Skip to content

IFMiB Commenter of the Week: Kelly!

May 1, 2010

mom, I'm gonna run down to the art museum, be back later!

Kelly was an early adopter and we’re really glad she did. Her comments are often tart, but witty as hell. Check out her site to see even more of her witty voice! Congrats, Kelly! You made it to the top of the steps! Pump your fists in the air and shadow box for the fans!

  • I liked the original. I think the effects were fine. This was 1981, holy god. Of course I was four. So I was basically mastering NOT shitting my pants.

    Stil, the medusa hunting/slaying scene was one that terrified me (perhaps it was the lack of music? The rattle of her tail? The firelight flickering on the columns?) and I’ve yet to speak to an adult my age who didn’t feel the same way.

    And I loved Hamlin and his thin veneer of oil, and his seventies hair. And as Perseus he totally wasn’t that much of an asshole (Zeus, OTOH, what a dick). Oh and the actress playing Andromeda looked like a REAL LIFE BARBIE. She had amazingly perfect skin and a long neck that went into an articulated head-hole. I swear.

    Oh and also there’s a scene in the beginning of the original with a mom breastfeeding her kid, which is rare and I totally love the film for showing it. The only other film I can think of that shows breasfteeding (without it being an indicator of wretched poverty or slapstick comedy) is, get this, a brief scene in the beginning of Training Day (2001).

    This new one is likely going to be very bad. I get the feeling they’re going to be all about pwning the stop-motion effects. This is like my friend’s adult dog who used to beat the shit out of puppies. Because he could.

  • For me it’s Twitter who keeps inadvertently making me think someone has died who still lives (Betty White), or who starts penning these 140-ct. eulogies long before I”ve retunred home for coffee and even had time to digest the latest whose gone (Haim).

    Ah, I love Keith David, who seems to bring gravitas to even some rather stinky films. What a pleasure when I finally watched Carpenter’s The Thing and was treated to some Keith David in the character of Childs, who was great! Although Mr. David did sort of mess up Coraline for me, as I was sitting in the theater just *knowing* I knew that voice but couldn’t place it…

  • Who is the pronoun in “his presence” referring to re: Fail for Rising Sun I wonder? No. I don’t wonder. I mean it’s Snipes, isn’t it?

    Rising Sun is the only one of these films I’ve seen, and I hated it so much. I mean how much strangle sex murder of a young, beautiful woman do you want to watch, because that film has loads, plus a lot of grossness directed at the Japanese to boot. Chrichton’s books are sexist (and racist) and really gross me out. The movie adaptations often suffer further problems. But the worst one? My money’s on 1995′s Congo. What do you think?

    OK, on the subject, how about the worst Connery film? Methinks Entrapment it sounds like I hate the 90s, doesn’t it?). To be fair, I’ve never seen it. But all the trailers showed was repeated angles of Zeta-Jones’ ass. Which is surely excellence, altho’ not exactly a film premise?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2010 3:31 pm

    Congratulations, Kelly! Thanks for providing some thoughtful and substantial commentary on FryButter.

  2. May 1, 2010 4:17 pm

    Thank you, I hardly know where I’m going to spend my huge novelty check! Oh wait, it really is JUST a novelty check, it has no actual currency value? Balls.

  3. May 1, 2010 4:18 pm

    (Oh, and does anyone know how to make my little icon a picture of me and not just a little icon? I srsly cannot figure it out, because I am not S-M-R-T enough.)

  4. May 1, 2010 6:03 pm

    Yay! Congrats. Look forward to more comments from you 🙂

  5. May 2, 2010 4:43 pm

    Congrats to you, Kelly! Thanks for the good times.

    Oh, and you should be able to change your “Gravatar” from your dashboard.

Leave a Reply

