Skip to content

Neil Gaiman Says Stupid Stuff On Twitter!

April 18, 2010

LOL.

When will these celebs learn the internet – like diamonds – is forever? Another day, another assclown making a fool of himself on Twitter.

What Neil said:

“The great thing about having an English cemetery is I could go back a very, very, very long way. And in America, you go back 250 years (in a cemetery), and then suddenly you’ve got a few dead Indians, and then you don’t have anybody at all, unless you decide to set it up in Maine or somewhere and sneak in some Vikings.”

What Kynn wrote in response:

and no, to address your strawman, i’m pretty sure that the wide variety of burial customs among native americans didn’t include European-style graveyards.

but.

let’s look at what you said.

you said these American cemeteries go back 250 years “and then suddenly you’ve got a few dead Indians” — which indians are you talking about there? the ones in “Indian Burial Grounds” or something?

you also talk about how you can “set it up in Maine or somewhere and sneak in some Vikings” also — are you really saying that Viking burial customs are that much like British burials? and not at all like native american burials? (and if so, where did those “a few dead Indians” come from?)

How tedious. I’m pretty sure it’s more hurtful to be a victim of racism than merely be called out for behaving like one. I don’t know Neil or his work or whether or not this is typical of him or atypical. I know he has a rabid fanbase of the kind of people I generally shun at parties, so I’m enjoying an extra crispy helping of schadenfreuden.

um, why don't you try shutting up.

And how come they don’t like, shut up, when they make a mess. What a tool.

My heroes might be cheesy, but at least they don’t act like this.

Viva la Bombeck!

28 Comments leave one →
  1. msjacks permalink
    April 19, 2010 12:01 am

    I am really, really confused here. The livejournal isn’t too clear to me, either. What happened?

  2. April 19, 2010 12:06 am

    He made some statements about “Indians” – the use of the term alone is pretty fucked – which were really problematic and got mad when people politely (which they didn’t have to do) questioned him. He started tossing around accusations and names – which he attempted to delete, but not before folks saved them. Mostly now he’s making more of a mess by not shutting the fuck up.

    By putting up the link to the bloggers on twitter he basically invited his fanbase – remember I said they were rabid – to harass these poor bloggers for asking him to clarify his statements, a valid request, which he felt was beneath him.

    It’s pretty clear to me he’s a fucking jerk, but then I didn’t like anyway.

  3. notthemarimba permalink
    April 19, 2010 12:10 am

    Yay for screenshots!

  4. msjacks permalink
    April 19, 2010 12:14 am

    Ok, I get it I think. I’m really tired and I was thinking of this in a Boston context and got totally brain muddled… I was like, “they buried Native Americans in the cemeteries here?” But now I get what he said, I think.
    And like, yikes, obviously.
    (And also wrong, as I walk by gravestones of whiteys from the 1600’s on my way to school some days. But that’s incedental.)

  5. April 19, 2010 12:16 am

    Hahah. Yeah, I edited to add some context for those whose default setting with the guy isn’t “heat seeking disinterest”.

  6. msjacks permalink
    April 19, 2010 12:18 am

    Yeah, also completely disinterested in Neil Gaiman. Although I know he writes kids’ books, so that makes this stuff way more problematic, I think.

  7. April 19, 2010 12:37 am

    Isn’t he in a relationship with that problematic Amanda Palmer? You know, the one performing with her musical partner as two conjoined twin girls.

  8. msjacks permalink
    April 19, 2010 12:39 am

    According to Google, yes. They got engaged after 6 months. Stay classy!
    http://www.wired.com/geekdad/2010/01/congratulations-to-neil-gaiman-and-amanda-palmer/

    That lady stayed at an ex’s of mine’s house and she was super nice but her eyebrows terrify me.

  9. April 19, 2010 10:21 am

    I wonder if Amanda Palmer introduces herself as “That problematic Amanda Palmer”

  10. April 19, 2010 10:34 am

    I’ve enjoyed some of Niel Gaiman’s writing, but I agree with you that some of his fans imbue him with godlike characteristics. Still, as awkward as the apologies were, I’m glad he at least saw the need to apologize rather than hide behind an aura of infallibility.

  11. April 19, 2010 10:47 am

    In some ways I think the apology is WORSE. That’ll only fire up the base once again and send them to harass and brow beat the folks who harshed Gaiman’s mellow.

  12. April 19, 2010 10:49 am

    Though I give him props for actually talking to his fanbase. Other celebs could probably learn a few tricks from him in that regard.

  13. IrishUp permalink
    April 19, 2010 12:04 pm

    Oh, Mr. Gaiman – that long neglected baggage in the corner? It could use some unpacking, it stinks of moldy socks and unexamined privilege.

    If this keeps up I’ll just have to start calling him Neil *fucking* Gaiman; then they’ll be a matched set.

  14. Hsofia permalink
    April 19, 2010 12:27 pm

    It was a stupid comment. He needs to read some Loewen or something. I follow him on Twitter – as a barely fan – but missed all this. I appreciate that he apologized although it’s unfortunate that he got defensive. Why is it so hard for people to just take their lumps and move on? Especially when they are supposed to be so sophisticated and self-actualized?

  15. IrishUp permalink
    April 19, 2010 1:54 pm

    @Hsofia – Mr. Gaiman seems to have a pattern of responding to being called out this way. A while back, there was similar back and forth over similar issues about the way he was using “bitch” (http://shakespearessister.blogspot.com/2010/01/i-write-letters.html.).

    I really enjoyed-to-loved Coraline. I also just read Anansi Boys and was starting American Gods. I think there’s a lot to like there, and am thus finding these things pretty disappointing. Not the making mistakes, not that he does respond to his fans, but the pattern of how he responds. Maybe if he can get over being defensive, he can stop twittering asshat things. IDK. However, That Problematic Amanda Palmer is REALLY problematic, and, like, he’s going to marry her, so he’s ok with her shit? Cause if he is, then he’s just another Nice Ally Faugressive.

  16. msjacks permalink
    April 19, 2010 2:05 pm

    Can someone link me to some Problematic Amanda Palmer stuff? I am dying to educate myself. I can’t stand “music and theatrical performance art like that” so I’ve never bothered to find out too much about her.

  17. IrishUp permalink
    April 19, 2010 3:19 pm

    msjacks:

    Sady Doyle breakdown:
    http://tigerbeatdown.com/2010/02/17/amanda-palmer-wants-to-shock-you-just-dont-e-mail-her-about-it-kay/
    Anna North of Jezebel (less substance, more snark, good links):
    http://jezebel.com/5507283/3-reasons-were-over-amanda-palmer

    But then again, there is just her, by herself:
    http://www.amandapalmer.net/afp/

  18. IrishUp permalink
    April 19, 2010 3:37 pm

    msjacks – my last comment had links, but I’m thinking it may have landed in the spam filter. In case it doesn’t get through:

    Amanda has this new performance art project that is just EW-ICK called Evelyn-Evelyn. Lauredhel @ hoyden about town, FWD-Forward, and Sady Doyle at TigerBeatdown all had some good stuff up. Anna North @ Jezebel had another decent post, more snark and less substance.

    IMO, her own site speaks volumes (amandapalmer.net), and most of it is stuff I don’t particularly need to hear more of.

  19. April 19, 2010 3:44 pm

    Palmer has been racially sketchy, classist and FINALLY ableist. Sometimes I can’t believe it takes a person blowing through that many -isms for folks to then realize they have some issues.

    Wouldn’t be nice if the first sign of problematic behavior towards an ism, even if it’s one we ourselves don’t actually have, folks would sort of realize where there’s smoke there is fire and not wait for the freaking barn to burn to the ground before they go, “Oh, there’s probably fire around here somewhere.”

    (not you Irish Up!)

  20. IrishUp permalink
    April 19, 2010 4:20 pm

    @Snarky – it would be ok to call me out on that. I have in the past been guilty of giving her a pass shit, because she’d been opressed and a victim in other ways. Nope, I stood around sniffing smoke for a little bit. Then I remembered that having been a victim does not give one licesnse to shit on anyone else.

  21. April 19, 2010 4:27 pm

    Oh no, Irish! I was backing you up. Like a mouthy Pip!

  22. msjacks permalink
    April 19, 2010 4:43 pm

    Thanks for the links, IrishUp! Like Neil Gaiman, Amanda Palmer is one of those people I know almost nothing about. I wish I could know everything about everybody, but it’s hard stuff. So, thanks! Googling “Amanda Palmer problematic” wasn’t too successful.

  23. IrishUp permalink
    April 19, 2010 5:30 pm

    “Oh no, Irish! I was backing you up. Like a mouthy Pip!”
    LOLOLOLOL ot/ did you ever see the Pips on Johnny Carson doing “Midnight Train…” with no Gladys. Still love that.

    No, no worries, I was just being all confessional. Becaue you are absolutely right, it should not take parading around as sexual assault surviving conjoined twins before people write about you with caplocks and eleventies asd WTFs and emoticons.

  24. IrishUp permalink
    April 19, 2010 5:45 pm

    msjacks –
    glad I could return the favor, I am constantly googling stuff after reading around here!

  25. April 19, 2010 5:53 pm

    @IrishUp, I love that Pips performance (which was on Richard Pryor’s show, btw).

    I especially enjoy the close-ups of the mike and spotlight where Gladys aren’t.

  26. IrishUp permalink
    April 19, 2010 6:15 pm

    Thanks, Redlami – that’s the performance I remembered. I totally forgot about that Richard Prior special!!!! Naturally, I conflated it then with the Tonight show.

  27. hsofia permalink
    April 19, 2010 10:58 pm

    Yeah, I think it is time to unfollow Neil. I unfollowed Wil Wheaton a short while ago because he was bornoying me, but he managed not to twitter “edgy” unPC crap. Neil tweets about as often as Wil did, so maybe I’ll just swap them out for each other.

  28. evmaroon permalink
    April 20, 2010 2:11 am

    Back in the day, I really loved the Sandman comic. I thought Good Omens was better than decent. Didn’t care for Neverwhere, and had some theoretical/political problems with American Gods. He was on my Twitter feed, but most of the time I just went, “eh?” at his tweets. So thanks for encouraging me to drop him like a hot potato.

    Josh Malina is a much more fun artist to follow, anyway. I’m kind of over following celebs on Twitter anyway. They put way to many rhetorical questions out there.

Leave a Reply

