Skip to content

All Combat Takes Place in the Rain at Night and at the Junction of Four Map Segments

May 28, 2010

Connie Brean, Winnie Ames and Stanley Motss - photo credit: courtesy of New Line Cinema

Random bits of dialog I’ve incorporated into my daily lexicon.

  • separate incidents – whenever two unrelated ideas are introduced in the same sentence, conversation or whatever. From: The Big Lebowski. Example. “This gum makes my teeth hurt. We should watch that documentary on B-way.” ooh, separate incidents.
  • It’s producing, that’s what it is – pompous acknowledgement – in a seemingly modest way – of one’s exceptional talents upon having another person explain in tedious detail just exactly what was accomplished and how amazing each element was. From: Wag the Dog.
  • He’s in the cab! – used whenever someone is engaged in some stereotypical behavior or to highlight someone else’s observation of it. From: Men in Black. For example, when I crack open my laptop and set down my coffee mug I smile and think I’m in the cab! like so many other writers around the world engaged in the same activity.
  • Now, they’re getting it. – expression of exclamation when someone arrives at what they believe is some esoteric bit of wisdom, despite being steered towards it in a captain obvious manner. From: Wag the Dog. “Cnn is running a story about how it’s expensive to be poor. NOW They’re getting it.” 99.8% of cases it’s used in sarcastic manner.
  • I want something sexual! – stated after someone has provided what they believed to be a “juicy” detail, particularly when they’ve described it as such. Must be said with copious amounts of righteous indignation. From: The Contender and said by Sam Elliot’s character.
  • 1/10 scale model – to illustrate the illusion of an element being discussed. From: Wag the Dog. “We shot that in a studio in Falls Church, Va – 1/10th scale model”. Must use this hand gesture and delivery style
  • Luther, if it makes you feel better I’ll always think of you that way – uttered whenever someone’s long held self belief has been shattered, usually a less than positive character attribute. For example, “I’m such a flaming jerk, but these kids I’m working with think I’m a great.” … “Luther, if it makes you feel better, I’ll always think of you that way.” From: Mission Impossible (1996).
  • Thermopolis will just have to wait – procrastination verbalized. From: 1001 Rabbit Tales and uttered by Daffy Duck.
  • Heat up the oil, the colonel’s chicken’s got company – long winded way of saying, Oh SNAP. “Mel Gibson is in trouble again. Heat up the oil, the colonel’s chicken’s got company.” From: 1001 Rabbit Tales.
  • yes, have some – sheepish acknowledgement that one either did not understand 90% of the conversation, has no productive response or just plain wasn’t listening. From: Ghostbusters.
  • [doing an] endive salad – boasting about accomplishments of a dubious nature. Example: in my about me section – along with legitimate accomplishments – I boast of winning the 1983 Fire Prevention Week Poster Contest, which while certainly being the case, was not in fact a highlight of my life or even that year. From: Tootsie.

________________________________________________________________________
a version of this entry originally appeared on Snarky’s Machine

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2010 3:26 am

    Hmm. Sometimes I quote Alex from “A Clockwork Orange” saying “He did no harm to anyone! Beethoven just wrote music!” when I find out a song I like is being used in a cheesy commercial.

  2. May 28, 2010 7:31 am

    One of my favorite lines to use is “It’s showtime, folks” from All That Jazz, generally while preparing for an event that I know will cost me some Social Attention Units. And yes I do it with the appropriate hand gestures.

    Wag the Dog, The Big Lebowski and Ghostbusters are nearly endless sources of good lines. I LOL everytime you drop one of those references. I wish I were better at remembering the good lines from movies I like; fortunately there’s imdb.com‘s favorite quotes section for old memory-impaired farts like me.

  3. May 28, 2010 1:56 pm

    I’ve been saying, “With club sauce…” in the Gob voice anytime someone talks about pairings or cooking lately. I’m probably about to get smacked.

  4. irishup permalink
    May 28, 2010 5:34 pm

    We are doing a construction project @ Shanty Irish.
    “Put ze candle Beck!” from Young Frankenstien is in HEAVY rotation.

Leave a Reply

