Skip to content

Oh, the Womanity!

May 2, 2010

Absentee fashion designer Thierry Mugler is coming out with a new fragrance called “Womanity”. You may remember Mugler as the designer behind Beyoncé’s costuming for her 2009 tour, his amazing collections of futuristic bodycon dresses, sharp shoulderpadded suits, and masked confections of PVC, and creating Angel, the signature scent of our Editor in Chief, Snarky.

Recently he’s gone the Marc Jacobs route of obsessing over the perfection of his body and has emerged newly, scarily musclebound. He hasn’t done collections since 2003 when his design house was closed down due to lack of profitability, and at that time he disappeared until 2007 when he emerged transformed. Now he’s having to promote his fragrance due to contractual obligations and he’s not happy about it.

Although at the time many of Mugler’s designs were derided as being just about sex, he’s turned out to be a trendsetting, ahead of his time designer, and you can see his influence on fashion now, with designers embracing shoulder pads, wasp waists and body-hugging PVC.

Both Lady GaGa and Beyoncé are wearing vintage Mugler in the above pictures.

“Womanity” is due out in the fall of 2010.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2010 8:45 pm

    I wonder what it’s going to smell like!

    Ooh, pics of his infamous motorcycle dress…

  2. May 2, 2010 8:54 pm

    It’s supposed to have food scents in it like Angel. Fig and caviar!

  3. May 2, 2010 9:39 pm

    Why is it OK to use “scarily” to describe Mugler’s bodybuilding? I mean, it’s not my thing, but it’s really not that unusual for middle-aged guys to take to the weights to combat the middle-aged spread. Hell, he’s over 60. When walking doesn’t do it for me anymore, maybe I’ll pump iron too.

  4. May 2, 2010 11:28 pm

    Oh Thierry!

    Damn, I was getting him confused with Jean Paul.

  5. May 3, 2010 1:55 am

    @redlami One of the interviews I read with him stated that normal movement was impaired for him due to muscle size. When you go that far, that’s scary!

  6. May 3, 2010 1:56 am

    @Snarky Thierry did do the motorcycle bustier!

  7. evmaroon permalink
    May 3, 2010 2:04 am

    He didn’t just pump iron, though, he pumped Chris Benoit iron. He looks pretty freaking scary to me. But then, I’m a flabby intellectual.

  8. May 3, 2010 2:28 am

    The Man Whose Arm Exploded!

  9. cath permalink
    May 3, 2010 4:57 am

    I really wish that it was someone other than Beyonce wearing his motorcycle dress. For a multitude of reasons, Beyonce does my head in. I suppose I’m one of those “Team Kelly” types, god help me.

    I’m a fan of A*Men, though. Rabidly to the point of owning the refillable metal bottle of it.

    Hm. Maybe I should go back to wearing it. At the moment, I’m dallying between Prada Le Eau Ambree and Carthusia Fior di Capri.

  10. May 3, 2010 7:00 am

    One of the interviews I read with him stated that normal movement was impaired for him due to muscle size. When you go that far, that’s scary!

    Thanks for the clarification.

  11. May 3, 2010 9:48 am

    The top pic looks like the iconic image from that movie Metropolis.

  12. May 3, 2010 11:17 am

    I really wish that it was someone other than Beyonce wearing his motorcycle dress. For a multitude of reasons, Beyonce does my head in. I suppose I’m one of those “Team Kelly” types, god help me.

    I think the dress was featured in a George Michael video, but I can’t remember which one or who wore it there.

  13. araymondjohnson permalink
    May 3, 2010 1:28 pm

    @Snarky! It was “Too Funky”. of course.

    @Tasha: every time I see “Oh, the Womanity” I lol.

Leave a Reply

