Skip to content

Grace to Gaga: I’ll Take a Hot Bag of “No Thanks!”

April 18, 2010

Pulling up to the bumper on the real, y'all.

I have watched from the sidelines the Gagatification of pop music viewing it as bothersome as a neighbor using his leaf blower at 5am, but then she went and conflated herself with Grace Jones. According to an article published on Essence.com singer Grace Jones is unimpressed with Lady Gaga. The Grand Dame of avant guard has some choice words for the slightly less weird than a six year old playing dress up, Gaga:

“Well, you know, I’ve seen some things she’s worn that I’ve worn, and that does kind of piss me off.” Has Gaga asked her to collaborate? “Yes, she did, but I said no,” Jones responded. “I’d just prefer to work with someone who is more original and someone who is not copying me, actually.

Oh. snap.

Ms. Jones and Tanya Roberts?

Seriously, WTF was Gaga thinking? Has she not seen A View to a Kill? Does she not know that Grace kicked Zorin’s ass then had time slip into something more comfortable to bang Early Bird Special Bond?

Where’s Raymond? I feel a “Girl, you betta axe somebody!” moment coming on. Gaga might be a tastemaker, but Jones, is an artist. Don’t get it twisted. Jones influenced fashion – as a model – way before these also rans came along, and flew her freak flag for all us brown girls, weird girls, weird brown girls and various other intersections of weird, brown and girl.

And Jones as Bond Girl – pure pop bliss. I have dressed as “Mayday” and held my head high. Yeah, bitches, make way for this Bond Girl knock off in my red skirt stretched over a hula hoop. And if the hoop shows, well I meant to do that.

Gaga, I have listened to Jones. I have studied her extensive and you, Ma’am, are NO GRACE JONES.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 3:48 pm

    Gaga should have the presence of mind to pick a pop icon who wasn’t still alive.

  2. April 18, 2010 3:57 pm

    Grace gave her the “Julia Child” treatment. I love it. Snapalicious.

  3. April 18, 2010 3:58 pm

    “I’d just prefer to work with someone who is more original and someone who is not copying me, actually.”

    Let me say it again. OH SNAP.

  4. araymondjohnson permalink
    April 18, 2010 4:33 pm

    I like Lady Gaga’s music, because I like ABBA and Ace of Base and Britney Spears and other such pop fluff. But you know my serious tone gets brought out the second anyone refers to Gaga as a “performance art”. She uses famous performance artwork (made by others) in pop-reference ways, but she is NOT a performance artist.

    This reminds of how I thought Tori Amos was alright in the beginning, though I always liked it better when Kate Bush did it 10-20 years earlier.

  5. araymondjohnson permalink
    April 18, 2010 4:34 pm

    one more time…..why not?

    “I’d just prefer to work with someone who is more original and someone who is not copying me, actually.”

  6. April 18, 2010 5:36 pm

    I like Lady Gaga’s music, because I like ABBA and Ace of Base and Britney Spears and other such pop fluff. But you know my serious tone gets brought out the second anyone refers to Gaga as a “performance art”. She uses famous performance artwork (made by others) in pop-reference ways, but she is NOT a performance artist.

    Seriously. Ha. ACE OF BASE! I loved them too.

  7. araymondjohnson permalink
    April 18, 2010 5:59 pm

    there is some song of hers that is totally “The Sign”.

  8. April 18, 2010 8:58 pm

    there is some song of hers that is totally “The Sign”.

    Oh great, now I’ve got an earworm even “Feels So Good” can’t fix.

  9. msjacks permalink
    April 18, 2010 10:41 pm

    YES!

    MIA dissed her too, recently. Pretty much said the same thing Grace Jones did. Gaga better recognize that she’s getting knocked down a few notches by the real cool kids!

  10. April 18, 2010 11:02 pm

    Now MIA and Grace need to work together ASAP!!!

  11. April 18, 2010 11:04 pm

    This reminds of how I thought Tori Amos was alright in the beginning, though I always liked it better when Kate Bush did it 10-20 years earlier.

    When I first heard “Little Earthquakes” I was like, oh cool, Kate Bush has a new LP and now my friend Jason will stop playing “Running Up that Road” in the car.

  12. hsofia permalink
    April 18, 2010 11:32 pm

    I’d just prefer to work with someone who is more original and someone who is not copying me, actually.

    I love it. When I was a child and saw Grace Jones on tv and in the movies I was just fascinated by her. There was no one like her then and there is no one like her now.

  13. April 18, 2010 11:33 pm

    THANK YOU. Seriously. PLUS GRACE CAN FUCKING SING. SHE CAN FUCKING SING.

    I won’t date anyone unless they like Grace Jones.

    End of line.

  14. Quvi permalink
    April 18, 2010 11:49 pm

    Man, I will never forget the teenage turning point of Grace Jones making an entrance on a chariot with a whip in Boomerang. In a town of 5000 people, with two channels and a “lite hits” top 20 radio station, the impact of someone handing Eddie Murphy his ass on a platter (well, technically, her g-string on her finger) was amazingly leveraged. Also (but off-topic): Eartha Kitt.

  15. April 19, 2010 12:04 am

    THANK YOU. Seriously. PLUS GRACE CAN FUCKING SING. SHE CAN FUCKING SING.

    Omg, her version of “La Vie en Rose” shuts it down. She is a spectacular performer in every way possible and some we have not even discovered.

    Best thing I heard about Grace: “Man if her and Dolph had made babies, those kids could have ruled the world!”

    End of Line. (LOL)

  16. April 19, 2010 12:04 am

    Man, I will never forget the teenage turning point of Grace Jones making an entrance on a chariot with a whip in Boomerang. In a town of 5000 people, with two channels and a “lite hits” top 20 radio station, the impact of someone handing Eddie Murphy his ass on a platter (well, technically, her g-string on her finger) was amazingly leveraged. Also (but off-topic): Eartha Kitt.

    Can I get a what what? And, yay Quvi, you’re here!!!

  17. badhedgehog permalink
    April 19, 2010 4:04 am

    This keeps putting a smile on my face. When Grace Jones smacks you down, you KNOW you’ve been smacked down (in the famous old case of Russell Harty, literally so).

    She is a spectacular performer in every way possible and some we have not even discovered.
    Absolutely!

  18. April 19, 2010 11:50 am

    Even a day later the statement:

    “I’d just prefer to work with someone who is more original and someone who is not copying me, actually.”

    Just gets me in the old right there.

  19. IrishUp permalink
    April 19, 2010 12:58 pm

    “I’d just prefer to work with someone who is more original and someone who is not copying me, actually.”

    And, what’s lovely about this, is it meets the Miss Manners’ test of being true, necessary and kind, as well as OH SNAP!

    BTW, I mentioned GJ on a different post even before I got down here to see this. Grace must somehow be in the air.

Leave a Reply

