Skip to content

Your Friday Five: #7 Think Sun Edition

June 4, 2010

You could really be my fresh and only.

The June Gloom in Portland is really affecting me this year. Think sun guys. This week: five songs I’m using to battle this pissing rain.

  • Fol Chen – “The Idiot”
  • Marvin Gaye – “Got to Give It Up”
  • The Fresh and Onlys – “Peacock and Wing”
  • The Vaselines – “Dying For It”
  • Cheap Trick – “Southern Girls”

Is Zander’s pink suit the greatest? Are youtube comments the worst crap ever? Maybe.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2010 1:55 pm

    I love this song. Has been sitcom stars and all that. It makes me think of sun, summer and kicking over trash cans. I love Got to Give it Up. It instantly elevates my mood. Thanks for this, Spoon. I was not in a good mood today.

  2. June 4, 2010 2:15 pm

    RIOT AT THE NANA’ PUBLIC! THROW LEMONADE AT THE CHICK FIL-A! I love videos that take place in malls. This is a fantastic song. Thanks for adding it. It will definitely be in rotation today.

    Got to Give it Up. Is instant mood lifter, for sure. But then I get all depressed about Marvin Gaye.

  3. raymondj permalink
    June 4, 2010 6:36 pm

    I hope sunshine arrives very very soon! I get the grey sickness real bad, so I feel your overcast pain.

  4. June 4, 2010 9:08 pm

    Some Lil Stevie to brighten up your day. He brightens up mine.

  5. June 4, 2010 9:49 pm

    This thread is awesome. Most of these songs were new to me, and I can always use more cheering-up songs.

    One of my longtime favorites for when I’m feeling down is “Everybody’s Trying” by Poi Dog Pondering. And not just because it has a glockenspiel in it… although that is part of its overall sweetness and charm for me.

  6. June 5, 2010 8:52 am

    @Heather, that Poi Dog album is probably the most played CD in my collection! Absolutely the best happy music I know.

Leave a Reply

