Skip to content

Two Great Tastes That Taste Great Together

May 13, 2010

I think I have mentioned once or twice that I enjoy the works of Brian De Palma. I also think my pro-Boss voting record is well established. So what better way to celebrate what p0plife christened Thursday Thunder Road, but I’m hoping this is not really limited to TR, but Bruce’s fine catalog of songs.

I’m pretty sure I was ambivalent about “Dancing in the Dark” when it first dropped, but it has since grown on me, due in no small part to the De Palma involvement. There is something cheeky about an upbeat, fun loving, dance happy video, introducing teen girls to a pop friendly Bruce directed by a dude whose filmography includes Sisters, Carrie and Dressed to Kill.

Or maybe it’s just me.

In the cage fight between Scorsese’s The Last Waltz and De Palma’s Dancing in the Dark, the latter wins by a knock out. Mostly, because Robbie Robertson gets on my nerves so any video devoid of his presence will easy win by default. That said, I like The Last Waltz.

Wow, it must be such a blow to an actor’s ego to discover the only time De Palma would find their talents useful is when he needs someone to make Bruce’s dancing look better, by highlighting theirs is so much worse.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2010 10:01 am

    And of course that video gave us Alex Keaton’s girlfriend — not quite a Bob De Niro as finds go, but making a mark on the cultural landscape nonetheless.

  2. May 13, 2010 10:41 am

    It’s no Wedding Party, but definitely a respectable introduction nonetheless.

  3. araymondjohnson permalink
    May 13, 2010 12:18 pm

    I bet she still has that on her resume, as “worked with Brian De Palma.”

  4. May 13, 2010 1:19 pm

    Heck, I put “worked with Brian De Palma” whenever I watch one of his films while writing.

  5. evmaroon permalink
    May 13, 2010 4:04 pm

    Yes, I always think of it as “Courtney Cox dances.”

  6. May 14, 2010 12:33 pm

    Thursday will be Bruce Day. Let it be so.

    I always feel like “Johnny” from Airplane! when Cox comes on. “Your hair! Those shoes, and that belt… GEEEEEEEEZZZZE!”

Leave a Reply

