Skip to content

Official Snackbar of IFMiB?

April 22, 2010

Why?

ZZOMG FOOD PR0N

Because Michigan’s favorite specialty food store, Zingerman’s decided to make handmade candybars. Really, really, good ones. Basically it’s a Snickers. But here’s the thing, they take those peanuts (Sorry, Snarky!) and they fry them in butter.

For those of you in the Nut Allergy Club, they also make an all chocolate/nougat one called “What the Fudge?” But I’m gonna bet that there is the standard “Made in the same facility that processes nuts,dairy” disclaimer.

I just ate half a bag of Newman’s Own Salt and Pepper pretzle rounds, and now I crave more snackyfood. Candy for lunch everyone?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. evmaroon permalink
    April 22, 2010 2:22 pm

    I keep saying I’m going to make my own candy bars, but I’m going to start with a Twix knockoff: shortbread cookie, salted caramel, dipped in dark chocolate. If I find time to make them this weekend, I’ll take pictures.

    Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. April 22, 2010 2:31 pm

    I too am inspired. It’s awkward sexy in a candy bar form! I would love some kind of sour patch kid appropriate wine beverage. Nothing short of Listerine tastes good with Sour Patch Kids.

  3. April 22, 2010 2:43 pm

    Hey, us wine nerds will try to pair it with ANYTHING.

    Chow takes on Holloween Candy: http://www.chow.com/stories/11923?tag=search_results;results_list.

    One of my favorite wine pairings is a late night bowl of Cheerios with just about any red wine. I dunno, it works for me.

  4. April 22, 2010 3:12 pm

    OMG I love this post — I’m a bit of a candy freak — and these look amazing (again, sorry Snarky’s). I especially like that the chocolate looks fudgy and substantial, not just spray-painted on.

    I haven’t tried it (yet) but I think Sour Patch kids would go best with straight-up vodka. It might even be fun to drop a few in and watch them dissolve.

  5. April 22, 2010 3:31 pm

    That thing looks like it’s got some heft to it!

  6. April 22, 2010 6:12 pm

    It used to be that America had a rather different roster of candy bars: Butterfinger, Baby Ruth, Whoppers, and Twix were exotic snacks featuring forbidden flavours not found in Canada. Eventually, due to free trade I think, this candy protectionism broke down and those brands and others flooded the Canadian market, thus removing the shine of scarcity from Twix Peanut Butter.

    After all that I still think Malteesers are a million times better than Whoppers.

  7. evmaroon permalink
    April 22, 2010 6:21 pm

    @gudbuytjane: ah, but as all things NAFTA, it only went one way, for we still don’t have Aero bars, or Smarties, and only have sporadic coverage of Coffee Crisp (my personal favorite). Also still missing: the letter U in flavor.

  8. April 22, 2010 6:39 pm

    @Ev: Well, what’s the point then? But Smarties are awesome, and admittedly Aero is kind of shitty waxy chocolate, it still is yummy when they do the orange or mint ones.

    I have at times run illicit Coffee Crisp running schemes, bringing them into the USA for fans of their airy mocha goodness. They are a market waiting to be exploited in America.

  9. April 22, 2010 6:43 pm

    I was in Australia once for work several lives (ie, 20 years) ago and one of the things I loved was that there were kinds of candy there I’d never tasted before. I seem to remember a gummy strawberries and cream type candy different from the ones I get in the bulk food section of Wegmans. I should do some more research; sadly the only Australian sweet I’ve seen lately is soft licorice. Which is good, don’t get me wrong… but there’s so much candy and so little time…

  10. evmaroon permalink
    April 22, 2010 6:46 pm

    This is why I love my Canadian friends and family, and why I’m going to spend quality time at the consulate when I temporarily move to Seattle this fall. Because I’m one of you.

    Meanwhile, my friend who runs a bookstore in DC got a box of Coffee Crisps by mistake, and sold it to us, and Susanne was agog because it was in half-English, half-Spanish, and of course, she’s only seen them in Frenglish before. And yes, she only likes mint Aeros.

  11. April 22, 2010 8:32 pm

    Mmmm…candy barsssssss.

    The happiest time in my life was the month I spent in England. In part because of the awesome, tall, bespectacled Brit who became my pen-pal, but also because the candy bars were phenomenal.

    I think that the vodka+SP Kids cocktail sounds kinda awesome. Not sure that I’d be able to drink it, but I may have to try it sometime. A Sour Patch Vodka Martini? Hmm.

    I bet that homemade candy bars would hold up well in a deep-fryer, too…

  12. April 22, 2010 10:31 pm

    Cost Plus World Markets carry all those English Cadbury bars… Yorkie (“It’s Not for Girls!”), Aero, Malteesers, Violet Crumble (one of my faves), and all sorts of chocolate covered biscuits. My favorite import candy bar of the moment is the Asian Twix that is “Cafe Au Lait” it has a “milk” coating and light, crispy, divine coffee and wafer inside. I thought I would hate it since I pretty much don’t like any bar that isn’t made with dark chocolate, but maaaan, it’s tasty.

  13. araymondjohnson permalink
    April 23, 2010 12:53 am

    I have been to Ann Arbor and eaten one of these candy bars! And they are….pretty good. They are tasty, but not tasty enough to warrant a trip to the middle of Michigan and pay $5 a pop for them.

    However, I bet there’s an Unwrapped episode we could study to make our own at-home version.

  14. IrishUp permalink
    April 23, 2010 8:55 am

    Unwrapped is one of those shows that sucks me right in if I catch a glimpse, but I’ve never sat down to watch on purpose.

    I had a friend who described having a love-hate relationship with KitKats. Sometimes she thought they were delish, and would need to have one every day, other times she’d have one bite & ptewptewptew spit it out. It took her like 2 years to realize the delish ones were the ones she bought when she went back home to visit the ‘rents in Canada, and the ptewies were the ‘Mericun ones.

    Damn you, Milton Hershey!!!!!!!!

  15. April 23, 2010 10:43 am

    Yeah! My boss spent a few years living in London and now she pretty much only eats Cadbury milk chocolate. To each their own, I guess…. I do love those Cadbury eggs with the tiny crunchy candy shell though… the ones Redlami mentioned on his blog. The tiny shell makes those suckers!

  16. badhedgehog permalink
    April 23, 2010 4:41 pm

    Cadbury Mini-Eggs – I love them. I caned the arse off of several bags of mini-eggs this Easter.

    Twix and pale ale is a good candy and booze combination, by the way.

    Are you acquainted with the Scottish icon that is the Tunnock’s Caramel Wafer?(5 layers of wafer with chewy caramel in between, coated in a thin layer of milk chocolate. Chunky. Substantial. Satisfying.) The original milk chocolate ones are delicious, and they’ve recently brought out a dark chocolate one, which is deeply sophisticated and rather recherché; and even more delicious.

  17. April 25, 2010 12:58 am

    Speaking of frying things in butter, I learned Friday that my boss didn’t like this steak house she went to for lunch because they fried their steaks in butter. I wished I could make her realize the significance of that.

Leave a Reply

