Skip to content

Who is that Actor: Jane Lynch

April 26, 2010

favorite character actor of mine finally getting her propers

Over the last couple of weeks, I’ve been chowing on a lot of television. In show after show I’ve seen my old friend Jane Lynch in small, but pivotal roles. Let’s not forget she broke the whole conspiracy at the apex of The Fugitive with a mere five or so minutes of screen time. Winged pixie or not!

Even Julianne Moore – also a scene stealer in The Fugitive – can’t boast that!

I knew she had hit it for real when I overheard two women at Barnes & Noble shrieking over a copy of some tabby (tabloid), “OMG it’s JANE LYNCH!” Oh that was such a great moment. I have been cheering her on for years. Though I’m sure it’s probably better for Lynch, herself!

And while Glee doesn’t appeal to me – though I get and appreciate its appeal to others – I am really happy to see Jane Lynch rewarded with praise and a hit show for the talent I’ve enjoyed for YEARS. That said, I have come back to Glee several times because Jane as Sue Sylvester is one of the most irresistible characters – since Denny Crane – I’ve seen recently on television. Yet, still find myself turned off by the casual ism fail featured on the show.

Selected Jane Lynch Filmography

  • Boston Legal
  • The X-files
  • The Fugitive
  • Best in Show
  • Monk
  • Arrested Development
  • The L Word
  • Straight Talk
  • Cybill
  • My Name is Earl
  • Boston Public
  • 3rd Rock from the Sun
14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 5:36 pm

    Alright, I’m so offended… you left off all her Christopher Guest movies. “Best in Show”? “A Mighty Wind”?

    This is totally negligent!

    Peace,
    Shannon

  2. April 26, 2010 6:42 pm

    I love Jane Lynch! She also played the schizophrenic mother of Dr. Spencer Reid in a few episodes of the show, Criminal Minds. She’s brilliant at it though, not over the top or corny or anything. And she’s funny as fuck on the Showtime series, Party Down… although I’m not sure if they’re gonna make a 2nd season of that.

    I don’t like Glee either, but I’m glad Ms Lynch is getting hella paid.

  3. April 26, 2010 7:02 pm

    I loved Lynch on Party Down! I’m glad its been able to soldier on without her. I am just getting into the show and she’s fabulous.

  4. April 26, 2010 7:04 pm

    I love her recurring sex therapist role on Boston Legal. I think she’s hot.

  5. April 26, 2010 8:12 pm

    Oh my god I LOVED her in “Role Models”. She was fuckin’ hilarious. I’m glad to see she’s getting ahead in the game.

  6. April 26, 2010 9:37 pm

    I love her in everything I’ve seen her in; she was a highlight of The 40 Year Old Virgin.

  7. IrishUp permalink
    April 26, 2010 9:37 pm

    Wow, so THAT’s who she is! I LOVED her in Best in Show; really, her performance was key to that movie not blowing a mighty wind, IMO. Thanks again, Snarky!

  8. April 26, 2010 10:31 pm

    I loved her as the blunt lawyer on The L Word! She was hilarious on that show. Even though Tina got on my nerves, I did like the scenes with Lynch as Tina’s lawyer.

  9. April 26, 2010 10:56 pm

    Party Down is fantastic. The 2nd season just started airing! You can watch it on Netflix and Showtime.com I think. I saw a preview and she does make a return… Can’t wait.

    She is the tomato juice to the skunk spray of many a stinker. She was one of the bright spots of Julie and Julia and For Your Consideration.

    I am definitely going to have to Instant View those Criminal Minds episodes if I can.

  10. evmaroon permalink
    April 27, 2010 1:02 pm

    I have nine words for you: Jane Lynch and Cybil Shepard, as old married ladies.

    Only redeeming plot development on the entire L Word series. And that’s how Sue C’s it!

  11. April 27, 2010 1:14 pm

    That was the best story arc during the entire RUN of The L Word.

  12. April 27, 2010 4:43 pm

    Jane Lynch has been in EVERYTHING hasn’t she? Oh and in the L word I’d say the best story was shane and carmen.

    I remember seeing her in 7th heaven. Yeah, 7th heaven. WAY BACK WHEN.

    she’s never been, like, famous though.
    and it’s good to see her finally getting some limelight. her character is so delightful.

  13. evmaroon permalink
    April 28, 2010 2:59 am

    I look forward to seeing how she’ll insult Will’s hair every week. She hasn’t let me down yet.

  14. April 28, 2010 4:15 am

    @Lemonade – I totally forgot about 7th Heaven. Yeah, I recall seeing her on that. I used to totally watch that show. It was wholesome in that hokey Murder, She Wrote kind of way that I often find entertaining.

Leave a Reply

