Skip to content

Would Someone Please Explain the Reason for This Strange Behavior?

April 28, 2010

My top ten favorite Duran Duran songs.

1. “Skin Trade” – Notorious

    When it comes to songs evoking Prince my response is yes, please and thank you.

2. “Bedroom Toys” – Astronaut

    Duran kicks it Maze Feat. Frankie Beverly style. That “you want it/you got it/now whatcha gonna do with it” kills me. Oh I love it. Oh my god, what’s this?

3. “Vertigo (Do The Demolition)” – Notorious (yeah, it’s my favorite LP of theirs too)

    I have no idea what’s being done here musically, but that bass is driving me nuts. And the lyrics of this song are so freaking good. It also reminds me of a friend I had in high school who kind of sounded like Boomhauer and I was the only person who could understand her. I don’t believe she was from Texas though. She loved this song.

4. “Union of the Snake” – Seven and the Ragged Tiger

    I can’t hear this without thinking of Darcel – only dancer anyone remembers from Solid Gold. She did some really cool dance around those white pillars with the gold piping and I have never forgotten it. I think there were like three pillars. It was some kind of snake-y dance. SG was not known for its subtlety.

5. “The Chauffeur” – Rio (NSFW)

    Ahh, baby’s first goth song! Didn’t we all cut our fangs on this phat jam? All together – SIIIINNNNG BLUUUUUE SILLLLLLVER! I loved that organ grinder breakdown part. That was real cool. Oh yeah, that vid is most definitely NSFW. Titties a go go!

6. “Come Undone” – Duran Duran/The Wedding Album

    Call me a poseur or a false fan if you wish, but Duran Duran giving us their best Sade is all right with me. You know I love me a Helen Terry-esque back up vocalist and Simon hasn’t ever sounded better to me. And well, he tends towards vocal styling than actual singing. Nothing wrong with that. Just don’t go a concert expecting something different. Mellows will be harshed. He’s definitely gotten to be a stronger vocalist, but he ain’t never going to be Boy George. Nice of him to finally let someone else tackle those hard to reach notes.

7. “The Reflex” – Duran Duran

    WHHHHY don’t you use it? I love that whiny cats-fighting-in-an-alley bridge.

8. “Some Like It Hot” – The Power Station

    I love how Palmer is better at being Le Bon than Simon! All in a vicar’s outfit. Palmer always makes me howl with his “pushing you to decide” hand gesture. It’s so great. It’s a good song to cha cha yourself around the house or on a treadmill. What a voice! Sorely missed. OT. I tend associate Saratoga Springs, NY with getting bummer musical legend news. Poplife and I were in a music shoppe there when we found out Palmer had died. And I’m pretty sure I was in that same music store or the Border’s next door when I heard about Johnny Cash!

9. “Election Day” – So Red The Rose

    Being a completest, I seem to own this LP, which I renamed “So Stinky the Record”, but this song’s pretty tight. It seems to have as much to with elections as Rock me Amadeus has to do with Mozart. I guess there’s a connection, though not literal.

“Electric Barbrella” – Medazzaland

    I am one of those Medazzaland proselytizers and I’ll leave it at that.
7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2010 9:11 am

    Thanks for filling me in… knowing them mainly from”Rio” and “Hungry Like a Wolf” I didn’t realize that not all their songs sound like those two. And that Palmer video (which I think of in Pythonesque terms as the “naughty vicar sketch”) is always a treat.

  2. April 28, 2010 9:28 am

    Jon Taylor is one of my all time favorite bass players! And he gets no respect! Fantastic list, gotta keep representing those deep cuts!

  3. April 28, 2010 9:43 am

    Jon is AMAZING. He lays the smackdown on so many of my favorite tracks. And their deep cuts are some of the best. I mean Notorious has so many. It was hard to restrict my list to only two cuts. American Science nearly made it on my list and almost the name I was going to blog under.

  4. evmaroon permalink
    April 28, 2010 11:33 am

    You killed me with Power Station. I can hear the entire percussion track in my head just from reading the title, so of course I had to click on that one first. I suddenly felt like I’d been drinking Jamba Juice. Thanks for the memories!

  5. renniejoy permalink
    April 28, 2010 1:03 pm

    Major fangirl squeee!

    “Skin Divers” and “Reach Up (for the Sunrise)” helped me through a major depression, and “American Science”, “Bedroom Toys” and “Out of my Mind” are soo damn SEXY!

    Well worth seeing in concert if you get the chance – even mediocre album cuts are kick-ass live.

  6. April 28, 2010 1:07 pm

    renniejoy – when I saw them as a teen, they weren’t as polished as they are now. But definitely now, with some experience and age, they produce a slamming show. Thanks for stopping by!!!

  7. Heather Flescher permalink
    April 28, 2010 4:59 pm

    Yeah! “The Reflex” is my favorite DuDu song, and one of my favorite pop songs of all time. The lyrics in the chorus have this pseudo-Zenlike thing going that really does it for me:

    “The Reflex is a lonely child waiting by the park/
    The Reflex is in charge of finding treasures in the dark/
    Watching overlapping clovers, isn’t that bizarre?
    Every little thing the Reflex does gives you answers with a question mark…”

Leave a Reply

