Skip to content

IFMiB Commenter of the Week: Eieioj

May 22, 2010

Photo Credit - Cannon Films, which is kaput, I believe.

Eieioj has a wonderful way of popping up in the comment section and dazzling us with utter fabulousness. Like many of our commenters, Eieioj has a diverse body of pop culture knowledge and an enthusiasm for discussing it that I find endearing. So thank so much for you wonderful feedback, “unsweetened” laughs and for consistently lending support to this here wacky ride we call I Fry Mine in Butter.

  • Oh gosh. I have some, I’m sure, but I can’t think of them off the top of my head. My SO has some great ones, though. He apparently thought that Strawberry Fields Forever was a commentary of relations in the Middle East when he was younger, because the line “Nothing is real” because “Nothing, Israel!” in his head.

    Those Billy Joel ones are classic. Especially the one from Only The Good Die Young. Ovaries, indeed.

  • My parents chose the movie version of Hair as one of our patented Sunday Afternoon Family Bonding Films when I was 7 or 8. I spent the summer after that watching it at least 3 times a week and listening to my mom’s tape of a Broadway cast recording non-stop. I wore that shit out.

    “Sodomy” educated me sexually (I remember being shocked! and appalled! that people would do those things). My mom and I actually worked out a 2-part harmony of that when I was a bit older to sing at random times. Ah, memories. My mom also wrote a paper for a psychology class comparing the psyches of Berger and Claude, and wound up presenting it at a statewide conference.

    Cheryl Barnes’ rendition of Easy To Be Hard in the film still gives me goosebumps and brings a tear to my eye.

    My SO recently went through MEPS to join the National Guard, and while he was telling me about all of the naked calisthenics he had to do (like naked duckwalking) all I could think of was “White Boys/Black Boys.”

    Oh, Hair, thou art the soundtrack of my life.

  • Mmmm…candy barsssssss.

    The happiest time in my life was the month I spent in England. In part because of the awesome, tall, bespectacled Brit who became my pen-pal, but also because the candy bars were phenomenal.

    I think that the vodka+SP Kids cocktail sounds kinda awesome. Not sure that I’d be able to drink it, but I may have to try it sometime. A Sour Patch Vodka Martini? Hmm.

    I bet that homemade candy bars would hold up well in a deep-fryer, too…

  • Ohmigosh this is one of my favorite movies ever. EVAR.

    One of my besties brought me the VHS of this at the end of our first year of college. She handed it to me, said “Dude. This movie is about glitter, glam music, and Ewan McGregor’s junk. It made me think of you.” I took that as a compliment.

    It’s one of the movies my SO and I claim as one of “our movies.” Also on the list are “To Wong Foo,” “Still Crazy,” and “Silence of the Hams” (the last one was the soundtrack of our..um..first night together. There’s something so romantic about the line “Hams are always silent. Except when they fall down stairs. Then they go ‘bump-diddy-bump-diddy-bump!’” Yep, we’re classy.).

    Also, agreed on Toni Collette’s performance. She was perfect as Mandy Slade, and captured the American-in-London “innocent” girl who transforms into the jaded, slightly bitter (but with every reason to be) wife of a crazy musician.

    I loved the use of new and old music in the movie. The circus/love scene set to “Satellite of Love” by The Velvet Underground has made me want to use that as the song for my first dance when I get married. “The Whole Shebang” is a fantastic song, and I will always love the songs “Make Me Smile (Come Up and See Me),” “Virginia Plain,” and “Needle in the Camel’s Eye.” But I agree, the Placebo cover of “20th Century Boy” was…meh.

    Damnit, I haven’t watched this movie in forever. Time for glittery Ewan McGregor man-junk!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2010 12:09 pm

    Yay!!! Congrats!

  2. evmaroon permalink
    May 22, 2010 1:21 pm

    Way to go, eieioj! I greatly enjoy your commenting…

  3. heathereff permalink
    May 22, 2010 5:50 pm

    Congratulations! I love your comments, especially the one about “Hair”.

    Now I’m curious… how is “Eieioj” pronounced? Is it like yodeling?

  4. May 22, 2010 6:39 pm

    Ei ei oh jay

  5. May 23, 2010 7:38 am

    I keep pronouncing it “e-i-e-i-o-j.” Kind of like Old MacDonald had an orange grove. However you say it, this honor is well deserved.

  6. May 24, 2010 8:28 am

    And the Oscar goes to……. ME!

    Yep, it’s like Old MacDonald. Actually, I (apparently) described one of my high school-era rants as being full of “elephants, ideology, and orange juice.” Or something.

    I feel so flattered! And humbled. I won’t forget all of the little people who helped me get here.

    The next step is world domination, right?

  7. May 24, 2010 11:26 am

    the next step is guest posting. I think that will be the new “prize”. Come do our work so we can do some more research!

Trackbacks

  1. Oh Noes! The Apocalypse n’ junk! « Elephants, Ideology, and Orange Juice

Leave a Reply

