Skip to content

Happy Birthday, Grace Jones

May 19, 2010

Slave to the rhythm indeed.

Grace Jones reminded us all why we love her when she schooled Gaga last month in an interview published on Essence.com:

    “Well, you know, I’ve seen some things she’s worn that I’ve worn, and that does kind of piss me off.” Has Gaga asked her to collaborate? “Yes, she did, but I said no,” Jones responded. “I’d just prefer to work with someone who is more original and someone who is not copying me, actually.”

It was the, “Oh Snap!” heard round the blogosphere and let it be known that she has not abdicated her throne as The Grande Dame of Avant Guard. At 62, Ms. Jones is still shutting it down, inspiring new fans and invigorating old ones as well.

Libertango (I’ve seen that face before)

This is probably my favorite song of hers! I can’t get enough of the her vocal phrasing. It definitely leaves you wanting to hear more. It’s so cabaret without evoking a drinking problem, failed relationships or disappointing life prospects.

Slave to the Rhythm

If an introduction by Ian Mc Shane wasn’t enough, Grace comes out and sings the heck out of her most enduring classics. I kinda know who Trevor Horn is, that is to say I know about The Buggles. I feel I should know much more about Horn’s legendary career than I do, but oddly enough I can instantly spot one of his productions. He’s like Marvin Hamlisch in that way.

Happy Birthday, Miss Grace!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2010 10:02 am

    The label “artist” gets applied rather liberally to people in entertainment, but I would say that Ms. Jones is one of the few who definitely deserve it.

  2. evmaroon permalink
    May 19, 2010 12:24 pm

    I really didn’t know who she was until I saw her in A View to a Kill. ZOMG, Grace Jones AND Christopher Walken in ONE MOVIE? Amazing! I went back and found her in Conan the Destroyer, which I never would have watched otherwise (pinkie swear). She’s been great in so much, but she’ll always be a little May Day to me.

  3. irishup permalink
    May 19, 2010 12:49 pm

    I agree, Mr. Walken and Ms. Jones made VtaK my all time favorite Bond movie.

    Happy Birthday Dame Jones! (Is it ok to use that? Even though we don’t have that title, she really SHOULD have it!)

  4. May 19, 2011 8:57 am

    I missed her being honest about Gaga (!?! going to go rethink my life), love her even more now! Ha, “actually”. Perfect.
    Happy birthday the one and only Grace Jones! This post makes me smile hugely.

  5. May 19, 2011 10:37 am

    why is it freaking me out to hear Ian McShane’s british accent??

  6. May 19, 2011 10:39 am

    one of the best piano bass lines of all time?!?

  7. May 19, 2011 10:43 am

    Wait, McShane! was talking? I wasn’t paying attention.

  8. May 19, 2011 2:15 pm

    who else can make an accordian look like a weapon? I heart Grace Jones.

  9. unscrambled permalink
    May 19, 2011 8:45 pm

    Is there some kind of campaign to get Ms. Jones be-damed (what’s the verb for when you get to be a dame)? I would recruit every brit I know!

Leave a Reply

