oh, Barry White.

    @redlami (and Raymond)–the Clarence Carter version is so good! Also, you are the second person I’ve seen mention the Chairman today, which perhaps deserves My Attention.

    Actually, Clarence Carter deserves his own space too–if only because of the incredible renown of “Strokin,” (and that Santa song, whatever it was) and the relative obscurity of so much of the rest of what he did. Weird Dude.

    Here’s the Clarence Carter, scored by WoW. Um, ok.

  13. June 15, 2010 5:41 pm

    Clarence Carter did Backdoor Santa!! I don’t think I need to say what it was about. I might still have it on vinyl somewhere in storage. That WoW video is mesmerizing and makes my stomach hurt a little.

    @p0plife, oh! Give Him A Great Big Kiss! yes, I agree, that is the best opening line.

  14. June 16, 2010 1:58 pm

    This is my favorite song with talking in it:

Leave a Reply

