Skip to content

It’s Truly Truly Outrageous!

May 4, 2010

Jem & the Holograms was a 80s cartoon featuring a lead character – who like Bruce Wayne – was rich and boring by day, but by night she was a crime solving (they solved crimes right?) singing superstar.

She was like Hannah Montana, but with way better songs. Trust me. I’ve done the legwork.

Here are my faves. Add yours too.

Can’t Get My Love Together

Jem and Co take it down a taste and bring us this deeply moving slow jam about getting “love together” It kind of sounds like she can’t find the other purple jelly sandal and therefore she can’t sneak out of her room to meet up with some buster for midnight smooching.

Come On in The Water’s Fine

This is my jam! I used to raise the roof with the one and wear out every hairbrush in my teen dream queen bathroom! I’m singing it right now! COME ON IN THE WATER’S FIIIIIIINE!

Truly Outrageous

In perhaps the best thing ever written on youtube someone named Spycoo16 said:

I think the director of this was just like “What do girls like? rainbows, ponies, and BOYS, kissing BOYS!” And thus this video was created xD

Click CLASH feat. The Misfits

I used to FWD to the CLASH part because it was way cooler than Jem’s message of coalition building.

Like a Dream

This is mad phoned in. It sounds like a slowed down “Truly Outrageous” but I love the lyrics – at least I did when I was 14.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2010 6:13 pm

    Deception! I pray that there’s an end to this deception!
    This masquerade!

    You forgot to mention Synergy, the awesome silver haired hologram that made Jem Jem and kept her secret identity.

  2. May 4, 2010 6:23 pm

    OMG, I completely forgot about Beverly Hills Teens!

  3. May 4, 2010 6:23 pm

    Ahh, I bought the Dvd set just to get the music LOL

    But don’t sleep on ‘Twilight in Paris’ and ‘I am a Giant’.

  4. evmaroon permalink
    May 4, 2010 7:04 pm

    I was so mocked (as was everyone else named Jen) by the theme song to this show that I developed a very strong hatred of it, and I’m sorry or that, because it seems kind of riotously funny now. I will look at your scene cuts so that I will at least remain in the loop on this conversation.

  5. badhedgehog permalink
    May 5, 2010 5:39 am

    Ha, me too. My first name is Gemma.

    Damn, but those 80s cartoons had something, though.

    Slightly disappointed in the lack of Glenn Danzig in the fourth clip, although I can appreciate that that would have been a mashup too far.

Leave a Reply

