Skip to content
5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 7:21 am

    Excellent tribute to a fabulous actor. I give Hackman props for retiring instead of sticking around long enough to go all Jack Palance on us.

    I was 13 when The French Connection’s iconic chase scene was filmed near my neighborhood in Brooklyn and was part of my folklore (even if the baby carriage really was scripted). Moreover, the New Utrecht El was one of my favorite places and made even more magical by being the setting for so much mayhem below.

  2. evmaroon permalink
    June 10, 2010 8:45 am

    I LOVE THIS POST! I want to bear hug it and take it out for beers. I LOVED Hackman in all of these movies. And everyone imitates him; even the great Michael Caine pulled out his best Hack in his Children of God performance.

    Between Hackman and Shelley Winters, I devoured the race to the hull in Poseidon. Wasn’t he also in Towering Inferno, or am I making that up?

    Anyway, fantastic post—you made my morning, Snarky!

  3. June 10, 2010 5:44 pm

    Hackman was quite the jolly Rev. Omg, I want to liveblog Towering Inferno. I don’t think I’ve actually seen that one!

  4. June 10, 2010 9:28 pm

    When I first saw “Enemy of the State” and Hackman made his appearance, I said to myself, “Wait a second. Isn’t that… Oh, no way! He’s BACK!” I’m so glad you mentioned “The Conversation”. It’s both my favorite Hackman film and my favorite Coppola film, and it doesn’t get enough credit. Watching Harry Caul struggle to deny there’s an ethical dimension to what he does for a living, watching the tension in his face creep up to the breaking point… it shows what I like best about Gene Hackman. He always delivers the goods, but never rushes, never brings more to a scene than he should.

    This is a great tribute. Now I’ve got Hack-Man Fever!

  5. evmaroon permalink
    June 12, 2010 12:14 am

    Put Towering Inferno on your queue RIGHT NOW, Snarky!

Leave a Reply

