Skip to content

The 40 Year Kiss

June 1, 2010

Al and Tipper Gore have split up.  It didn’t happen over twitter, they e-mailed a press release to the newswires, which seems almost provincial nowadays.  They have always been a bit old-fashioned (she did spearhead that whole “Parental Advisory” sticker thing), they are after all just a nice white christian couple from Tennessee (and money).  Perhaps his aspirations for saving the planet meant he wasn’t making enough time for them.  I’m not meaning to speculate their business, I apologize, but I’m taken aback, it’s making me more sad than I expected.  I found both of them to be Awkward Sexy.  I still remember watching television in 2000 and seeing this during the convention before he took the stage:

…and feeling caught off guard by a political gesture that seemed born out of genuine affection and desire.  I mean, it was a well-timed kiss of course, but didn’t make it any less of a real kiss.  I’m sure the earnestness is partly why it made so many people squeamish and uncomfortable (that, and general ageism, since we rarely see people over 40 depicted as sexual beings, in a non-fetishized way).  And if this were an obituary to either of them as people, I would hate to harp on this one moment in the swan song, but since this is an half-hearted elegy to their 40 year marriage, it seems appropriate.  So, goodbye to the Gores, collectively.  May you both find happiness as amicable ex’s and as newly single.  Welcome to the muddled space that so many have occupied!  Stars (and politicians), they’re just like us.

Between this and the oil spill not getting plugged until August, maybe armageddon really is coming.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 12:35 pm

    All I can think of is Denny Crane (Bill Shatner) expounding on the joy of “chubby sex” with Bella Horowitz (Delta Burke).

  2. raymondj permalink
    June 1, 2010 12:48 pm

    I have no doubts that Delta Burke knows how to work it well in bed.

  3. June 1, 2010 1:10 pm

    Wow, it’s weird, but that does make me really sad.

  4. June 1, 2010 1:14 pm

    Not Tipper and Al! Is there no humanity in this world. Al and I have the same birthday. I tend to take criticism of him so personality. Wow. I can’t believe they’re calling it quits.

  5. raymondj permalink
    June 1, 2010 1:32 pm

    I’m glad I’m not alone in being sad and stunned.

  6. June 1, 2010 3:41 pm

    Aww. There are “celebrity” couples that make me feel a little happy inside, even if I’m not the biggest fan of one (or both) of them. I can’t say that I’m particularly fond of Tipper Gore, but their relationship always felt completely genuine and not politically motivated to me. Things happen, people change, and even the sturdiest-seeming relationships crumble. Doesn’t mean it doesn’t make me a little sad in my heart.

    Also, re: Delta Burke: of course she knows how to work it in bed. She’s Southern. And married to Major Dad.

  7. June 1, 2010 4:32 pm

    Tipper is saucy and I like that about her. Though I didn’t much care for her war against Zappa’s right to be musically naughty, but damn if it didn’t make for some good ass TV.

    And also: GERALD “SIMON & SIMON” McRaney FTW!

  8. June 1, 2010 4:34 pm

    When Susan and Tim broke up I figured the end was nigh. Now I’m certain. Is everything okay with Will and Jada?

  9. raymondj permalink
    June 1, 2010 6:02 pm

    omg, they might be next!!!!

    I think it’s kinda funny that people still make a big deal about the parental advisory stickers, even in hindsight. I mean, I remember how tumultuous it was at the time (anyone between the ages of 12-20 at the time probably wrote school paper on it for ‘current events’), I get that part, but I don’t understand why mofos are STILL mad at her. At the end of the day, it’s just like the invention of PG-13. and I mean, damn, she became friends with Zappa’s wife and played drums with Zappa’s daughter in 1999. SHE PLAYED DRUMS WITH ZAPPA’S DAUGHTER’s BAND. most of those free-speech loving (supposed) music purists have never done anything remotely as rock and rock as that.

  10. June 1, 2010 8:48 pm

    Seriously. I think she started something, which quickly got away from her and was co-opted by a movement possessing more sinister racist/classist motivations. She was the front and originator, but by no means its most evil entity.

  11. June 2, 2010 9:54 am

    You know, back in the olden days, people only lived to be about 40 or 50, so if you got married at 16 or so, you were married for about 35 years tops? It could just be that after awhile, that warranty expires and the thing breaks down and there’s just no repair available because those parts stopped getting made in 1982.

    Conversely, it could just be that you need a change, wanna get some strange. Then, after a time, you’ll come to find that the one you left behind is still on your mind. So you return to your pal… maybe Tipper and Al just need some space, to see a new face, and visit a place at their own pace!

    Or, you know, it’s really over, over.

Leave a Reply

