Skip to content

R.I.P. Guru

April 20, 2010

Last month Guru suffered a heart attack and rumours of his death circulated quickly, but this time it seems indeed to be true.  MTV has a surprisingly decent obituary of the man, if you don’t know why people are sad about this MC passing.  I knew Gang Starr only peripherally when they were dropping their classics, I came to know them later on through Damon Brown, the world’s biggest DJ Premier fan — and who can perhaps explain why Guru and Premier had such an intense falling out that Guru didn’t want him contributing to his memorial??   He’s going to his grave with beef, so it must be pretty intense.

See you on the other side, Guru.  I’m glad we had you at all.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 9:09 am

    Oh my godness! I knew of their beef but that’s beyond what I could conceptualize. RIP GURU.

  2. April 20, 2010 10:27 am

    Dang! I was just listening to “The Jazz” on the train yesterday! They were an amazing team. Gang Starr was one of the first hip hop groups to really engage me. R.I.P Mr. Guru.

  3. April 20, 2010 10:36 am

    I’m still sifting through the shock. It’s just so weird. Gang Starr was pretty much the last hip hop group I rabidly followed and I have a tender spot for them. I have to keep coming back here to convince myself this is really happening. 😦

  4. April 20, 2010 10:43 am

    @ Snarky – It really does. I think this one will take some time. I still can’t believe MJ is dead. It feels weird that he is. Guru is the same. He was still producing! How can he not be behind 20 feet of nobs and levers nodding his head to the beat and tweaking until that hi-hat hits just right?

  5. araymondjohnson permalink
    April 20, 2010 10:50 am

    Some of are saying the “deathbed letter” is not real, asserting that he’s been in a coma for most of it. I’m looking to Jay Smooth and Questlove and Sasha Frere Jones on twitter to help me make sense of it all, because right now all I can be is sad while listening to Full Clip.

  6. araymondjohnson permalink
    April 20, 2010 10:57 am

    here’s the full letter: http://www.allhiphop.com/stories/news/archive/2010/04/20/22177912.aspx

  7. April 20, 2010 10:59 am

    You know I’m crying right now, right?

  8. April 20, 2010 11:20 am

    And yes, I think the letter is bullshit. Why would he spend one paragraph of a three paragraph deathbed letter talking about Solar? No mention of Premier, GangStarr or even his Mama? Rubbish. And sad.

  9. IrishUp permalink
    April 20, 2010 11:25 am

    ‘Some of are saying the “deathbed letter” is not real, asserting that he’s been in a coma for most of it.’ Oh, man, what a mess!

    Wishing all possible comfort to his loved ones and friends right now and in the time to come.

    RIP GURU, you will be missed.

  10. April 20, 2010 11:44 am

    @ Snarky – It really does. I think this one will take some time. I still can’t believe MJ is dead. It feels weird that he is. Guru is the same. He was still producing! How can he not be behind 20 feet of nobs and levers nodding his head to the beat and tweaking until that hi-hat hits just right?

    Truly. I also believe that deathbed letter is a fabrication. Guru was better than that. He was a true artist.

  11. April 20, 2010 12:30 pm

    Uh that letter sounds REALLY fake. I mean it sounds like Solar wrote it. It’s almost legal in its language. Why would a letter to his fans sound like a legal document? I really don’t think he’d start a letter out “I, Guru, am writing this letter to my fans, friends and loved ones around the world. I have had a long battle with cancer and have succumbed to the disease. I have suffered with this illness for over a year. I have exhausted all medical options.” It’s not a personal sounding letter.

    And Damon is right, why would he devote an entire paragraph to how great Solar is and how great Solar and he were together and how much better they were together than Gangstarr was with Premier.

    Seriously sketchy, y’all. That really sucks. I’m sad that Guru is gone but I’m also sad for the lies this Solar dude appears to be perpetrating on Guru’s fans.

  12. April 20, 2010 12:47 pm

    Can’t be real. Why spend your life distancing yourself from the beef just to re-grind the cow? He was super classy about it even when it happened. I hope this letter stuff gets cleared up quick.

  13. April 20, 2010 4:25 pm

    Can’t be real. Why spend your life distancing yourself from the beef just to re-grind the cow? He was super classy about it even when it happened. I hope this letter stuff gets cleared up quick.

    This.

Leave a Reply

