Skip to content

Netflix Recommendation Fail!

April 24, 2010

If you like 9 to 5, you’ll most certainly want to partake in the heart warming Norman Jewison classic AGNES OF GOD about a nun who experiences stigmata.

This is nearly as delicious as La Mommie threatening to put on Midnight Express and turn out all the lights if we didn’t stop all that “cutting up” and go to sleep.

Naturally, I saw Agnes of God as a teen and found it satisfying.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2010 8:46 pm

    I think Agnes of God has more lulz than either of the Chevy Chase films. Or the American “Office.”

  2. April 24, 2010 8:48 pm

    That’s the damn truth!

  3. A Sarah permalink
    April 24, 2010 9:04 pm

    Hahaha!! Good eye. When I was a theater nerd in high school I always wished I could play Agnes. I figured I wasn’t thin or pretty but of course Agnes wore a habit and wimple, so my 17 year old self reckoned this was one of the few ingenue roles that could be won on acting chops alone. Now I’d way rather play Violet from Nine to Five.

    Oh, hey, Caramel (in the pic there, just to the right of A of G) is currently languishing unwatched on my bedside table.

  4. A Sarah permalink
    April 24, 2010 9:32 pm

    Uhhhh. Oh. And as I just wrote that out I realize what sort of a giant privilege fail that was of my 17y.o. NWL self. Well lookie there.

  5. evmaroon permalink
    April 24, 2010 9:56 pm

    I think you all are forgetting how unbelievably HILARIOUS Best Friends is.

  6. April 24, 2010 10:40 pm

    Best Friends is so amazingly hilarious. It’s like a buffet of fail!

  7. April 24, 2010 10:43 pm

    I think a bit of this is in order.

  8. hsofia permalink
    April 25, 2010 1:04 am

    OMG, I need a support group for readers struggling to keep up with the materials referenced in I Fry Mine in Butter posts. I’m trying, y’all, I’m trying. I’m having fun, but I’m soooo behind!

  9. April 25, 2010 1:17 am

    Wow, that is way off. I think they throw shit like that in there to fuck with people.

  10. badhedgehog permalink
    April 25, 2010 6:40 am

    They both have Jane Fonda in them, and they were both made in the 80s (I had to look that up, I was sure Agnes of God was made in about ’92 or something). The algorithm must be something that includes a film with one of the same lead actors as the first film, made within a few years of the first film; as well as a bunch of films with similar themes and content.

    Now that’s all very well, but it does NOT explain Au revoir les enfants, which doesn’t have any cast or crew in common with Nine to Five, and I don’t recall Dolly, Jane and Lily using their office to hide any Jewish children from the Nazis either.

  11. April 25, 2010 8:18 am

    Yeah, I accept the Jane Fondle angle, but she wasn’t even playing a nosy reporter in 9 to 5. They are waaay different in tone and hell, I don’t even get the Hudsucker recommendation, except, that they both take place in an office.

  12. April 25, 2010 8:22 am

    Since the premise is “more like 9 to 5” there is no reason – no f’ing reasons – for them to come and pee on my rug.

  13. April 25, 2010 8:23 am

    Nine to Five was a valued film.

  14. April 25, 2010 8:24 am

    And Netflix peed on it!

  15. April 25, 2010 8:26 am

    It really tied the whole madcap feminist office comedy film category together.

  16. April 25, 2010 8:27 am

    The “madcap feminist office comedy” is NOT The ISSUE – also, redlami, “madcap feminist office comedy” is not the preferred nomenclature.

    Zany, please.

  17. April 25, 2010 8:28 am

    These aren’t the guys who filmed “One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest” so what are we talking about here?

  18. April 25, 2010 8:29 am

    What the fuck? What the fuck are you talking about? I’m talking about unchecked budgeting, script rewrites. LACK OF DIRECTION.

    Over this line you do not fail.

  19. April 25, 2010 4:15 pm

    I am the walrus.

  20. April 25, 2010 4:48 pm

    Spoon, you’re out of your element!

  21. evmaroon permalink
    April 25, 2010 6:17 pm

    Judy Berley, please hold, Judy Berley, please hold, Judy Berley, please hold, hello, Judy Berley.

    Best Jane Fonda line ever.

  22. evmaroon permalink
    April 25, 2010 8:22 pm

    @hsofia: as for obscure references, I blame a Goldie Hawn marathon on HBO in 1986 for my memory of films like Best Friends. Am also a fan of Overboard, Wildcats, Foul Play, and Seems Like Old Times.

  23. April 25, 2010 11:45 pm

    WILDCATS!!! Oh my god, I can’t count the number of rainy afternoons I spent deconstructing the genesis of the Snipes/Harrelson friendship.

    I adore Wildcats. Everyone is really good in it. But of course, the best is Nipsey Russell. The way he delivers his lines, “riiiight…” is priceless.

    Yeah, I’ve seen way too many Goldie Hawn films. Foul Play, I remember that one because of the brass knuckles!

  24. April 26, 2010 12:07 am

    I love Big Business–not the most out of the stuff on that list, but it makes me happy.

    When I think of Goldie Hawn, I think of the movie Death Becomes Her. Hawn vs. Streep in an epic battle for the love and plastic surgery skills of Bruce Willis. Yep. Classic.

    9 to 5 is one of those movies I love, but haven’t seen in 90 bajillion years. I should remedy that.

  25. April 26, 2010 12:11 am

    When I think of Goldie Hawn I think of Overboard. My mom loved that movie so it was one of the ones we had on VHS.

  26. evmaroon permalink
    April 26, 2010 1:13 am

    I have spent something like 60 hours watching that movie over the course of my life since it came out. You just know I dreamed of being like Tab Thacker when I grew up. Mr. Cool. Which reminds me, LL Cool J was in Wildcats!

Leave a Reply

