Skip to content

We’re Gonna Let the Band Deal With This

May 28, 2010

It’s the Friday before a holiday weekend, a holiday that generally marks the beginning of summer here in the States, and summers mean windows down, driving around, and dancing at stoplights.  One of my favorite genre of songs for said activity are Songs with Marching Bands.   There was a brief golden era of these songs a few years ago, and since I know people will be making roadtrip mixes soon, here are some to get your drumline started.

Let’s start it off with going back only a few years to 2005 and Missy Elliot’s We Run This.

I also love a song in a minor key.  E-40’s Do Ya Head Like This makes the marching band melt at the beginning of this song and is perfect for rolling around in the car.

The same year, OutKast also used a marching band in their single Morris Brown.  I think maybe it’s now uncool to like them again?  So I’m happy to pull them out.

Basement Jaxx was one of my favorite groups to play as a DJ, because their songs would simultaneously make people happy and confound them as to how to dance to it.  From Crazy Itch Radio, this is Hey You.

FannyPack is sadly now dissolved, but I will always have the album See You Next Tuesday to listen again and again.  During this song Keep It Up, it was mandatory that I got myself out of the booth down to the dancefloor when I would play this, if only to throw my hands up during the “get off like a wedding gown” part.

My number one all-time favorite marching band song, going all the way back to 2000 and when I watched this video repeatedly on The Box, has to be Trick Daddy’s Shut Up.  I still say the opening line of the song (and subject header to this post) on a regular basis.

Hell naw, you know they polo.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. raymondj permalink
    May 28, 2010 11:51 am

    I was informed that I forgot JC Chasez’s Blowing Me Up (from the Drumline sountrack)!

  2. metermouse permalink
    May 28, 2010 12:45 pm

    The Box!!! I’ve never heard another person (who did not live in my pre 1998 household) ever mention the Box!

  3. May 28, 2010 1:11 pm

    Oh gosh. Great stuff! I’m a sucker for anything featuring a brass and/or drumline. To totally make this entry white and nerdy, I feel like I have to throw in one of my super guilty pleasures: Fleetwood Mac’s live version of “Don’t Stop” featuring the USC Marching Trojans.

    Also, it’s uncool to like Outcast? I think it’s mandatory for those of us in Georgia to love them.

  4. May 28, 2010 1:13 pm

    OMG I remember “The Box”. Did anyone ever get their “requests” played? I always wondered how it worked.

    I love that Trick Daddy song! This was a great freaking post, Ray Ray. You definitely got the party started.

  5. raymondj permalink
    May 28, 2010 1:31 pm

    @metermouse – someday, I might make a whole entry on The Box!!!!

    @eieioj – I grew up in Atlanta (for the most part) so I still remember how OutKast before puberty had fully completed it’s work on their voices! I’ll always be a fan, I think, no matter the cycle of cool. Same goes for Fleetwood Mac! For jamming in the car, I’d probably pick their classic USC marching band song, “Tusk”.

    Fleetwood Mac – Tusk
    Uploaded by jpdc11. – Music videos, artist interviews, concerts and more.

    My favorite part is when Mick is carrying a cardboard cutout of himself across the field!!

  6. May 28, 2010 1:54 pm

    Yes! This made my day. The rain is teasing us real bad here in Portland. This was like mainlining Vitamin D. Thanks!

    Robyn is like, my favorite guest vocalist. She did the guest vocals on “Happy Up Here” and “The Girl and the Robot” on Royksopp’s album from last year. These songs never fail to get me moving.

  7. May 28, 2010 2:20 pm

    TUSK!!!

  8. May 28, 2010 4:32 pm

    I love Tusk! Ah, songs of infidelity….

  9. irishup permalink
    May 28, 2010 5:19 pm

    Hah – I read the text with the inner DJ playing “Tusk” once I got to the words Marching Band.
    I have percussionist friends who went on a drummer-date to go see Drumline opening night.
    And YAY! more new music from p0plife!

  10. Liz C permalink
    May 28, 2010 10:09 pm

    Hello. Love the selection, especially because, of the six originally posted videos, I only really knew one of them.

    Right, so I would like to make my contribution to this lovely brass’n’bass thread:

    The Go! Team’s Junior Kickstart: not only does it have a kick-ass video, it’s a sweet, sweet get-movin’ track.

    Also, Nortec Collective’s Tijuana Sound Machine. They basically fuse Norteña music with techno in a really dance-able, non-offensive manner.

Leave a Reply

