Skip to content

Summer Television Romance

June 14, 2010

With the networks – save TNT and premium channels – on summer hiatus, add some of these titles to your queue and fall in love with some forgotten television classics.

The Powers of Matthew Star
Prince E’Hawke – known on earth as the titular Matthew Star – hails from Quadris and hangs out with Lou Gossett Jr. TPoMS is a sci-fi action show and cheesy to boot.

Moonlighting
If the seductive, jazzy theme song doesn’t hook you, then the amusing, repetitive banter between David and Maddie just might. Actually, the first couple of seasons are pretty hilarious.

Happy Days
Stick with the first three seasons, which strictly adhere to the era and American Graffiti-esque nostalgia. Highlights include Richie and Warren (Potsie) sneaking into a burlesque show to see the incomparable Bubbles McCall, Fonzie being engaged to the “Lone Stripper” and Stan Zbornak burglarizing the Cunningham home thwarting Richie, Ralph and Potsie’s plan to watch skin flicks ordered through the mail.

Perry Mason
Ahhh, Raymond Purrrrrr! Summer just isn’t summer without watching a couple of hours of Mason getting hotheaded smug murderers to confess to their crimes at the pretrial hearing, during an innocent cross examination and while in defense of his own client – usually a relative or close friend – who was actually accused of the crime.

Quincy M.E.
Who doesn’t love a show centering on a medical examiner who always makes time for the ladies?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2010 2:42 am

    YouTube is going to start charging us we use it so much. Ha. Excellent post, Ms. Machine. *drops flowers*

  2. June 14, 2010 12:10 pm

    I used to love Moonlighting… one of my favorite parts of the show was any scene featuring Agnes DiPesto (Allyce Beasley), introduced here, looking a little “pail” (groan).

  3. June 14, 2010 1:33 pm

    I always enjoyed Maddie and David’s call and response arguments. It was like going to church. Testify.

    I never tire of the look on Richie’s face when Ralph falls out of the car while making out with that chick. It cracks me up big time.

    Quincy is so boss! Solving crimes, hollering at brass and wooing the ladies. It just doesn’t get much better or more deliciously cheesy.

    Raymond Purrr had more talent in his perpetually raised eyebrow than most TV actors have in their entire bodies.

  4. June 14, 2010 2:43 pm

    Snarky’s, you’re the only person I know under the age of 50 who has ever had any interest in the Perry Mason TV show.

  5. June 14, 2010 2:50 pm

    Redlami: it’s such a great show! I almost never figure out the killer and am SHOCKED when someone bit player blurts out a confession and gives all the juicy details! I bet Perry takes them as clients and gets their pretrial confession thrown out, thus they are acquitted.

  6. June 14, 2010 3:07 pm

    Oh my gosh. Perry Mason was the summer show of my younger years! I’d spend the summer at my grandmother’s house and we’d eat lunch and watch Perry Mason and Matlock, then all of the afternoon game shows on USA. I have the entirety of Perry Mason on DVD, I think. It’s also one of those awesome shows that does Hair Hue Color Coding, which I love.

  7. June 14, 2010 3:39 pm

    Oh my gosh. Perry Mason was the summer show of my younger years! I’d spend the summer at my grandmother’s house and we’d eat lunch and watch Perry Mason and Matlock, then all of the afternoon game shows on USA. I have the entirety of Perry Mason on DVD, I think. It’s also one of those awesome shows that does Hair Hue Color Coding, which I love.

    Yes on all counts! My grandmother also loves this show and is largely the reason for me loving the show. And LOL at “Hair Hue Color Coding”.

  8. June 14, 2010 3:41 pm

    Let’s not forgot you can do a mean Bubbles McCall bump-n-grind to Perry Mason theme.

  9. June 14, 2010 4:12 pm

    My Mom is allllll about some Quincy M.E. That and the Rockford Files!

    My summer viewing has always been whatever was on syndication on Fox because it was all my shitty tv got on the antena and we didn’t have cable.

  10. June 14, 2010 8:51 pm

    “Moonlighting” was the reason my homework was rushed and sloppy every Wednesday morning, because I would never miss that show at 9 pm on Tuesday. Even those damn reruns would keep me captivated, and I’d catch a lot of the double entendres that flew past me the first time. Maddie and David had the best love-hate chemistry around. And the whole series behaved as if no one had ever said, “You can’t do that.” Breaking the fourth wall, switching to black and white 1940’s style for an episode, putting a six-minute dance number to Billy Joel in the middle of “Big Man on Mulberry Street”, and of course “Atomic Shakespeare”, which I still can’t believe they pulled off. It sucks how the show went into a tailspin after Maddie and David eventually Did It. She became a flake and he became an asshole, and they never got that chemistry back. But while it lasted, it was a trip and a half.

    Oh, and I can’t leave out Miss DiPesto. Rocking the faded pastels, flashing those brown eyes the size of dinner plates, and loyally holding together an office always on the verge of flying apart. No one can be polite under pressure like our Agnes:

    “If I may be so bold/
    I’d like to put you on hold.”

Leave a Reply

