Skip to content

Quick Pats of Butter: Your Friday Five

April 23, 2010

Sharon breaks in a new pair of shoes.

  • The new Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings album, I Learned the Hard Way, is out and it is a doozy. A little less James Brown funk and shuffle on this one and a little more Stax/Motown/Chess Records influence.    E-Music has a casual interview with Sharon who chats about James Brown, being a corrections officer at Riker’s Island, missing her song being played on the Oscars, and on doing covers:

Like when we did Prince, “Take Me with U” — you heard that? I liked that. And “What Have You Done for Me Lately?” — Gabe’s sister told him, “Take that song and funk that up.” Truthfully, when that song came out, the bass got me. I never knew what she was saying. She was like, [merciless, near-whispering imitation of Janet’s vocal]. And then [when we covered it], I was like, “She was singing that?” After we recorded the song, I was driving with my other the next year, and the original came on the radio. I was like, “She really was singing that!”

Choosing just one Sharon video took me a half hour, so before I change my mind again, here is Sharon and the boys tearing up the classic Marva Whitney track, “Things Got to Get Better”. Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings are touring for the album now. I highly suggest that you pick up all the albums post haste, buy your tix early (Their shows always sell out) and get up front. Pray that they cover “A Change Is Gonna Come”. The live shows are legendary, Sharon is a ball of fire. If you aren’t dancing, get the hell out of the way. Go watch some She and Him and stare at your sneakers or something for a while.

  • FANGIRL POST: My absolute favorite band of the last 5 years, Thee Oh Sees, has a new album coming out next month. I am chomping at the bit for this one. These magnificent bastards just keep putting out weirdly joyful and slightly menacing rock and roll at a pace just under that of Guided by Voices/Bob Pollard. But you know, with a better signal to noise ratio than Mr. Pollard. For those of you who like your tunes catchy as hell, but a little burnt around the edges and smelling like someone chucked a 6 pak of Rainier tallboys down the lane of a shitty bowling alley. Check out the new tune at RCRD_LBL then watch this:
  • Hey, it was Iggy Pop’s birthday yesterday. Watch Iggy show us how to rock a blue cummerbund. And put The Idiot on. Guaranteed to make you happy.
  • The album most likely to hog up time on my iPod this Spring/Summer is streaming in full! Big, big Erasure, Depeche Mode, OMD vibe on this one. I already can’t stop humming “I Can Change”, “Drunk Girls” steals from “Boys Keep Swinging” in the best way and “Dance Yrself Clean” is making me all twitterpated. This is going to follow you home. It will be everywhere. It deserves to be. Oh, and apparently if you want to get this party started right, you need to issue a panda suit to your guests at the door.
  • My biggest regret about dropping out of college was that I never wrote my planned dissertation on Purple Rain. The movie. Not the album. In the short span of this 4 minute clip of “Computer Blue” Prince gets oiled up, Morris Day and Time are drinkin’ the haterade, Prince gets a little guitar fellatio during the first guitar solo, and apparently the audience is bored. Really? Look at the amazing acting skills at the end of the song when Prince gets all butthurt about Apollonia making nice with Morris Day. Excellence.
17 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2010 9:00 am

    “Jesse, now Jerome…”

    I just remember that Jesse “I wanna get to know ya” Johnson had NO lines in Purple Rain and I was completely fascinated by it. I wanted to know what he had to say about Morris Day. I swear if I ever join a real band as the lead singer I’m definitely going to have someone in the band that holds the mirror and parrots everything I say. They can also order food when I’m too cool to say my order into an over sized clown’s mouth.

    I think the only thing keeping me from utter irrelevance is my love of LCD Soundsystem. I can’t stop listening to “Daft Punk is Playing My House”. Drunk Girls is totally new hotness.

  2. April 23, 2010 10:03 am

    Very Interesting, Thanks so much for sharing 🙂

  3. April 23, 2010 10:26 am

    great blog,keep the good stuff coming. Definetely going to stop by again soon.

  4. April 23, 2010 10:56 am

    Very cool..

  5. April 23, 2010 2:24 pm

    Sharon needs to swing by my place with HER ENTIRE WARDROBE. She can rock the mic while I try on all her clothes.

  6. April 23, 2010 2:45 pm

    Not my type of music, but nice blog.

    Remain.Simple

  7. April 23, 2010 2:48 pm

    She had the most amazing Tina Turner-esque fringe number on last time I saw her, and wooooo! she shook what her mama gave her. And she really does tear the stage up in those shoes. I can’t wait to see her again.

  8. April 23, 2010 3:02 pm

    Uh Spoon, are these folks your friends *points up*

  9. April 23, 2010 3:45 pm

    Nobody I know has that nice of a car.

  10. April 23, 2010 4:41 pm

    Whoa, I think I’m in love with Thee Oh Sees. Thank you for that, because somehow I’ve never heard them before. That jam that you posted by them was great though. They sound like they’re from Austin or Colorado. I will go listen to all their jams now.

    And yeah, Sharon Jones is pretty much the baddest of bad-asses. I got to meet her one time and she was actually one of the nicest musicians I’ve ever met; we talked about Bill Withers and how much she liked playing the club I was working in. And she has a neverending supply of energy, I’ve never seen anything else like it.

    Great blog. This is my first time here, but I’ll be back.

  11. April 23, 2010 4:53 pm

    @Stir-Fried: Just curious, but does dinosaur taste like chicken? I mean, if Jurrassic Park is to be believed, then I’m gonna go with they taste like chicken.

    And thanks! Thee Oh Sees are from San Francisco, and they do indeed kick out the jams. Fantastic live too.

    I don’t think I’ve ever heard a discouraging word about Ms. Jones. A real class act, for sure. I would love to chat about Bill Withers with her! I bet she could do a seriously funky cover of “Love and Happiness”.

  12. April 24, 2010 1:05 am

    Jurassic Park has me believing that no matter how often one eats dinosaur, there is no telling what it will taste like. Roll around in that one for a second…

    That makes sense about San Francisco, I guess. They’re weird though, I watched a bunch of their things on youtube. They sort of remind me of some bizarre combination of Old Time Relijun, The Black Angels, and something Phil Spector would’ve produced circa 1963? And I’m pretending their boy singer is related to Crispin Glover because in my world, that also makes sense.

  13. Kris permalink
    April 24, 2010 2:31 am

    Sharon Jones is FIERCE!!! Take a few notes…

  14. April 24, 2010 10:29 pm

    I love the picture of Ms. Jones!

  15. April 25, 2010 1:03 am

    I love that this was featured on WordPress.com. Awesome post.

  16. greg cryns permalink
    April 25, 2010 6:24 am

    Nice job. Thanks for reminding me of Prince’s power.

  17. unforgivens permalink
    May 18, 2010 2:34 pm

    I found your site from the WordPress.com page and this was great!

Leave a Reply

