Skip to content

Quick Pats of Butter: Nobody’s Watching

May 26, 2010

* Evmaroon broke down some Nielsen stats on Monday about the Lost finale which got me real curious about audience numbers in general.  Last night I watched the Dancing with the Stars finale (it’s for work!) and today the numbers were put at 19 million viewers for the multi-hour extravaganza of flash and sparkle — over 5 million more than LOST.  And Dancing with the Stars isn’t going off the air forever (barring some sort of dance tragedy that turns our nation off to the still-growing love affair for dance shows).  I’m not trying to say that something more watched is ‘better’ or whatever, it just puts some things in perspective for when folks throw around snooty ideas of whatever “everyone” (or “nobody”) is really watching.

* Thanks to a tweet-tip from Roger Ebert, I’ve been clicking on RottenTomatoes.com occasionally to see how Sex and the City 2 is doing in the stocks, and right now at the end of business day, it’s a paltry 11%.  Ouch.  I hate to say it, but I think the recent leak of Liza Minnelli singing Single Ladies is not helping matters.

and…..

* Art Linkletter is dead.  Everybody go home and say some of the darnedest things.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. evmaroon permalink
    May 26, 2010 4:42 pm

    Roger Ebert may be the best Tweeter out there.

    I hope those 19 million were entertained by Lysacek or whoever was out there cutting the rug. I just can’t get interested in watching people ballroom dance. Unless it’s on Strictly Ballroom or Red Hot Ballroom.

  2. raymondj permalink
    May 26, 2010 5:01 pm

    I do not like that Lysacek. And he lost, so luckily I did not have to cry.

    If you watch DWTS with me, I could teach you how to love it, Ev.

  3. evmaroon permalink
    May 26, 2010 5:23 pm

    Raymond, I’m quite sure you could. I’m impressionable toward dancing and singing.

  4. May 26, 2010 6:18 pm

    Poor Liza, driving away the otherwise rabid SATC fans with that jelly. They’re not ready, Liza!

  5. May 26, 2010 6:19 pm

    Damn, I just peeked at Rotten Tomatoes and SATC is at 8%!

  6. May 26, 2010 7:38 pm

    Got my tickets for SATC: Electric Boogaloo. If folks can watch the minstrel that is 30 rock, they can’t be sweating me my SATC.

  7. raymondj permalink
    May 26, 2010 7:50 pm

    I was one of the few people (around me) who gave a positive review to the first movie, so I’m not mad!

Leave a Reply

