Skip to content

Amen, Brother Herbert: The Price is Right Musical Cues

June 12, 2010

Once in Ikea La Mommie dissuaded me from bedroom suites of wildly inappropriate (read: overpriced) furnishings merely by making sad trombones/TPIR fail horns. It was quite effective. When I finally happened upon a white modular set, she posed like a Barker beauty, modeling the furnishings while The Price is Right theme played in my head.

This will shock few, but I hear TPIR musical cues in my head ALL THE TIME. Here are the ones I most often hear.

Come on Down
I tend to hear this whenever I exit a store and am in search of my car in the parking lot. It make an otherwise unremarkable event kind of exciting. And let’s face it, it’s always nice to find your car hasn’t been dinged, stolen or towed.

Dig We Must
Don’t act like you don’t know! When shit is good and the living is easy this is the theme. Scored an “A” – DIG WE MUST! Celebrate the moments of your life with a little Showcase Showdown pricing music.

Consolation Prize
This cue captures that middle emotion between “Dig We Must” and “Fail Horns”. Its sweet, melodic ambivalence is also good at evoking Turtlewax car products and Bounty paper towels. Or really unexciting dates. Contestants not appearing on stage…

Every Room in the House
Don’t let the smooth taste fool you. You’re gonna wanna PASS on whatever’s being offered when you hear this cue. Be it on the show or in life. Unless horrible Ashley Furniture is your cup of tea.

Car Cue
Whenever La Mommie says I can drive her whip, I totally bounce to the car hearing this song. Sometimes I even play it on the stereo. Steel belted radials, rack-n-pinion steering and California emissions, baby!

IUFB Cue 86
I hear this whenever I walk down the Health & Beauty aisle, taking note of the price of Crest or Dove bodywash.

The Cats
This is definitely good coupon sorting music, particularly if there is a long line of anxious shoppers behind you at the checkout.

Amen, Brother Herbert
I hear “Lawn Furniture” or “Boats” whenever this theme drifts into my head.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2010 10:48 am

    An impressive collection of incidentals. Of course, TPIR also utilized a few others like the actual title theme from Richard Dawson’s “Family Feud,” which I always enjoyed, because it seemed to mean that that other game show was a mere pretender to the Bob Barker throne!

    And speaking of that, I have to feel somewhat sorry for Drew Carey, having to follow Barker’s act. By the time Barker got TPIR, he had been hosting game shows for DECADES, so he had a lot of experience in dealing with the madness and mayhem of contestants on this show. Drew did “Whose Line Is It Anyway” for about, what? 5 seasons? And he was dealing with pro comics, not manic civilians who slept in the parking lot at the Farmer’s Market adjacent to Television City to try to play Plinko! Hardly fair, I think.

    But back to the music: Robert Israel is a big name in game show themes especially for the Goodson/Todman group, because he wrote the themes to Price is Right, Family Feud AND Match Game, and I suspect he wrote the bulk of the rest of the music you hear on TPIR!

    Edd Kalehoff is in there too, just to distribute the composing props around!

    I think they used to credit the music to “Score Productions,” Israel’s production house. And if you’re up for it and have a hour or so to kill: you really should go here:

    http://www.tvmusicmuseum.com/documents/90.html

    And just play the track samples of all of the stuff that “Score” produced… I think you’ll especially appreciate their work from the 1970s, which, based on the tracking, suggests they probably could have worked on “Barnaby Jones,” “Cannon” and others of the Quinn Martin variety. I mean, how can you not love a song titled “Bicentennial Funk?!” For PASSWORD, no less!

  2. June 13, 2010 4:30 am

    An impressive collection of incidentals. Of course, TPIR also utilized a few others like the actual title theme from Richard Dawson’s “Family Feud,” which I always enjoyed, because it seemed to mean that that other game show was a mere pretender to the Bob Barker throne!

    That always made me laugh. I thought I was the only person who realized this (back before the internet was for use for anything other than pr0n). Family Feud wasn’t really a game show the way TPIR was. It was more about Richard Dawson. He was the show. He was more entertaining than the families and their patently ridiculous answers.

    And speaking of that, I have to feel somewhat sorry for Drew Carey, having to follow Barker’s act. By the time Barker got TPIR, he had been hosting game shows for DECADES, so he had a lot of experience in dealing with the madness and mayhem of contestants on this show. Drew did “Whose Line Is It Anyway” for about, what? 5 seasons? And he was dealing with pro comics, not manic civilians who slept in the parking lot at the Farmer’s Market adjacent to Television City to try to play Plinko! Hardly fair, I think.

    Having bought Winchell’s coffee and donuts moments before sleeping on the sidewalk, I will co-sign EVERYTHING you’ve said. Most people probably don’t realize the contestants are selected well before they even officially queue up to get in. You have to fill out these cards and you have to be engaging but not overpowering. They have a very strict set of standards, which is why Angelina Goth 1.0 never made it onstage. Black lipstick and batwing eyeliner is really not the done thing there. That said, I was amazed at how little folks on stage LISTEN to the studio audience. Stunned, really. I had all the right answers. And I’m like the only person who gets the producers of the show do all their price research shopping at 7-11 and Fingerhut.

  3. June 13, 2010 3:25 pm

    My mom-in-law LOVES price is right so one time when she came to visit us my SO took her to a taping. She was extremely excited, and when we watched it we saw her on TV for a brief moment as the camera panned out. She almost died.

    I remember watching PiR every morning when I used to work part-time and actually got to be at home before I left for work. That sad trombone pops into my head a lot too.

  4. June 13, 2010 7:59 pm

    Damn, dude… I spent a lot of time not going to school, so of course, the Music of The Price Is Right is forever ingrained in my noggin. I LOVE the Consolation Prize music. It’s what I hear in my head as I get ready for a nice nap, or when I’m sitting on the deck drinking a cold beer and clipping my nails. It takes some damn talent to soundtrack clipping nails.

Trackbacks

  1. Geeky by Design « In love but not at peace

Leave a Reply

